Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs

BSOP + Game crashes

This is a discussion on BSOP + Game crashes within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello :) you guys most likely get 1000000000000000000 people like me on my quest to try and fix my computer


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-11-2012, 06:27 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
OS: windows 7 ultimate



Hello :) you guys most likely get 1000000000000000000 people like me on my quest to try and fix my computer but I really don't know that much.

I reinstalled windows in Septemeber 2011 it worked perfectly up until April 9th 2012. Since then I have goten 3-4 BSOD and when I play my game(league of legends) It crashes frequently 5+ times a game says adobe air has stopped working.

I have tried reinstalling the game
I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling adobe air

I know nothing about fixing my computer but I know how to get around it good just let me know what info I need to provide or maybe someone can teamview me or something similar?

Also my firefox has started to crash often just today and as I was typing this message the first time my computer just froze.

Thanks for anyone willing to try and help me.

__________________
SZAGENT is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 06:57 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
OS: windows 7 ultimate



Here I added the steps it told me to do in the sticky sorry didn't read it at first -_-
Attached Files
File Type: zip BSODinfo.zip (1.59 MB, 14 views)
File Type: zip Perfmon.zip (149.0 KB, 7 views)

__________________
SZAGENT is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 08:42 AM   #3
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 2,408
OS: W7 SP1 HP x64

My System


The 3 dumps seem to indicate memory or a driver as most likely to be the cause.

Drivers that need updating or uninstalling:
AsIO.sys Asus PCProbe Utility ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support- Drivers and Download
ASACPI.sys Asus ATK0110 ACPI Utility (a known BSOD maker in Win7). Also a part of the Asus PCProbe and AISuite Utilities ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support- Drivers and Download
cpuz135_x64.sys CPU-Z CPU monitor CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting
nvBridge.kmd nVidia Compatible Vista Kernel Mode Driver (likely belongs to nForce chipset drivers) Drivers - Download NVIDIA Drivers
RTKVHD64.sys Realtek High Definition Audio Function Driver Realtek
l160x64.sys NDIS Miniport Driver for Atheros L1 Gigabit Ethernet Controller ATHEROS drivers for Microsoft Windows (Atheros?????)

Uninstall any motherboard utilities (like ASUS PCProbe) - that should fix the first 2, then uninstall CPU-Z and update those hardware drivers.

Run a Memtest86+ diagnostic overnight, as many as 7 -10 passes would be good - any errors and you'll need to check each memory stick individually, the single stick(s) should all be tested from Slot 1. Memory Diagnostics

If the memory checks out as good, keep using the PC until it gives another BSOD and then upload the dump (copy the latest dump(s) from C:\Windows\Minidump, to the Desktop then zip and attach the resulting zip files).
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 04:51 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
OS: windows 7 ultimate



Quote:
Originally Posted by satrow View Post
The 3 dumps seem to indicate memory or a driver as most likely to be the cause.

Drivers that need updating or uninstalling:
AsIO.sys Asus PCProbe Utility ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support- Drivers and Download
ASACPI.sys Asus ATK0110 ACPI Utility (a known BSOD maker in Win7). Also a part of the Asus PCProbe and AISuite Utilities ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support- Drivers and Download
cpuz135_x64.sys CPU-Z CPU monitor CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting
nvBridge.kmd nVidia Compatible Vista Kernel Mode Driver (likely belongs to nForce chipset drivers) Drivers - Download NVIDIA Drivers
RTKVHD64.sys Realtek High Definition Audio Function Driver Realtek
l160x64.sys NDIS Miniport Driver for Atheros L1 Gigabit Ethernet Controller ATHEROS drivers for Microsoft Windows (Atheros?????)

Uninstall any motherboard utilities (like ASUS PCProbe) - that should fix the first 2, then uninstall CPU-Z and update those hardware drivers.

Run a Memtest86+ diagnostic overnight, as many as 7 -10 passes would be good - any errors and you'll need to check each memory stick individually, the single stick(s) should all be tested from Slot 1. Memory Diagnostics

If the memory checks out as good, keep using the PC until it gives another BSOD and then upload the dump (copy the latest dump(s) from C:\Windows\Minidump, to the Desktop then zip and attach the resulting zip files).

Thank for your reply.

I searched for ASUS PCPROBE and did not find it so I could not uninstall it.

I searched for CPU-Z and uninstalled it but am I sure what you mean by "and update those drivers"

I just woke up now and am going to run those mem tests just burning it to a cd now.

The computer seem's to be getting worse as just to post this message firefox has started to error frquently.
__________________
SZAGENT is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 05:09 PM   #5
Microsoft Community Contributor
 
mgorman87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 757
OS: Win 7 Home Premium x64



All three were memory management crashes. This can either be bad RAM or a misbehaving driver.

Start off with the memory test as suggested
Memtest86 - Run for 7-8 passes - RAM - Test with Memtest86+ - Windows 7 Forums


You do not need to update any of these drivers listed in the previous post just yet. They are not blamed in the dumps and probably aren't causing the crashes.

If the memory tests pass then you will need to enable driver verifier

http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ed-473665.html

Code:
Event[85]:
  Log Name: System
  Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Processor-Power
  Date: 2012-04-11T09:21:17.015
  Event ID: 6
  Task: N/A
  Level: Error
  Opcode: Info
  Keyword: N/A
  User: S-1-5-18
  User Name: NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM
  Computer: WIN7
  Description: 
Some processor performance power management features have been disabled due to a known firmware problem. Check with the computer manufacturer for updated firmware.
I found this in your logs. You need to update your motherboard BIOS. You are still using the BIOS that came with the board. Also, your board does not support Win 7 so this may cause some issues

ASUS - Motherboards- ASUS P5L-VM 1394


BSOD BUGCHECK SUMMARY
Code:

Built by: 7601.17727.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.111118-2330
Debug session time: Sun Apr  8 19:34:39.731 2012 (UTC - 4:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:25:47.481
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+29dbf )
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x1a_5003
PROCESS_NAME:  plugin-contain
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x1a_5003_nt!_??_::FNODOBFM::_string_+29dbf
BiosReleaseDate = 09/05/2006
SystemManufacturer = System manufacturer
SystemProductName = System Product Name
CPUID:        "Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.40GHz"
MaxSpeed:     3400
CurrentSpeed: 3399
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``
Built by: 7601.17727.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.111118-2330
Debug session time: Wed Apr 11 06:45:14.472 2012 (UTC - 4:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 10:47:15.222
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+13c82 )
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x1a_41201
PROCESS_NAME:  League of Lege
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x1a_41201_nt!_??_::FNODOBFM::_string_+13c82
BiosReleaseDate = 09/05/2006
SystemManufacturer = System manufacturer
SystemProductName = System Product Name
CPUID:        "Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.40GHz"
MaxSpeed:     3400
CurrentSpeed: 3400
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for ntoskrnl.exe
Built by: 7601.17790.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.120305-1505
Debug session time: Wed Apr 11 11:45:01.922 2012 (UTC - 4:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 1:53:56.672
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for ntoskrnl.exe
Probably caused by : ntoskrnl.exe ( nt+4e138 )
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50
BiosReleaseDate = 09/05/2006
SystemManufacturer = System manufacturer
SystemProductName = System Product Name
CPUID:        "Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.40GHz"
MaxSpeed:     3400
CurrentSpeed: 3399
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``
  
__________________


Please do not PM me for support. You may PM me if I have not responded to your thread in 48 hours. Thanks

If you are posting for BSOD help, make sure you upload a jcgriff2 report.

Blue Screen of Death (BSOD) Posting Instructions - Windows 7 & Vista
mgorman87 is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 05:26 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
OS: windows 7 ultimate



Quote:
Originally Posted by mgorman87 View Post
All three were memory management crashes. This can either be bad RAM or a misbehaving driver.

Start off with the memory test as suggested
Memtest86 - Run for 7-8 passes - RAM - Test with Memtest86+ - Windows 7 Forums


You do not need to update any of these drivers listed in the previous post just yet. They are not blamed in the dumps and probably aren't causing the crashes.

If the memory tests pass then you will need to enable driver verifier

http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ed-473665.html

Code:
Event[85]:
  Log Name: System
  Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Processor-Power
  Date: 2012-04-11T09:21:17.015
  Event ID: 6
  Task: N/A
  Level: Error
  Opcode: Info
  Keyword: N/A
  User: S-1-5-18
  User Name: NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM
  Computer: WIN7
  Description: 
Some processor performance power management features have been disabled due to a known firmware problem. Check with the computer manufacturer for updated firmware.
I found this in your logs. You need to update your motherboard BIOS. You are still using the BIOS that came with the board. Also, your board does not support Win 7 so this may cause some issues

ASUS - Motherboards- ASUS P5L-VM 1394


BSOD BUGCHECK SUMMARY
Code:

Built by: 7601.17727.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.111118-2330
Debug session time: Sun Apr  8 19:34:39.731 2012 (UTC - 4:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 0:25:47.481
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+29dbf )
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x1a_5003
PROCESS_NAME:  plugin-contain
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x1a_5003_nt!_??_::FNODOBFM::_string_+29dbf
BiosReleaseDate = 09/05/2006
SystemManufacturer = System manufacturer
SystemProductName = System Product Name
CPUID:        "Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.40GHz"
MaxSpeed:     3400
CurrentSpeed: 3399
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``
Built by: 7601.17727.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.111118-2330
Debug session time: Wed Apr 11 06:45:14.472 2012 (UTC - 4:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 10:47:15.222
Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+13c82 )
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x1a_41201
PROCESS_NAME:  League of Lege
FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x1a_41201_nt!_??_::FNODOBFM::_string_+13c82
BiosReleaseDate = 09/05/2006
SystemManufacturer = System manufacturer
SystemProductName = System Product Name
CPUID:        "Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.40GHz"
MaxSpeed:     3400
CurrentSpeed: 3400
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for ntoskrnl.exe
Built by: 7601.17790.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.120305-1505
Debug session time: Wed Apr 11 11:45:01.922 2012 (UTC - 4:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 1:53:56.672
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for ntoskrnl.exe
Probably caused by : ntoskrnl.exe ( nt+4e138 )
BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50
BiosReleaseDate = 09/05/2006
SystemManufacturer = System manufacturer
SystemProductName = System Product Name
CPUID:        "Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.40GHz"
MaxSpeed:     3400
CurrentSpeed: 3399
จจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจจ``
  
Alright first I will run the memtest it just finished burning onto the cd.

2nd(il read reply when memtest is done) You mean update the bios? I found this on there website this is what I am looking for right? P5L-VM 1394 Release BIOS 0903
Support new CPUs. Please refer to our website at: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support- CPU Support File Size 416,06 (KBytes) 2007.06.28 update Download from Global (DLM) Global
__________________
SZAGENT is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 05:58 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
OS: windows 7 ultimate



Alright I ran memtest once and there was 8 errors so I hit esc to reboot as I think it would have been a waste of time to run it 8 times if it found 8 errors on the first one.

Is there a log for these? Or is all that info pointless as it just tells me one or more of my ram sticks are bad?

I did notice that on my mother boards page it says it can have up to 4gb. It says I have 4gb installed but only 3.12gb useable. Upon googling this many other uses say the same thing would this cause the errors in this test or does it mean for sure my ram is bad?

I have four 1gb sticks installed. What is my next step to run the memtest on each stick by itself? Do I need to run the test 7-8 times on each stick so like 30+ times?

When I installed windows 7 in september I also installed two more 1gb of ram so should I run the test with the two old ram sticks and then the two new ram sticks to find the problem or should I just stick to running the test with 1 stick at a time?


Thanks for your help again.
__________________
SZAGENT is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 06:44 PM   #8
Microsoft Community Contributor
 
mgorman87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 757
OS: Win 7 Home Premium x64



First, update your BIOS. That is the correct one you want (the 0903)

To test the ram, you will need to run one stick at a time in each slot for probably like 3-4 passes (1gig shouldn't take long) and see which one(s) are bad.

I would recommend buying a 4gig pair (2x2gig). Buying individual 1gig sticks is kind of silly.
__________________


Please do not PM me for support. You may PM me if I have not responded to your thread in 48 hours. Thanks

If you are posting for BSOD help, make sure you upload a jcgriff2 report.

Blue Screen of Death (BSOD) Posting Instructions - Windows 7 & Vista
mgorman87 is offline  
Old 04-12-2012, 01:31 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
OS: windows 7 ultimate



Quote:
Originally Posted by mgorman87 View Post
First, update your BIOS. That is the correct one you want (the 0903)

To test the ram, you will need to run one stick at a time in each slot for probably like 3-4 passes (1gig shouldn't take long) and see which one(s) are bad.

I would recommend buying a 4gig pair (2x2gig). Buying individual 1gig sticks is kind of silly.
I read this late so I ran 3 sticks by themselves so far for 7 times each so far all good so its either the 4th one(or one of the slots on my mother board is bad) which I will test after the 4th.

I will do the bios update after this and post my ram results here.

Could faulty ram or ram slot on mother board cause firefox and my game to crash constantly?

The reason why I have 4 1gb ram sticks is the computer came with 2x1gb and I was unsure if it was a good idea to run one 2gb and two 1gb so I just bought 2x1gb.

The computer is out of date anyways I am building my own for diablo3(may 15th) but this computer I am posting from now is my g/f's and it is even more out of date and super slow.....So i was hoping to give her my old one if I can get this all fixed up lol.
__________________
SZAGENT is offline  
Old 04-12-2012, 02:17 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
OS: windows 7 ultimate



Alright so the 4th stick provided errors. So now I am going to just run the 3x1gb will this effect my performance at all? My mother board has 2 light colored 2 dark colored ram slots so I will fill the two light ones and one dark one does it matter now that the last dark one is empty? Or is it advised I run only 2gb until I can fill the last slot again?

I will boot it up now with just the 3 good sticks to see if I still get BSOD or crashes on firefox/video game. Also I will update the bios is it simple as just download it from the site and double click install? Or do I need to do anything fancy?
__________________
SZAGENT is offline  
Old 04-12-2012, 04:48 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
OS: windows 7 ultimate



***UPDATE

one ram stick was bad it seems that was causing all my problems for anyone curious to see what the solution was.

Thanks for all your help guys :)

As for updating my bios is it as simple as download file double click and it installs itself?
__________________
SZAGENT is offline  
Old 04-12-2012, 05:25 AM   #12
Microsoft Community Contributor
 
mgorman87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 757
OS: Win 7 Home Premium x64


There just be a guide on the website on how to flash the BIOS
__________________


Please do not PM me for support. You may PM me if I have not responded to your thread in 48 hours. Thanks

If you are posting for BSOD help, make sure you upload a jcgriff2 report.

Blue Screen of Death (BSOD) Posting Instructions - Windows 7 & Vista
mgorman87 is offline  
Old 04-12-2012, 06:07 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
OS: windows 7 ultimate



Quote:
Originally Posted by mgorman87 View Post
There just be a guide on the website on how to flash the BIOS
On this website? I have been looking all over can't seem to find it.
__________________
SZAGENT is offline  
Old 04-12-2012, 06:21 AM   #14
Microsoft Community Contributor
 
mgorman87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 757
OS: Win 7 Home Premium x64



It's in your user manual

http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...5l-vm_1394.pdf

Chapter two lists a bunch of different ways to update your BIOS

__________________


Please do not PM me for support. You may PM me if I have not responded to your thread in 48 hours. Thanks

If you are posting for BSOD help, make sure you upload a jcgriff2 report.

Blue Screen of Death (BSOD) Posting Instructions - Windows 7 & Vista
mgorman87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts