Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs

Blue Screen DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE STOP 0x0000009F (xxx1, xxx2, xxx3, xxx4)

This is a discussion on Blue Screen DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE STOP 0x0000009F (xxx1, xxx2, xxx3, xxx4) within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. (Please be gentle - newbie here) I get the BSOD with DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE on my Win VISTA Media Centre PC an

Closed Thread

Old 09-22-2008, 08:49 PM   #1
Registered Member

(Please be gentle - newbie here)

I get the BSOD with DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE on my Win VISTA Media Centre PC an (intel) Pioneer DreamVision PC.

I am pretty confident it is caused by the 'Maxtor OneTouch 4 Plus' 1Tb drive connected to the 1394 firewire port. I tested by using the plug/unplug test to see if any problems do/do not occur. This morning when the Maxtor was off I went to the DVD Library which is kept on the Maxtor and after the Machine hung I got the BSOD.

Is there a fix? I have tried Update for Windows Vista (KB929762) but "it is not for my system" message is displayed.

Other forums have suggested it could be a power supply problem in the PC?

I am using Vista Home Premium 32 as a Media centre PC to watch TV, DVDs etc. I have service pack 1 and all the automatic updates issued up to 22 Sept.

I have uninstalled all the updates including SP1 and reinstalled them to no avail.

I have a standard Windows load with the following extras,
FireFox; ICE TV guide (guide information for Australia), MCE standby tool; AnyDVD; Standard Win Firewall; standard windows Vista Virus checker (Defender?) - I have generally used the windows default divers for devices.

Thanks.

Old 09-22-2008, 11:22 PM   #2
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional

Hi. . .

Did you install the software that came with the 1-touch external drive? Or do you simply copy files out to it?