Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Bridging my wireless and local area connection...

This is a discussion on Bridging my wireless and local area connection... within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Okay... My router is across my house. I have no way of running a cable from there to my X360.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-23-2008, 04:28 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
OS: XP



Okay... My router is across my house. I have no way of running a cable from there to my X360. What I used to do (before my recent format) was run a cable from my laptop (which catches wireless) to my X360 (a few feet away). I then bridged my wireless and local area connection. It used to work perfectly. I even did it on my sisters laptop (except she's running Vista and I'm running XP) and it was working fine.

But for some reason, whenever I bridge the connection on my laptop, the wireless disconnects and refuses to connect. I can connect just fine when I take the wireless off of the bridge, but when I put it right back on, it disconnects. Does anyone know why this is happening, or what I can do to fix it?

Long story short, I wanna bridge my wireless and local area connection. Everytime I bridge, it disconnects the wireless. It won't connect til I take it off the bridge.

Any help would be appreciated.

__________________
Dj19Xero316 is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 04:17 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,847
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.


Then let's see this with the wireless connected, but bridging disabled.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.


Finally, exactly how do you create the network bridge? Blow by blow if you please.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 03:36 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
OS: win XP



Browsing the forums, I ran into this question, and it is basically the exact same question I have. I have a 20gb PS3 with no wireless adapater, only ethernet. So, I want to run a bridge thru my laptop and a ethernet cord from it to my PS3. I selected my LAN and wireless connections and right+click create bridge. Once I do that, my internet connection will no longer work. It will sometimes say I am connected to my wireless router (which is in another room, but I can have access too if needed) and also it will sometimes say "Not Connected" but either way I have to remove it from the bridge to have internet access. I did the steps you listed in your response and heres what i got in my CMD window:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Tay Sal>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Taylor
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : austin.rr.com

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : austin.rr.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Networ
k Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-02-A6-15-46
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.103
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.93.41.127
24.93.41.128
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, August 20, 2008 5:28:44 P
M
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, August 21, 2008 5:28:44 PM


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
roller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-C5-3A-CF-B8

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : austin.rr.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Networ
k Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-02-A6-15-46
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.93.41.127
24.93.41.128

C:\Documents and Settings\Tay Sal>
__________________
tay0723 is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 04:14 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,847
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


What does the IPCONFIG look like if you remove the bridge configuration?

You seem to have two instances of the wireless adapter, that's pretty curious.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 04:17 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
OS: win XP



That was with the wireless connection unbridged, but i just deleted the bridge alltogether and unplugged the ethernet cord, and got this:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Tay Sal>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Taylor
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : austin.rr.com

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : austin.rr.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Networ
k Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-02-A6-15-46
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.103
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.93.41.127
24.93.41.128
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, August 20, 2008 6:15:35 P
M
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, August 21, 2008 6:15:35 PM


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
roller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-C5-3A-CF-B8

C:\Documents and Settings\Tay Sal>
__________________
tay0723 is offline  
Old 09-27-2009, 06:10 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
OS: xp



Same here it just disconnects when i do the bridge??



Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Ryan Frizzell>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : winxp
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : ed.shawcable.net

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 5:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ed.shawcable.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys Wireless-G Portable USB Adap
ter #5
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-F8-27-8B-E5
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : *************
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.59.184.13
64.59.184.15
64.59.190.242
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, September 27, 2009 6:53:53 P
M
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, September 28, 2009 6:53:53 P
M

C:\Documents and Settings\Ryan >
__________________
ryanfriz is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 01:49 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
OS: xp



Try this:

1) Make sure your bridge is currently active

2) Open the command prompt

3) type: "netsh bridge show a"

- This will list your adapters and whether they are forcing the bridge or not.

- Take note of which one your wireless adapter is (Should be #1 or #2)

- If your wireless adapter is set to disabled or unknown, we need to enable it, and if your wired adapter is enabled, we need to disable it.

4) Go back to command prompt, type: "netsh bridge set a 2 e", where 2 is the number of the adapter you want to enable (my wireless is number 2, if yours is #1, use netsh bridge set a 1 e). This will enable your wireless adapter.

- If your wired adapter is enabled, type "netsh bridge set a 1 d", again if your wired adapter is number 2, then use 2 instead of one.

- Now type "netsh bridge show a", and if your wireless adapter is enabled and your wired adapter is disabled or "unknown", you are good to go. Close the command prompt and try out your connection. If it still does not work, then restart your computer and the device connected to the bridge and then you should be good to go assuming you turned off your firewalls, etc.
__________________
bcwebb73 is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 06:12 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
OS: xp pro prefer linux



well this works, for about a minute-literally. i did everything connected my xbox, got xbox live for the first time ever doing this without rearranging everything so as to not piss off my dad, and then i was not able to get live connectivity again. what the hell. my bridge works but i cannot seem to connect to live. why? no firewalls, nothing. turned off all security in router.
__________________
monicajae is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 07:59 PM   #9
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,758
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello,

This is an old Thread, please create your own Thread if you wish and someone will be helping you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by monicajae View Post
well this works, for about a minute-literally. i did everything connected my xbox, got xbox live for the first time ever doing this without rearranging everything so as to not piss off my dad, and then i was not able to get live connectivity again. what the hell. my bridge works but i cannot seem to connect to live. why? no firewalls, nothing. turned off all security in router.
Thread Closed!

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts