Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs


[SOLVED] BSODs again

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] BSODs again within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-01-2013, 08:55 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
OS: Windows 7



OS - Windows 7
x64
What was original installed OS on system? Windows 7
Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? - Came pre-installed
Age of system (hardware) - Less than a year
Age of OS installation - have you re-installed the OS? - I didn't re-install the OS
CPU - Intel Core i5 2500
Video Card - AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
MotherBoard - Asus P8Z77-M
Power Supply brand & wattage - I don't know how to find it, any tips?

Here's my previous thread:
[SOLVED] Random BSODs

So I sent my processor back to my manufacturer and in the meantime I got an alternate processor and got a fresh Windows 7 install.
The problem is, with this processor (it's a different model from the other), my computer crashed again.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Windows7_Vista_jcgriff2.zip (2.24 MB, 40 views)
kYwzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-01-2013, 09:03 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Hi,

Only one DMP file attached and it's of the WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124) bugcheck.

Running an !errrec on the WER structure address, we get:

Code:
===============================================================================
Section 2     : x86/x64 MCA
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Descriptor    @ fffffa8007a6a138
Section       @ fffffa8007a6a2c0
Offset        : 664
Length        : 264
Flags         : 0x00000000
Severity      : Fatal

Error         : Internal timer (Proc 0 Bank 3)
  Status      : 0xbe00000000800400
  Address     : 0x00003800028b1a80
  Misc.       : 0x000000000003ffff
Still the exact same error we are seeing from your previous thread. Well, we know it's not CPU now, but another form of hardware is causing internal faults with your CPU. Run a Memtest for no less than ~8 passes. It will take several hours.

Memtest86+:



Quote:
Download Memtest86+ here:
Quote:



http://www.memtest.org/



Which should I download?



You can either download the pre-compiled ISO that you would burn to a CD and then boot from the CD, or you can download the auto-installer for the USB key. What this will do is format your USB drive, make it a bootable device, and then install the necessary files. Both do the same job, it's just up to you which you choose, or which you have available (whether it's CD or USB).



How Memtest works:



Memtest86 writes a series of test patterns to most memory addresses, reads back the data written, and compares it for errors.



The default pass does 9 different tests, varying in access patterns and test data. A tenth test, bit fade, is selectable from the menu. It writes all memory with zeroes, then sleeps for 90 minutes before checking to see if bits have changed (perhaps because of refresh problems). This is repeated with all ones for a total time of 3 hours per pass.



Many chipsets can report RAM speeds and timings via SPD (Serial Presence Detect) or EPP (Enhanced Performance Profiles), and some even support changing the expected memory speed. If the expected memory speed is overclocked, Memtest86 can test that memory performance is error-free with these faster settings.



Some hardware is able to report the "PAT status" (PAT: enabled or PAT: disabled). This is a reference to Intel Performance acceleration technology; there may be BIOS settings which affect this aspect of memory timing.



This information, if available to the program, can be displayed via a menu option.



Any other questions, they can most likely be answered by reading this great guide here:



http://forum.canardpc.com/threads/28864-FAQ-please-read-before-posting

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 09:10 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by PJB View Post
Hi,

Only one DMP file attached and it's of the WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124) bugcheck.

Running an !errrec on the WER structure address, we get:

Code:
===============================================================================
Section 2     : x86/x64 MCA
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Descriptor    @ fffffa8007a6a138
Section       @ fffffa8007a6a2c0
Offset        : 664
Length        : 264
Flags         : 0x00000000
Severity      : Fatal

Error         : Internal timer (Proc 0 Bank 3)
  Status      : 0xbe00000000800400
  Address     : 0x00003800028b1a80
  Misc.       : 0x000000000003ffff
Still the exact same error we are seeing from your previous thread. Well, we know it's not CPU now, but another form of hardware is causing internal faults with your CPU. Run a Memtest for no less than ~8 passes. It will take several hours.

Memtest86+:




Regards,

Patrick
Thank you,
I'll let you know the results tomorrow
kYwzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 09:12 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



My pleasure, I look forward to your response.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 09:17 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
OS: Windows 7



So here are the results... Nothing apparently
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1060006.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	137.3 KB
ID:	127448  
kYwzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 12:46 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Hi,

Good work on the Memtest. At this point, I am going to assume the motherboard is the issue at hand here. If you're on a different processor and it's still happening, RAM isn't faulty, etc, motherboard is really the only key culprit left.

We can try hard disk diagnostics if you'd like just to be sure:

SeaTools | Seagate

Run everything but Fix All and Long Generic.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 04:56 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
OS: Windows 7



Hey.
All tests passed. However didn't run advanced tests, should I? Also should I second check?
kYwzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 05:37 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Hi,

Yes, also run the advanced tests. Running it twice shouldn't be necessary, but if you'd like to... by all means!

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 06:12 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
OS: Windows 7



Hi again,
SeaTools also gives me the option to check the USB drive... I went ahead and tested it and the short generic test failed. Don't know if it is working as intended
Anyway, advanced tests brings up the option "Full Erase (SATA)". I'm reluctant to use it because I'm afraid this might mean all my data is erased... Can you please tell me what it does?
kYwzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 06:29 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Hi, yes, do not run that. My apologies, I should have mentioned that. In regards to the USB related fail you have gotten, I will talk to fellow experts. Hang tight!

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 06:42 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
OS: Windows 7



I'm hammering F5
kYwzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 02:04 AM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Hi,

Sorry, I've had quite the busy day!

When you said 'USB', were you implying a USB external hard disk? Or an actual USB thumb drive?

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 06:50 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
OS: Windows 7



No problem, you owe me nothing! :P
I think it's the SD Reader.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fail.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	9.1 KB
ID:	127480  
kYwzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 12:34 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Hi,

My apologies, slipped through my subscriptions!

'Generic USB SD', do you have an SD Card Reader or something similar as a device?

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 05:21 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
OS: Windows 7



Yes I do. I think the test doesn't pass cause there is no SD in the device so there's nothing to test for
kYwzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 07:32 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Hi,

For troubleshooting purposes, I am going to recommend removing that device from the system. SD Card Readers are sometimes known to cause issues.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 07:41 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
OS: Windows 7



I'll get right into it tomorrow. I'll let you know the results.
kYwzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 07:43 PM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Thanks for the update, I'll be awaiting your reply.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 05:53 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 68
OS: Windows 7



I too have been busy lately, I'll see if I can test it out tomorrow... sorry for the delay
kYwzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 05:56 PM   #20
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Hi,

It's no problem or rush. Whenever you get the chance.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple BSODs - Win8 x64 - can't troubleshoot myself
Hi, I'm an engineering student and I'm trying hard to troubleshoot my BSODs problems born with the installation of Windows 8 x64 and/or of a new SSD. I see this forum is full of highly technical answers I liked and also good helpers so I chose to register for your help. Let's follow your...
cmatte BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 20 07-18-2013 07:18 AM
Continuous BSODs for weeks. SSD? PSU? Unsure what to do next
I've been dealing with continuous BSODs and crashes for roughly a month now and am starting to lose it. System worked fine prior to this for four years with no changes in hardware configuration. No overclocking done. I initially started receiving problems where my system would freeze up. During...
Mortagon BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 13 08-27-2012 09:15 AM
[SOLVED] Win 7 - frequent BSODs, please help!
Hello, I'm having for last week trouble with my about year old installation of Win7 (x64). Suddenly I get frequent BSODs, especially when I try to update existing software using Windows Installer, but get BSODs also during normal usage. Everything else seem good as that my Windows doesnot...
hchkrdtn BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 12 08-05-2012 02:15 AM
[SOLVED] HP a6200n random BSODs
I'm working on a HP Pavilion a6200n w/Vista 32bit machine that has had random BSODs for a few months now according to the owner. Since all the BSODs I've tested memory with memtest86, memtest86+, and HP hard drive/memory diagnostics with no errors. Made sure all drivers were updated. Updated system...
Rampart BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 09-01-2011 02:57 AM
BSOD's Win7 ATI 5770
BSOD's have plagued my new computer build for almost a year now and I have not been able to find the culprit. BSOD's happen at any time, more frequent when playing graphically intensive games, however it also has occurred just while browsing at Firefox and the desktop. I am hoping to find some...
derektriley BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 6 03-14-2011 04:38 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:56 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com