Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs


[SOLVED] BSOD

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] BSOD within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey I've been getting the dreaded BSOD and it only seems to happen when I play Dead Island Riptide. That's


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2014, 10:09 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Vinnymata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit



Hey I've been getting the dreaded BSOD and it only seems to happen when I play Dead Island Riptide. That's literally the only time my computer has crashed like that. Any ideas of why it's happening and how I might fix it?
Vinnymata is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2014, 08:19 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Hi,

Please refer to the following and reply back accordingly with the required information - http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ta-452654.html

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 08:43 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Vinnymata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit



OS - Windows 7
x64
What was original installed OS on system? Windows 7
Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? Retail
Age of system (hardware) Less than a year
Age of OS installation - have you re-installed the OS? Installed it early April 2013

CPU AMD FX-8350 Vishera 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W Eight-Core
Video Card Radeon HD 7870
MotherBoard ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0
Power Supply - Cooler Master Silent Pro M2 - 1000W
Attached Files
File Type: zip Windows7_Vista_jcgriff2.zip (1.87 MB, 40 views)
Vinnymata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 10:09 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Thanks!

We have three attached DMP files, all of the same bug check:

All of the attached DMP files are of the WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124) bugcheck.

A fatal hardware error has occurred. This fatal error displays data from the Windows Hardware Error Architecture (WHEA).

If we run an !errrec on the 2nd parameter of the bugcheck (address of the WER structure) we get the following:


Code:
===============================================================================
Section 0     : Processor Generic
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Descriptor    @ fffffa80086380a8
Section       @ fffffa8008638180
Offset        : 344
Length        : 192
Flags         : 0x00000001 Primary
Severity      : Fatal

Proc. Type    : x86/x64
Instr. Set    : x64
Error Type    : Cache error
Operation     : Instruction Execute
Flags         : 0x00
Level         : 3
CPU Version   : 0x0000000000600f20
Processor ID  : 0x0000000000000006
So we can see it's a Cache Error, specifically the operation was an Instruction Execute. As far as I know, a microproccesor typically breaks the execution of an instruction into smaller operations. Each of these operations completes a portion of the entire instruction's execution.

If we go further...

Code:
===============================================================================
Section 2     : x86/x64 MCA
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Descriptor    @ fffffa8008638138
Section       @ fffffa80086382c0
Offset        : 664
Length        : 264
Flags         : 0x00000000
Severity      : Fatal

Error         : ICACHELG_IRD_ERR (Proc 6 Bank 1)
  Status      : 0xb600000000100153
  Address     : 0x0000000000000007
  Misc.       : 0x0000000000000000
I have never seen documented information on what 'ICACHELG_IRD_ERR' is, but it's a type of CPU cache error. In this specific dump, it's occurring on Processor # 6 and Cache Bank # 1. On the other two dumps, it occurs on Processor # 7 and Cache Bank #1 (the same Cache Bank as the first dump).

There is only so much you can do with a bugcheck like this until it comes down to a faulty processor that will need to be replaced. Start from 1 and work downward:

1. Ensure your temperatures are within standard and nothing's overheating. You can use a program such as Speccy if you'd like to monitor temps - Speccy - System Information - Free Download

2. Clear your CMOS (or load optimized BIOS defaults) to ensure there's no improper BIOS setting - How To Clear CMOS (Reset BIOS)

3. Ensure your BIOS is up to date.

4. The only software conflict that can usually cause *124 bugchecks are OS to BIOS utilities from manufacturer's like Asus' AI Suite. If you have something like this software-wise, remove it ASAP.

5. If all of the above fail, the only left to do is replace your processor as it is faulty.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 12:33 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Vinnymata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit



The Asus AI Suite, are you referring to the program that pops up when you enter the BIOS? Or is it something completely different? Also how does one update the BIOS?
Vinnymata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 03:05 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



No, Asus AI Suite is software from Asus that you may or may not have installed if you have an Asus board that supports the Asus AI Suite. Check the Control Panel's list of programs for it.

To update Asus BIOS, see here - ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Forum- EZ Flash 2 - the safest way to update BIOS

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 11:08 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Vinnymata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit



Well I updated my BIOS and I haven't had a BSOD since. Just out of curiosity how is it that by updating the BIOS it stopped crashing?
Vinnymata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 12:38 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Well, it entirely depends on what your specific BIOS update included. In general, BIOS updates can include things such as: General fixes, important system stability updates, memory stability increase, bug fixes, feature enhancements, new features, etc.

If updating your BIOS stopped the BSOD's, it may have been an important update that heavily improved system stability. Also, BIOS' can become corrupt. Flashing it with a newer version solves that as well.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 12:48 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Vinnymata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit


Well whatever it was my rig is working perfectly. Thanks for your help.
Vinnymata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 03:21 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Patrick's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ring 0
Posts: 4,349
OS: W8.1 x64



Good to hear, and my pleasure.

Regards,

Patrick
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] BSOD BSOD Everywhere. Geforce GTX570
Hey Guys Windows 7 64 bit Windows 7 Not preinstalled 2 year old system OS installed 6 months ago? Intel Core i5-2500k CPu @3.30ghz Gigabyte Geforce GTX570
wiseh BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 12 07-17-2013 05:28 PM
GenuineIntel BSOD
Hello, I've been scouring through dumpfiles trying to diagnose the bsod I've been getting ever since installing my new graphics card (Sapphire 7970 Vapor-x) and was hoping somebody else would have a better idea about it than me. To begin with, when I first installed the card, I was getting a...
Stumpedify BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 23 06-21-2013 10:33 PM
BSOD after installing graphicscard drivers
Hi, After an evening and a day wasted googling for the solution, i give up and hope you guys can help me. I'm getting an BSOD 116 igdkmd64.sys after i try to update my ATI graphics card driver. now the problem is that everytime i update the drivers, they install and a reboot gets...
FreekNL BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 6 01-16-2012 08:23 AM
BSOD and a System Upgrade question (Moved from MS Support)
Yesterday I had 1 bsod and then also a screen freeze with me doing a hard restart. This happened during the time I was changing my drivers for 4870. I'm assuming the bsod was caused because of the driver change. Since then it seems to be running fine, with no more freezes or bsod. Now i just...
nickskip Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 05-05-2011 05:52 AM
BSOD, very random
Hi Im having BSOD problems, of course. I got a BSOD a couple weeks ago, restarted, and it worked fine, i didnt pay it much attention since I very very very rarely get them, and it was fine afterwards last night while playing a game, it BSOD'd again, i restarted, and immediately after logging...
player2 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 02-28-2011 12:44 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:38 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com