Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs

Intermittent BSOD after replacing hardware

This is a discussion on Intermittent BSOD after replacing hardware within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have an OCZ Vertex II and didn't find any diagnostic for that SSD (I tried the intel SSD diagnostic


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2012, 10:21 AM   #41
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



I have an OCZ Vertex II and didn't find any diagnostic for that SSD (I tried the intel SSD diagnostic but it wouldn't run the test). Is there any way I can test it without replacing it and seeing if that solves the problem?

__________________
Barewire is offline  
Old 04-06-2012, 10:45 AM   #42
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,019
OS: Win7



Yea unfortunately there's not a decent diag program for any of the SSD drives, do also have a platter drive installed?
If you do you may want to install Win7 there and see if the issue goes away.

Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-06-2012, 10:55 AM   #43
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



I'm using an external WD drive for storage, would running windows off that be enough?
__________________
Barewire is offline  
Old 04-06-2012, 10:59 AM   #44
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,019
OS: Win7



No you can't run Windows off an external.
I hate to be seen as stuck on the OCZ drive but there just seem to a lot issues like this with the Vertex 2 drives.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-06-2012, 11:01 AM   #45
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



Ok, I have an old velociraptor that i replaced with the vertex because of noise issues, I'll try running windows on that later today. Is there any test I need to run once it's set up?
__________________
Barewire is offline  
Old 04-06-2012, 11:39 AM   #46
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,019
OS: Win7



I would just see if you have the bsod's or freezes.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-07-2012, 10:38 AM   #47
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



I haven't started using a platter drive yet but fwiw I just got a BSOD that mentions usbport.sys. I'm going to replace the drive this afternoon.
__________________
Barewire is offline  
Old 04-07-2012, 08:32 PM   #48
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



Getting a ton of BSODs trying to use the platter hard drive, none of them point to anything as far as i can tell. I tried reinstalling windows to the drive but got a BSOD during the first restart after installation as well. I don't have any logs of course because I can't boot.

Edit: I never had issues with this HDD on the old build, but it's never been used with the current motherboard/RAM/processor
__________________
Barewire is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 01:03 AM   #49
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,019
OS: Win7



Getting Blue screens on install using a different drive pretty much means hardware, memtest runs clean, I've got one more thing to try since that's a Z68 board pull the video card and use the integrated video.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 10:22 AM   #50
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



I'm not at home but I've tried running off integrated video before with no success
__________________
Barewire is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 09:55 AM   #51
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,019
OS: Win7



That kind of leaves the motherboard or PSU, any chance you borrow a PSU from a friend to test with?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 10:14 AM   #52
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



Yeah, I should be able to test one tomorrow. I'll post back as soon as I find something.
__________________
Barewire is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 07:41 PM   #53
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



So there was only 1 day left on my return policy for the motherboard so I brought in my MB and PSU together, had the PSU tested (voltage was fine) so I swapped out the board for a new one. It's installed and running fine, looks like my old CPU for the time being. No BSODs yet although I'm still getting the "windows explorer has stopped working" or "desktop window manager has stopped working" for some reason.
__________________
Barewire is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 10:16 AM   #54
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,019
OS: Win7



Lets try running the System File check utility

Hit Start ,in the Search Box type cmd
In the results above the box, right-click cmd.exe , and then click Run as Administrator If prompted to type the password for an administrator account. Click Continue if you are the administrator or type the administrator password. Then, click Continue .
At the command prompt, type Sfc /scannow(note the space between SFC and the /) , press ENTER.

It may take a little while and you may be prompted for the Win7 disk.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 11:36 AM   #55
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



It ran pretty quickly and said they found no integrity violations
__________________
Barewire is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 12:46 PM   #56
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,019
OS: Win7



Hit Start, in the search box type paste event viewer, double click on event viewer in the list at the top, are there any alerts or I should say what alerts are listed recently?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 01:40 PM   #57
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



I've gotten 3 errors quite a few times since replacing the MB, I'll attach some screen shots. There are a couple other 1 time errors but I figure these are more important.







__________________
Barewire is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 01:48 PM   #58
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,019
OS: Win7



Which drive are you using the OCZ or the Raptor?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 02:01 PM   #59
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
OS: Windows 7 Service Pack 1



I'm using the OCZ
__________________
Barewire is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 02:28 PM   #60
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,019
OS: Win7



Try the raptor again, Win7 is still installed on it correct?

Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD during games and YouTube videos!
Hi guys! I'm new here and signed up because I'm experiencing blue screen issues. I seem to be experiencing BSOD's quite commonly when playing games such as Battlefield 3 and Team Fortress 2 but I have also had a few BSOD's during YouTube videos. Typical BSOD's include: MEMORY_MANAGEMENT...
EvilPengy BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 34 04-10-2012 06:29 AM
BSOD right after I close same program
I have searched and searched for the answer to this and nothing has seemed to work so far. I am using a Kitchen design program and everytime I decide to close it I get an BSOD and restart. I have tried updating drivers, Uninstalling AVG, on and on Here is the report from BSODViewer. ...
mj4261 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 03-29-2012 10:41 AM
Problem with black pixel boxes appearing. Hardware issue perhaps?
The screenshots listed below should be enough info to diagnose, but let me know if you need more info on. I'm running with NVIDIA GeForce 210...we had some good times, old friend lol I have the window "restored" and the picture is pixelated, but if I maximize it, it's fine. Once I click on...
JennEversole Video Card Support 1 03-29-2012 06:56 AM
Winlogon BSOD
Im getting winlogon exe crash BSOD PC boots onto windows desktop then icons freeze and grey out I hard reboot and it boots as normal after 1 or 2 attempts. I got an error log can anyone make sence of it, checked both ram and hard disks for errors and all ok EventType : BEX P1 : winlogon.exe P2 :...
smokes205 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 0 03-29-2012 04:11 AM
BSOD with various STOP messages like IQRL, POOL AND BUG STOP or just various errors
I need help very bad and I read a post that JCGRIFF posted to help an individual out on but that was awhile ago! I need that type of help if someone can help. Had had various BSOD ERRORS like BUG STOP, IQRL, POOL And various errors that are irritating! I'm ok with troubleshooting but would like an...
Jakeohio726 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 03-29-2012 01:55 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts