Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Home Support > Photographer's Corner

Newly formatted 8GB SD card reads 'FULL'?

This is a discussion on Newly formatted 8GB SD card reads 'FULL'? within the Photographer's Corner forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've reformatted an 8GB SD card (used previously without problems) several times and when inserted in the camera, it reads


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-02-2010, 10:02 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
OS: XP SP3



I've reformatted an 8GB SD card (used previously without problems) several times and when inserted in the camera, it reads 'MEMORY FULL'.
Done this in two different cameras - Canon IXUS100 and Nikon Coolpix5600 (reformatted in each one) and it's still the same.
However, when using an SD card reader inserted in my PC, it shows that it is completely empty!
Any experienced a similar problem and resolved the issue?

__________________
qifitness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 06:18 PM   #2
Moderator, Design Team
 
zuluclayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 12,570
OS: Windows Seven Home Premium

My System


how did you reformat the card? via computer or in-camera? in my experience most cards prefer to be formatted using the camera not via usb or card reader and computer.

zuluclayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 12:20 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
OS: XP SP3



My original post explains
__________________
qifitness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 02:06 AM   #4
Moderator, Design Team
 
zuluclayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 12,570
OS: Windows Seven Home Premium

My System


oops! sorry - didn't read your post properly - no damaging activity that you know of? no water? no excessive heat? no computer malfunction while card inserted? ejected card correctly from computer?
As a last resort you could try updating your camera's firmware - which will reset the camera to factory defaults and may allow the camera's system to read the card correctly.
Do you think there should be images on the card or do you feel the card is actually empty? - just trying to establish where the fault lies - in the camera, the card, card reader or the computer - ugh!
have you tried connecting the camera via USB and seeing if it can be read?
zuluclayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 01:22 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
OS: XP SP3



The card hasn't been exposed to any adverse conditions. It's been stored in its case.
As I said in my comments, I've tried to reformat it in two different cameras. Both displayed the message 'memory full'.
Viewed on my PC through a card reader, it shows the card is empty, although it shows only 6.4GB for an 8GB card.
However, there has been a significant breakthrough - the card now shows available picture capacity for TWO PICS!!??
__________________
qifitness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 01:51 AM   #6
Moderator, Design Team
 
zuluclayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 12,570
OS: Windows Seven Home Premium

My System


one other simple thing to check - SD cards have a lock function, usually a slider on the side of the card (see attached pic)- yours isn't in the lock position is it?

"Do you think there should be images on the card or do you feel the card is actually empty?" I asked this but you haven't answered it - you may be able to recover the files if there are/were images on it you wanted using recovery software.
The fact it is reading as though there is 1.6 GB or so used (there will be some difference between the stated capacity and actual capacity but not that much!) seems to point to some information being on there.
Attached Images
 
zuluclayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 09:00 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
OS: XP SP3



No, the lock isn't on.
Also, there aren't any images on the card.
It's showing only 6.45MB available on an 8GB card, yet when viewing 'properties' (inserted into the PC with a card reader) the graphic display shows it as completely empty.
Is there anything that can change a card's capacity so dramatically? (Apart from the suggestions we've managed to rule out already)
__________________
qifitness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 10:19 AM   #8
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Done_Fishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brit living in Greece
Posts: 10,578
OS: WinME, WinXP Pro SP3, Win7(x64), Linux distros incl. Ubuntu 9.10 & Netbook Remix & CD2USB, Slax6.1

My System


if you look at the card using administrations tools, computer management, disk management what does it show as being the format? FAT, FAT32, ....
__________________
.


.
I'm not old!!
I'm age impaired

..
D_F


I DON'T PLAY GAMES

How to mark your thread as solved



HDD DIAG UTILS

TSF's Photographer's Corner


Submit New Articles Here

How to Use Ubuntu to Recover Windows files
Done_Fishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 01:26 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
OS: XP SP3



It's showing 'FAT'
__________________
qifitness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 08:12 AM   #10
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Done_Fishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brit living in Greece
Posts: 10,578
OS: WinME, WinXP Pro SP3, Win7(x64), Linux distros incl. Ubuntu 9.10 & Netbook Remix & CD2USB, Slax6.1

My System


FAT normally supports only 2GB whilst FAT32 will support up to 8GB .. try formatting it with Windows to FAT32 and if that doesn't work, delete the partition, create a 2048 MB partition, then format it with FAT and see if that works.

Another possibility is to delete the 8 GB partition in windows and then format it using the camera.

also check out my tip in the photo section ( http://www.techsupportforum.com/f288...ry-430122.html ) which might help, if nothing else then to understand a different way of formatting the card.

Hope this helps
__________________
.


.
I'm not old!!
I'm age impaired

..
D_F


I DON'T PLAY GAMES

How to mark your thread as solved



HDD DIAG UTILS

TSF's Photographer's Corner


Submit New Articles Here

How to Use Ubuntu to Recover Windows files
Done_Fishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 07:58 AM   #11
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Done_Fishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brit living in Greece
Posts: 10,578
OS: WinME, WinXP Pro SP3, Win7(x64), Linux distros incl. Ubuntu 9.10 & Netbook Remix & CD2USB, Slax6.1

My System


Any Progress ?? Would like to hear from you ..
__________________
.


.
I'm not old!!
I'm age impaired

..
D_F


I DON'T PLAY GAMES

How to mark your thread as solved



HDD DIAG UTILS

TSF's Photographer's Corner


Submit New Articles Here

How to Use Ubuntu to Recover Windows files
Done_Fishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 10:09 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
OS: XP SP3



Unfortunately, I can't delete partition or reformat FAT32.
I'll have to give up on this.
Many thanks for all suggestions.
__________________
qifitness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 02:01 PM   #13
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Done_Fishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brit living in Greece
Posts: 10,578
OS: WinME, WinXP Pro SP3, Win7(x64), Linux distros incl. Ubuntu 9.10 & Netbook Remix & CD2USB, Slax6.1

My System


Did you try my advice in http://www.techsupportforum.com/f288...ry-430122.html ???

__________________
.


.
I'm not old!!
I'm age impaired

..
D_F


I DON'T PLAY GAMES

How to mark your thread as solved



HDD DIAG UTILS

TSF's Photographer's Corner


Submit New Articles Here

How to Use Ubuntu to Recover Windows files
Done_Fishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts