Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs


[SOLVED] Getting BSOD Win 8 Pro 64 Bit New Computer

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Getting BSOD Win 8 Pro 64 Bit New Computer within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Operating System : Microsoft Windows 8 Pro 64 bit Age of Hardware : 1 week Age of Installation OS :


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-09-2013, 05:10 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
egn11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
OS: Win 8 Pro 64 bit



Operating System : Microsoft Windows 8 Pro 64 bit
Age of Hardware : 1 week
Age of Installation OS : 1 week

Custom Build PC
CPU : Intel i7 4770k
Video Card : Asus Geforce GTX780 Direct CU II x 2 running SLI
Ram : Corsair 32 GB Vengeance Pro 1866
Motherboard : Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Power Supply : Corsair AX 1200i

Please assist me thank you.
Attached Files
File Type: zip BSOD.zip (722.3 KB, 40 views)
egn11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-09-2013, 11:43 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Hi,

We have a few different bugchecks here:

DPC_WATCHDOG_VIOLATION (133)

The DPC_WATCHDOG_VIOLATION bug check has a value of 0x00000133. This bug check indicates that the DPC watchdog executed, either because it detected a single long-running deferred procedure call (DPC), or because the system spent a prolonged time at an interrupt request level (IRQL) of DISPATCH_LEVEL or above. The value of Parameter 1 indicates whether a single DPC exceeded a timeout, or whether the system cumulatively spent an extended period of time at IRQL DISPATCH_LEVEL or above.


DRIVER_OVERRAN_STACK_BUFFER (f7)


The stack memory was corrupted by a device driver. I see this bugcheck when there are usually attempts by malicious software to gain control of the system. However, it can be just a regular device driver issue as well.


If we look at the call stack, we can see nvlddmkm being called right before the crash which is the nVidia video driver.


Code:
6: kd> kv
Child-SP          RetAddr           : Args to Child                                                           : Call Site
fffff880`14a12b18 fffff880`06191496 : 00000000`000000f7 fffff880`14a13d50 00004411`e55b7584 ffffd466`d2205dcd : nt!KeBugCheckEx
fffff880`14a12b20 00000000`000000f7 : fffff880`14a13d50 00004411`e55b7584 ffffd466`d2205dcd 00000000`00000000 : nvlddmkm+0x17a496
fffff880`14a12b28 fffff880`14a13d50 : 00004411`e55b7584 ffffd466`d2205dcd 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : 0xf7
fffff880`14a12b30 00004411`e55b7584 : ffffd466`d2205dcd 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : 0xfffff880`14a13d50
fffff880`14a12b38 ffffd466`d2205dcd : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 fffff880`0618e6ab : 0x4411`e55b7584
fffff880`14a12b40 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 fffff880`0618e6ab fffff880`06500345 : 0xffffd466`d2205dcd
Ensure you have the latest video card drivers. If you are already on the latest video card drivers, uninstall and install a version or a few versions behind the latest to ensure it's not a latest driver only issue. If you have already experimented with the latest video card driver and many previous versions, please give the beta driver for your card a try.

WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124)

A fatal hardware error has occurred.

If we run an !errrec on the WER structure from the 2nd parameter, we get the following:

Code:
===============================================================================
Section 2     : x86/x64 MCA
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Descriptor    @ fffffa801d67d138
Section       @ fffffa801d67d2c0
Offset        : 664
Length        : 264
Flags         : 0x00000000
Severity      : Fatal

Error         : GCACHEL2_ERR_ERR (Proc 0 Bank 7)
  Status      : 0xbe0000000100110a
  Address     : 0x000000022cf0b980
  Misc.       : 0x0000001086000086
GCACHEL2_ERR_ERR implies there was a problem with your L2 cache, possibly a faulty processor or overheating. However I do note that you are using Asus utilities and these utilities create a window between the OS and the BIOS. These utilities could cause bugchecks like this to appear. We will need more *124 dumps to conclude this.

Ensure all of your temperatures are within standard and no overheating is occurring.

I see in you have Norton installed. I'd like to get all possible software issues out of the way, so I recommend temporarily removing Norton and replacing it with Windows 8's built-in Windows Defender for troubleshooting purposes:

Norton removal tool - https://www-secure.symantec.com/nort...=1&pvid=f-home

Quote:
AsInsHelp64 fffff880`0ec9e000 fffff880`0eca3000 Fri Jan 04 00:36:10 2008 (477dc5ca) 0000d8fd AsInsHelp64.sys
^^ Asus Ai Booster software (dated from 2008 - too old for W8). Ensure this and all other Asus utilities are fully up to date - ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support- Drivers and Download

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 01:10 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
egn11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
OS: Win 8 Pro 64 bit



Hi,PJB

DPC_WATCHDOG_VIOLATION (133)
I really dunno what the above error mean.

DRIVER_OVERRAN_STACK_BUFFER (f7)
Before this i was running Asus GTX 780 Nvidia Reference design. In my windows Event Viewer i got plenty of nvlddmkm event 14 id error. At that time i'm running Nvidia GTX 780 launch driver which is Geforce 320.18 WHQL. I head over to Nvidia forum to check is there any other Geforce 700 series user face such problem? I saw alot of feedback thread over there is discussing this issue, where nvlddkmk event 14 id error, random BSOD, Crashed, Sluggish, Driver timeout detection and recovery.

I tried all the driver from 314.22WHQL (modded inf), 320.18 WHQL, 326.01 WHQL, 320.49 WHQL, 326.19 Beta, 326.29 Beta and 326.41 Beta. Where i notice 314.22 WHQL is the less nvlddkmk event 14 id error produce compare to 32x.xx series driver.
Using the Nvidia Geforce 32x.xx series driver sometime give me a complete lock up on my pc, forcing me to reset the pc via power/reset button and didn't produce any minidump files or BSOD.I start monitoring my Windows Event Viewer, when there's a sluggish/unresponsive desktop/gaming i notice there's a long list of nvlddkmk event 14 id pop up.

Thus, I suspect maybe is the both Asus Geforce GTX 780 having issue thus i replace both with new Asus Geforce GTX 780 Direct CU II, still the same issue occur.

I head to asus ROG forum to seek assistance, and ask to try the latest BIOS, still the same, finally i decided to swap another new Asus Maximus VI Extreme board and upgrade my power supply from Corsair HX850 Watt to Corsair AX 1200 Watt. Yet situation didn't improve. Run all my RAM stick using memtest for 24 hours without any error produce.All the above setting is stock factory and non overclock. I'm really clueless here beside praying the upcoming Nvidia WHQL driver can solve this issue.

WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124)
I'm using Corsair H80i cooling, I'm using Real Temp to monitor my temperature idle 28-32 Celsius when running benchmark prime 95/AIDA 64 65 - 70 Celsius while gaming usually around 50-55 Celsius.I'm sure there's no overheating occur in my CPU. While ROG forum is not recommend we use the Asus Ai Suite III software. Guess i will uninstall the software. The Asus Ai Booster software i couldn't find it come with my motherboard or download support from Asus website. This is a new Intel Z87 motherboard and getting software dated 2008 really puzzle me.

In the meantime i will remove the Norton 360.

Thank you PJB~!
egn11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 01:11 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Thank you for the fantastic update. I will look forward to your next reply.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 01:02 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
egn11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
OS: Win 8 Pro 64 bit



Hi,

Back for reporting, 48 hours of usage (Unigine, 3dmark, Battlefield 3, Guild Wars 2, Assasin Creed 3, AIDA 64) with SLI disable i didn't encounter any BSOD or Nvlddkmk Event 14 error in my Windows Event Viewer. Using Geforce 314.22 WHQL driver. This is with Asus Ai Suite III and Norton 360 running. Guess the Nvidia driver 32x.xx version is giving GTX 780 SLI lotsa problem. Have to wait for a proper driver to fix this issue.

Thanks for the advice and assistance. Cheers~!
egn11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 01:08 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



HI,

Great to hear.

If you feel or are confident enough that your problem is solved, please navigate to 'Thread Tools' at the top of the thread and select 'Mark this thread as solved'.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 05:22 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
egn11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
OS: Win 8 Pro 64 bit



Hi,

I did another Win 8 Pro 64bit clean install with

1:Intel Chipset Software Installation 9.4.0.1022
2:Intel Management Engine Interface 9.0.0.1287
3:Nvidia Geforce 314.22 WHQL
4:Bluetooth Driver 12.0.0.6200
5:Asus Sound Card D2X Beta Version 8.0.8.1808
6:CPU - Z 1.65
7:AIDA64 Extreme 3.00

I did 2 stability test using AIDA64 with intel turbo boost disable and 2 BSOD occur. I hope this new BSOD minidump can give me an insight on my hardware/software problem. I'm very confident to reproduce this BSOD with AIDA64 running if you need more minidump.

Personally I suspect the Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY16GX3M2A1866C9 memory module having compatibility problem with my motherboard. I tried to run 24 hours Memtest previously without error. I went to Asus website and check the latest memory module compatible list and the Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY16GX3M2A1866C9 doesn't appear in the list. Thus I already got myself Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD16GX3M4A1866C9 which appear in Asus Maximus VI Extreme memory module list but haven't put in the system yet. I hope this is not the Intel i7 4770k CPU problem. I hope you can assist me in advice and suggestion after you done analysis the minidump file.

Hope to hear from you soon~! Cheers~!
Attached Files
File Type: zip BSOD.zip (473.1 KB, 81 views)
egn11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 12:05 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Hi,

Both attached dumps are of the *124 bugcheck and are still reporting L2 Cache errors.

Quote:
Personally I suspect the Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY16GX3M2A1866C9 memory module having compatibility problem with my motherboard. I tried to run 24 hours Memtest previously without error. I went to Asus website and check the latest memory module compatible list and the Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY16GX3M2A1866C9 doesn't appear in the list.
I don't think it's the memory, but it could be. There are many instances in which a piece of hardware other than the processor itself could cause cache errors, but with cache errors it's usually the processor on its own more than anything else.

Also, those lists are called Qualified Vendors Lists (QVL). Those lists are simply a collection of RAM kits they happened to have available to test on their board. IN actuality just because a certain kit isn't on that list doesn't mean it's not compatible.

I would install the new RAM and leave everything at DEFAULT. Don't set the RAM to XMP, etc. Simply install the new RAM and I'd even go as far afterwards to clear the CMOS just to ensure everything is at standard setting.

If you crash again, it's likely the processor itself.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 12:19 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
egn11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
OS: Win 8 Pro 64 bit



Thanks for the explanation on the QVL memory module. Will put in the Corsair Dominator Platinum Memory,clear the CMOS, Load BIOS on default setting, No XMP Profile,everything stock and will start run AIDA64 stability test. Will update you on progress. Thank you.
egn11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 12:36 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



My pleasure, I look forward to your update.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 07:42 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
egn11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
OS: Win 8 Pro 64 bit



Hi,

Another crash occur while running the stability test. Here is the minidump I upload for your analysis. Thank you.
Attached Files
File Type: zip BSOD.zip (457.4 KB, 31 views)
egn11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 08:00 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Hi,

The latest attached DMP is the same as above, *124 with L2 Cache errors.

What stability test were you running and was this with the newer RAM you just purchased?

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 08:03 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
egn11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
OS: Win 8 Pro 64 bit



Yea AIDA64 default stability test recommended by ASUS compare to Prime95/Intel Burn Test and with the new RAM Corsair Dominator Platinum.
egn11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 08:06 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Ah, that's unfortunate. Okay, let's try hard disk diagnostics just in case (I'd like to eliminate as many possibilities before blaming CPU for sure):

Seatools - SeaTools | Seagate

Run every test EXCEPT - Fix All, Long Generic, and any advanced tests.

If Seatools comes up okay and your BIOS is up to date, bottom line is processor is likely faulty and will need to be replaced.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 08:27 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
egn11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
OS: Win 8 Pro 64 bit



Done downloading SeaTools.

Result complete

1: Smart Test : All Pass
2: Short Drive Self Test : All Pass
3: Short Generic Test : All Pass

Just curious this kind of CPU faulty still can by pass BIOS QLED and Q Code check come with my motherboard?
egn11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 08:30 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Good work.

Okay, well, at this point to me it appears to be the processor. Memtest passes and with two different kits of RAM. No hard disk errors, nothing that would remotely point to being a video related issue, etc. I have never seen cache errors be caused by anything else, but it never hurts to be sure.

Quote:
Just curious this kind of CPU faulty still can by pass BIOS QLED and Q Code check come with my motherboard?
Yeah, there are different definitions of hardware in terms of being 'faulty'. It can work but to a point, you know? Not all hardware once it stars going bad will simply stop working all together.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 08:43 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
egn11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
OS: Win 8 Pro 64 bit



Thanks a lot Patrick, help me greatly understand the situation better right now. I will arrange a new CPU replacement. Hopefully I can get it by today or tomorrow cause when I visit the shop yesterday they told me i7 4770k is running low at the moment. When I got the new CPU, I will run some test and keep you posted.
egn11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 09:35 PM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



My pleasure, I will await your update.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 11:52 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
egn11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
OS: Win 8 Pro 64 bit



Hi,

Replaced my Intel i7 4770k earlier, cleared CMOS, Default Setting, Disable Intel Turbo Boost Technology, still running AIDA 64 stability stress test for 8 hours now. Same software and hardware setup just replace the new CPU in. Planning to let it run maybe for a little longer just to ensure no BSOD occur. Will update you on the later test. Cheers~!
egn11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 11:59 AM   #20
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Hi,

Just what I like to hear! Yes, please, keep me updated.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD with Win 7 (64)
In your initial post, describe your system crashes in detail and provide basic system information - if you know it - -Quad Core AMD Phenom X4 9750 -Heatsink/CPU cooler -ATI RADEON HD 4850 1GB DDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card -8GB Ram -CD/DVD-DL Lightsribe writer -1200 (?) Watt Power Supply...
xfreakazoidx BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 01-01-2013 07:30 AM
Win 7 Pro 64bit SP1 Memory Dump BSOD
Keep getting BSOD on startup have tried system restore, restore from image, installed all drivers again still happening. Posted 2 links to zipped and raw memory dump file. Any help would be appreciated thanks guys. 102111-11856-01.zip zip 102111-11856-01.dmp raw
stevezissou7 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 10-21-2011 09:48 PM
[SOLVED] BSOD Driving me mad, win 7 32 bit
Right I'll provide as much info as my tiny non technical mind can manage. This all started when I had a powercut, I re-booted the system afterwards and got a BIOS message saying overclocking failed reset BIOS to original setting etc so I clicked yes, assuming this reset the BIOS to factory. Ever...
unplugged333 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 10-04-2011 05:40 AM
[SOLVED] BSOD Analysis Win 7 Pro x64 - Please help me!
There is a BSOD occuring since approx. a week. I tried tools like BlueScreenView saying "DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE" but I need help to track down this driver. Your help would be appreciated very much. THANKS! · OS: Win 7 · This version of Windows was downloaded via MSDNAA · original installed...
theraipper BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 14 01-27-2011 11:01 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com