Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs


[SOLVED] BSOD Page Dump in Nonpaged Area?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] BSOD Page Dump in Nonpaged Area? within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My laptop bluescreened whilst web browsing, non intensive activity was underway. Didn't have much time to read it but i


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2013, 12:34 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Vista SP1



My laptop bluescreened whilst web browsing, non intensive activity was underway. Didn't have much time to read it but i think it said "Page Dump in NonPaged Area".

I has BSOD'd before twice in the last two weeks but both times were a USB related error message, possibly related to an inherent flaw in my laptop which is a loose connection to the inbuilt webcam.

This thread is about the most recent one, the Page Dump one.

OS: Vista Service Pack 1
32 bit
Original OS was Vista, pre installed when system bought
Hardware 5 years old
OS may have been reinstalled when laptop was serviced 2 years ago (not sure)

Laptop
CPU: AMD Athlon X2 Dual Core QL-65 2.10GHz
Motherboard: unknown
Video card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4530 512mb dedicated
PSU: OEM 90W HP AC Adapter

System Manufacturer: HP
Model: DV6-1210sa

Any other info needed please let me know. Thanks very much.
Attached Files
File Type: rar Report BSOD bennett346.rar (1.65 MB, 28 views)
bennett346 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-24-2013, 12:50 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Hi,

PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)

This indicates that invalid system memory has been referenced.

Usual causes are a bug in a device driver, hardware related memory issues, corrupt NTFS volume, anti-virus software.

Quote:
IMAGE_NAME: hardware

MODULE_NAME: hardware
SYSTEM_THREAD_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED_M (1000007e)

A system thread generated an exception that the error handler did not catch.

Code:
1: kd> .exr 0xffffffffa8b4b9f4
ExceptionAddress: bc16e0f6 (USBPORT!USBPORT_EndpointFromHandle+0x0000000e)
   ExceptionCode: c0000005 (Access violation)
  ExceptionFlags: 00000000
NumberParameters: 2
   Parameter[0]: 00000000
   Parameter[1]: 0000000c
Attempt to read from address 0000000c
BUGCODE_USB_DRIVER (fe)

The is a problem with the USB hardware (motherboard or attachments) or the USB device driver has a bug.

Windows Server 2008/Windows Vista Kernel Version 6001 (Service Pack 1)

Try this hotfix - Error message when you try to put a Windows Vista-based computer to sleep or into hibernation: "STOP 0x000000FE BUGCODE_USB_DRIVER"

Quote:
possibly related to an inherent flaw in my laptop which is a loose connection to the inbuilt webcam.
Most likely, does the webcam work whatsoever?

What other USB devices are you using regularly that are / would be connected to the system?

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 02:03 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Vista SP1



Patrick,

The webcam has never worked properly from day one. Often i hear the USB disconnected sound through windows and then a bubble will popup from the tray saying "you can plug this into a USB high speed 2.0 port" or something along those lines. It's the connection to the webcam that's been faulty and the first USB related BSOD was caused by me pressing the laptop lid bezel as i was closing it. This must have caused the wire to disconnect momentarily.

The only other USB devices i use is are a flight joystick and a logitech gamepad. These are not connected when the BSODs are occuring.

You are right in identifying an error with BSOD when the laptop is told to hibernate. 1 in 2 attempts cause it to do so but as it's a laptop and i'm closing the lid to hibernate it i don't realise until i reopen it and it's at the desktop with an error report.

I'll try the hotfix for now and let you know.

Thanks,

James
bennett346 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 02:12 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Thanks for the detailed response, much appreciated. If the hotfix does not help, given that the webcam connection is internally not right, the laptop will either need to be repaired or replaced (depends on warranty, of course).

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 02:21 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Vista SP1



Thanks again Patrick.

The laptop is thankfully under extended warranty. Browsing the web it appears to be a common issue with HP laptops with this built in device. Would disabling it in the hardware manager prevent it from connecting and disconnecting in windows after i've done the hotfix just as a secondary measure or would this not be necessary?
bennett346 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 02:27 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Quote:
Would disabling it in the hardware manager prevent it from connecting and disconnecting in windows after i've done the hotfix just as a secondary measure or would this not be necessary?
Definitely worth a try.

Also, I noticed I forgot to mention to update to Service Pack 2 when you get a chance - Learn how to install Windows Vista Service Pack 2 (SP2)

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 02:32 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Vista SP1



Will have a look, i assumed i was on the latest version since windows update mentioned nothing so thanks for that.

I will update this thread in the coming days when i know if the hotfix has prevented the problem or not. Thanks for your help!
bennett346 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 02:36 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



My pleasure, I look forward to your response.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 03:56 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Vista SP1



Well, no repeats so far so i'd say its worked! Thanks for your time.
bennett346 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 03:58 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Hi,

My pleasure, thanks for the update and glad to hear. I've marked this as solved. Please let me know if you ever happen to have further issues.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BOSD help
OS - windows 7 x86 (32-bit) What was original installed OS on system? none Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? NO Age of system (hardware): 3-4 years Age of OS installation - have you re-installed the OS?...
bonz129 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 05-06-2013 02:03 PM
BSOD with new vegas
Hi, I usually played this game fine, it BSOD a couple of time during gameplay but they were always isoleted accidents. Now I've re installed it and Every time I go out of the first building it BSOD after the loading screen. I've done a memory check and it came out without errors. Can someone...
Eingya PC Gaming Support 2 11-21-2012 03:31 PM
Laptop can't connect to my home router, others are fine.
Hi, As the title says I was using the internet one evening, turned it off my laptop which is an Acer 5332, the next day turn it on only to find I am disconnected from the home router and can't connect to it. My Ipad is able to connect to it without a problem. I tried connecting to a friends...
Protonoto Networking Support 15 11-19-2012 09:51 AM
computer restarts
computer keeps restarting when I am online. got pc checked fully. no problem. thought usb modem used for dsl connection (speedtouch 330) may be the problem. so shifted to dialup but the problem continues. what can be the problem? am attaching a dump file which was created. would deeply appreciate...
kpsomu BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 11 10-05-2011 11:47 PM
Win7 (64) BSOD BUCKET_ID: X64_0x124_AuthenticAMD_PROCESSOR_CACHE_PRV
Hi I am getting BSOD when using the internet (Mozilla or Explorer). I have installed all the newest drivers I could find, replaced harddrives, I have tried all. Please assist to determine what hardware is casuing this My system is : Windows 7 Enterprise (SP 1) x64 New Installation - Full...
Ragsun BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 10-02-2011 09:53 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:56 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com