Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs

Windows 7 BSOD on Dell Optiplex 990

This is a discussion on Windows 7 BSOD on Dell Optiplex 990 within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. We have a newish Dell Optiplex 990 with Windows 7 Enterprise x64 installed on it and the past couple of


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2012, 04:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Provo, UT
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1



We have a newish Dell Optiplex 990 with Windows 7 Enterprise x64 installed on it and the past couple of weeks we have been getting BSOD on it. At first the frequency was every few days, now it's at least once per day. So something is definitly going on. Here is the information that I have collected so far:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.4
Local ID: 1033

Additioinal information about the problem:
BCCode: 3b
BCP1: 0000000080000003
BCP2: FFFFF880044D78EB
BCP3: FFFFF880078A8C10
BCP4: 0000000000000000
OS Version: 6_1_7601
Service Pack: 1_0
Product 255_1

I have verified that all patches have been applied, the latest BIOS is installed, and all of the latest drivers from Dell have been installed.

Attached is the minidump file and a screenshot of the System Event Log for it.

If anyone has a suggestion as to what the problem is I would be greatful!!

Thanks,
Lamar
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	systemevents.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	263.1 KB
ID:	106803  
Attached Files
File Type: zip 031512-40809-01.zip (27.2 KB, 19 views)

__________________
lnewton is offline  
Old 03-19-2012, 05:19 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 301
OS: Windows 8 Consumer Preview Build 8250



1. rdbss.sys; System exception in System
Otherwise known as the Redirected Drive Buffering SubSystem Driver. Run HDD Diags: HD Diagnostic then report back to me the results, please.

__________________
DrSheldonCooper is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 03:39 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Provo, UT
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1



Okay, I have done two things that should be very telling:

1. I took an image of the computer in question and put it on another Identical computer. So now I have the same environment running on completely different hardware with the exception of the Monitors (with USB Ports), USB Printer, USB Dymo Label printer, and Mouse. I would think that if the problem persists that it will be narrowed down to a Driver/Configuration issue - I'll let you know if the problem continues on the new computer.

2. On the original system I am now running (as requested) SeaTools on the Hard Drive. 1st I ran a quick check which passed. I am now running the long test and waiting for the result
__________________
lnewton is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 04:34 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 301
OS: Windows 8 Consumer Preview Build 8250



Sounds good! Glad you have a solution!
__________________
DrSheldonCooper is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 05:00 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Provo, UT
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1



The Long Test has completed and it has PASSED all the diagnostics.
__________________
lnewton is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 05:21 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 301
OS: Windows 8 Consumer Preview Build 8250



Great! If it happens again let us know, but until then sit back and enjoy the world a PC can offer!
__________________
DrSheldonCooper is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 05:23 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Provo, UT
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1



After completing the HD tests on the original computer it is still BSODing. Any other ideas?

Thanks for your help!!!
__________________
lnewton is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 06:53 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 301
OS: Windows 8 Consumer Preview Build 8250



If you have the Dump Files I will take a look, off the top of my head I think something may be causing a miss-fire, hence the rdbss error, it could be a virus, a dysfunctional driver or program, only way to tell will be with the new Dump.
__________________
DrSheldonCooper is offline  
Old 03-21-2012, 09:57 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Provo, UT
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1



Here is the information from the latest BSOD - I have also attached the Dump Files from the last three events and the XML file from the last event:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.4
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 3b
BCP1: 00000000C0000005
BCP2: FFFFF880070400FA
BCP3: FFFFF8800A7E1D50
BCP4: 0000000000000000
OS Version: 6_1_7601
Service Pack: 1_0
Product: 256_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\032112-43056-01.dmp
C:\Users\lamar\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-103678-0.sysdata.xml


I'm starting to wonder if the RAM is causing the problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NewEvent.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	330.4 KB
ID:	106893  
Attached Files
File Type: zip MiniDumpFiles.zip (90.4 KB, 14 views)
__________________
lnewton is offline  
Old 03-21-2012, 03:43 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 301
OS: Windows 8 Consumer Preview Build 8250



These were all caused by a program called Altiris DS, Service Exception, I would consider figuring out what it belongs to and uninstalling/updating it.
__________________
DrSheldonCooper is offline  
Old 03-21-2012, 04:54 PM   #11
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,385
OS: Win7



atrsdfw.sys is part of Altiris Recovery Solutions which is a Symantec product it may have come as part of Dell's bloatware.
Win seven is only supported on Version 6.2SP4 and above. Make sure that's what version you have> Recovery Solution 6.2 SP4 Released Today! | Symantec Connect Community
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 03-22-2012, 04:12 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Provo, UT
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1



Not sure I see how, but I uninstalled the Altiris agent and have been stressing the system by loading all sorts of programs and it has yet to BSOD.

Remember, I took an image of this machine and put it on an alternate machine of the same type so that I could experiment with this machine. It seems to me that the alternate machine would be showing the same problem because it's pretty much an exact duplicate of the machine in question, so it still makes me wonder.

As for the version of agent that was installed on the system it was for Altiris Deployment Solution 6.9 SP4 (well past 6.2 sp4). I guess I'll give it awhile and reinstall the DAgent and see if the problem resurfaces.

Any Way..... Thanks for your help in tracking down the apparent culprit!!!
__________________
lnewton is offline  
Old 03-22-2012, 04:14 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 301
OS: Windows 8 Consumer Preview Build 8250



That's what we're here for!
__________________
DrSheldonCooper is offline  
Old 03-22-2012, 04:29 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Provo, UT
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1



Ooops, I missed stated in my last post. I'm really running Deployment Solution 6.9 SP5 MR1 (which happens to be the latest release of Deployment Solution 6.9)
__________________
lnewton is offline  
Old 03-22-2012, 05:05 PM   #15
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,385
OS: Win7



As long as it's newer then 6.4sp4 it should work, if you reinstall and have the issue again I would put a support ticket in at Altiris the program is causing a conflict with another driver either by overwriting it's address space or trying run the same task at the same time using the same resources(like running 2 AV programs at the same time can cause a BSOD)
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 05-09-2012, 12:49 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
OS: Win 7 Ent. x64



I am having a similar issue with a Win 7 x64 system, the error logs say it is a AMD video driver update error. I pulled the video card and the heat sink looks damaged. I re-connected the monitor using the on-board display port. I have uninstalled all the ATI/AMD drivers and the ATI CCC software. I'll let you know how it works out.
__________________
kernelcode is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 07:42 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 301
OS: Windows 8 Consumer Preview Build 8250



Create a new topic and we'll help out, less room for confusion, also take a picture of the damaged hardware in question.

__________________
DrSheldonCooper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LAN Printer to be seen on all users domain?
Hi all, We have almost 500 users and theres a network printer which people have to add eachone of them if they want to print and thats a procedure and takes time to show everyone all the steps. I wanted to know because we are using a domain which all pics are connected on that domain also the ...
dalwnt Networking Support 6 05-22-2012 03:22 AM
Getting 'windows has encountered a problem and needs to shut down' on startup
Every time i startup my computer i get the same message. Not only on startup, but when i skip that error message and click on a program, any program, i get the same error message again. I am currently using my laptop to type this. A couple or so of times after starting up the computer, i have also...
jamestt Windows XP Support 8 04-02-2012 08:11 PM
Uninstalling app. on IOS 5.01
How does one uninstall an app. on IOS 5.01 ? I don't see where one can uninstall an app. ? Like Windows Live Push. It doesn't seem to work for me after I enter username and password. Is there something wrong with that app. ? I use the stock app. on i-pad and it works.
zhong Apple iOS 5 03-20-2012 02:11 PM
Dell Vostro 1500 Issues
Ok, so I've been communicating with another part of this forum because earlier it was just a problem with BSODs. Now, I've been told to post in the hardware forum, and I hope I'm posting in the correct section. I've gone over what's happened with my laptop for the most part here. For the...
Whitechaco Laptop Support 11 03-19-2012 07:58 PM
Error on start up "Entry Point Not Found"
I cant load desktop and when i log in to my account it says "Explorer.EXE - Entry Point Not Found" & "The procedure entry point strcpy_s could not be located in the dynamic link library msvcrt.dll" only thing i can do is alt+ctrl+del and open cmd for example. i tried to win xp recovery but i...
EvilTwin Windows XP Support 2 03-19-2012 02:14 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts