Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

FBI Virus Strategy

1K views 0 replies 1 participant last post by  Opcode 
#1 ·
I'm a college student moonlighting as a part-time computer tech. Recently, I was sent to remove the FBI Virus from a home user's computer, something I have successfully accomplished for several other people. This time, though, I was unsuccessful.

The client owns a 3rd party computer, built by an individual and running Windows XP on Asus BIOS. The virus would not allow me any control over the desktop, but I was able to boot from the optical drive. Boot options only listed boot drive order, not Windows boot options. I found the BIOS time was set 7 hours ahead. I was unable to get Windows to go into Safe Mode, even after performing hard shut downs.

I'm a firm believer in booting infected computers from an uninfected drive. So, I have Malwarebytes on a DVD running Windows PE, so I can boot from it at client's homes. I also have BitDefender 2012, which boots from a Linux disk. Finally, I have Microsoft Security Essentials loaded on a laptop.

Usually, Malwarebytes takes 1.5 to 2 hours to scan a computer, but it only needed 19 minutes to scan this client's computer. I think it scanned only 250k files, too. It failed to find any infected files, though. I then ran BitDefender. It also needed an unusually short time (17 minutes) to scan, and it also failed to find any infected files. So, I removed the hard drive from the client's system and hooked it up to my laptop via my USB port and ran Security Essentials on its partitions. I had to stop the scan after 515,000 files scanned in 2 hours.