Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs

Black Screens of Death on Vista

This is a discussion on Black Screens of Death on Vista within the BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I'm a beginner in these things and I noticed my computer keeps rebooting time and time again every 5-15


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-22-2012, 03:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista x86 service pack 2

My System


Hello,
I'm a beginner in these things and I noticed my computer keeps rebooting time and time again every 5-15 min.
I tried updating my bios, setting the bios at default and I also changed my CPU mode from Dynamic Switchable to Always Low to give me some more time but that results in freezes with vertical lines that change my screen's colour instead of reboots.
Strange enough, if I run Dead Space 2, I get no freezes or reboots
Also tried updating my drivers using those softwares and using sfc /scannow, chkdsk and startup repair - nothing worked.

System details:
A 3 year old Toshiba Satellite A300-276 with retail Windows Vista x86 that I installed 1 month ago since I changed from Windows 7 because of this problem
Graphics Card - ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3470, which I tried updating but Catalyst Install Manager says sometimes that it cannot find INF file and then in the device manager it shows up exactly the same
Sound Card - Realtek High Definition Audio
Motherboard -Toshiba Portable PC
CPU - Intel Pentium Dual Core T-4200
Power Supply ---
Attached Files
File Type: zip Windows7_Vista_jcgriff2.zip (1.20 MB, 7 views)

__________________
Rigged3 is offline  
Old 03-22-2012, 03:39 PM   #2
Tech Hardware Team
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,122
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


Hi and Welcome to TSF
There is no crash dump file in there so I don't think its your Drivers or anything else

since its a Toshiba Satellite A300 I can tell you one of the major reasons for the computer to shut down and restart on its own is over heating
the heatsink has a huge engineering flaw so dust gets trap on the plate and accumulates
so If you remove the back Pane for the heatsink and just blow it out with Compress air you should not have that problem anymore
Also factory default your CMOS(BIOS) as well

__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 03-23-2012, 08:11 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista x86 service pack 2

My System


Didn't check for dust but my cousin cleaned it after he replaced me the HDD about 3 months ago maybe.
Is it possible that it's filled with dust already?
And by the way it never crashes when I play games but I'll check for dust anyway.

I tried setting the BIOS to factory defaults and it doesn't work
__________________
Rigged3 is offline  
Old 03-23-2012, 09:44 AM   #4
Tech Hardware Team
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,122
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


Ya its just the design of it that makes it to collect more dust over small period of time

Possibly when you are trying to play video games then maybe the fan is blowing a lot faster but that also make me believe that maybe the fan might be going out

if possible can you post the voltages from the BIOS
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 03-23-2012, 10:35 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista x86 service pack 2

My System


Sorry but I actually don't know how to see the voltages.
I'm taking the pc for a check maybe next weekend.
__________________
Rigged3 is offline  
Old 03-23-2012, 10:43 AM   #6
Tech Hardware Team
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,122
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


If you can get into the BIOS
it should be under the first tab
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 03-23-2012, 11:56 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista x86 service pack 2

My System


At the main screen only saw Sistem Time and Date, CPU speed and type, HDD, Optical Disk Drive, BIOS version and Language.
There are more sections but none of them provides info about voltage.
__________________
Rigged3 is offline  
Old 03-23-2012, 12:15 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
dwm260's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 109
OS: Windows 7 - 64 bit



I do agree with loda on this one. It sounds to me like an overheating issue. Fans dying (or dead), graphics chip getting way too hot, etc... Many things can cause this over heating. Does it feel abnormally hot to you on the bottom after it's been on for a while?
__________________
dwm260 is offline  
Old 03-23-2012, 12:19 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista x86 service pack 2

My System


Sometimes.
But it only heats when I'm playing and when I'm playing or if I have a game in the backround it doesn't crash.
It also reboots and freezes around 1 minute after I start my pc in the next day.
__________________
Rigged3 is offline  
Old 03-23-2012, 12:31 PM   #10
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,371
OS: Win7



The Toshiba Bios will not show you the temps or voltages.
Use Hardware Monitor to see the temps, voltages on a laptop are not very useful.

Do hear the fan speed up and slow down, feel more air coming out of the vents when it speeds up?

Check in Event Viewer for any errors.
To open Event Viewer click the Start button, In the Search box, type Event Viewer, and then, in the list of results, double-click Event Viewer.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 03-23-2012, 03:00 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista x86 service pack 2

My System


I'm using HWMonitor but can't see the voltages.
Temperatures are:
73ºC on the motherboard
70ºC and 69ºC on the CPU
55ºC on the HDD
61ºC on the graphic card

I saw a bunch of event ID's 6008 in the event viewer that say previous system shutdown was unexpected

Details are:

Log Name: System
Source: EventLog
Date: 21-03-2012 13:33:03
Event ID: 6008
Task Category: None
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Leonel-PC
Description:
The previous system shutdown at 21:46:14 on 20-03-2012 was unexpected.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="EventLog" />
<EventID Qualifiers="32768">6008</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>0</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2012-03-21T13:33:03.000Z" />
<EventRecordID>36984</EventRecordID>
<Channel>System</Channel>
<Computer>Leonel-PC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>21:46:14</Data>
<Data>20-03-2012</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>4421</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Binary>DC0703000200140015002E000E001201DC0703000200140015002E000E0012013C0000003C000000000000000000000000000000000000000100000000000000</Binary>
</EventData>
</Event>
__________________
Rigged3 is offline  
Old 03-23-2012, 03:05 PM   #12
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,371
OS: Win7



69c-70c for that CPU are a little warm is under load?
Voltages on a laptop are not usually reported unlike a desktop you do not have 3 distinct rails, just voltage regulation on the motherboard from battery voltage.

Quote:
Do hear the fan speed up and slow down, feel more air coming out of the vents when it speeds up?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 03-23-2012, 03:09 PM   #13
Tech Hardware Team
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,122
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


Have you cleaned it up with compressed air?
__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline  
Old 03-24-2012, 07:36 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista x86 service pack 2

My System


I had a crash last night and cpu was at 81º and I had a game in the backround only.
The pc seems to be always at the same speed. I feel the vents working and air coming out.
Never actually cleaned it myself but my cousin says he did it when he replaced my HDD a few months ago.
__________________
Rigged3 is offline  
Old 03-24-2012, 08:02 AM   #15
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,371
OS: Win7



Clean the heatsink using a can compressed air, available at office supply stores as well as many other stores.> Caring for your notebook computer.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:32 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
OS: Windows Vista x86 service pack 2

My System


Thanks for the solution.
I'll buy the compressed air soon and I'll keep you posted.

__________________
Rigged3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Unable To Install SP2
Hi, I have a friends daughters laptop that they thought had an infection. The machine has been scanned and logs posted and analysed; result is no infections. I was advised to install Vista SP2 which I have tried to do, however the machine will not retain it. It gets all the way through the 3...
headly Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 25 04-08-2012 09:52 AM
Disable Action Center Flag on system tray
How to disable Action Center White Flag on system tray in Windows 7 . it appears even if no current issues detected. It started to popup recnetly before it never did. Thanks
zhong Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 3 03-23-2012 01:07 PM
[SOLVED] Cannot access my Server from one laptop - ok on others
Hi My set up has been working fine for the last year or so: Headless server running WHS which streams wirelessly to MediaCentre PC (Windows 7) Laptop running Windows XP which connects wirelessly to the Server. The set up was to reconnect at login, by mapping 2 drives (X, Y) to particular...
cronshd Networking Support 11 03-22-2012 04:07 PM
National Day of Unplugging
well, can you go 24 hours completely unplugged? or would you suffer from withdrawal or have to sneak that peek? Can you go 24 hours without any tech? | Crave - CNET
sobeit Offline 0 03-22-2012 02:33 PM
Disappearnce of document
Hi, For the last few days, whenever I wite a document in word or excell, it jus disappears even after saving it. What could be the cause?:confused:
Mariosebastiao Microsoft Office support 4 03-22-2012 02:00 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts