Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The IT Pro > Certification & Career

How to get a job in Networking with no experience?

This is a discussion on How to get a job in Networking with no experience? within the Certification & Career forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a masters degree in Telecommunication and networking, but my work experience is in Software Testing. I took Software

Old 05-10-2011, 06:51 PM   #1
Registered Member

I have a masters degree in Telecommunication and networking, but my work experience is in Software Testing. I took Software testing because i could not find anything in Networking upon graduation. I am very unhappy in software and looking for a career change to computer networking. I have been looking now for almost 3 months with no success. Everywhere they ask for at least 1 to 2 years for experience. Some employers feel that i am overqualified and some big employers like AT&T, Verizon, Cisco etc who hire recent graduates feel that i am not qualified enough. Also i graduated two years ago which disqualify me for a lot of recent graduate jobs. How can i get my foot in the door in networking field? Can certifications help? If so which one is good to start a career in networking; A+, Network+ CCNA or Microsoft? salary is not an issue for me, i just wanna get my foot in the door.

I would highly appreciate any ideas or suggestions. Thank you!

Old 05-11-2011, 11:14 PM   #2
Registered Member

I am half way through CCNA at the moment, it's a great course I'm really enjoying it but similarly I would like to know what chance I have of obtaining a job from it and anything else I can do to kick start a networking career.

Old 05-12-2011, 06:52 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast

My System

Getting your A+ and then Network+ would be a big help.

Don't think you're going to go right into network administration, even with a Master's degree. You'd start out as a lowly tech. But at least you would get your foot in the door, as you said.