Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Home Support > Electronics

Technics stereo receiver overload

This is a discussion on Technics stereo receiver overload within the Electronics forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Gently used 10 year old Technics (Montgomery Ward) Receiver suddenly stopped working (no speaker sound) while watching movie. Since then


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-01-2010, 09:22 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
InLikeFlynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 8
OS: xp


Exclamation

Gently used 10 year old Technics (Montgomery Ward) Receiver suddenly stopped working (no speaker sound) while watching movie. Since then have hooked up to radio tuner and pumped the volume. Every time volume increased, fan from unit comes on and vice versa. Faint radio is heard in speakers, but nowhere near normal volume. When shutting of unit the word "overload" flashes on the LED readout. Is this fixable, or should I get a new receiver?

__________________
InLikeFlynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 11:18 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Done_Fishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brit living in Greece
Posts: 10,578
OS: WinME, WinXP Pro SP3, Win7(x64), Linux distros incl. Ubuntu 9.10 & Netbook Remix & CD2USB, Slax6.1

My System


Everything is repairable if you can afford to pay.

there are no guarantees about the cause of the problem. It could be an output transistor or an Amplifier Hybrid.

Just how much is it worth to get it repaired and how much to replace it!

__________________
.


.
I'm not old!!
I'm age impaired

..
D_F


I DON'T PLAY GAMES

How to mark your thread as solved



HDD DIAG UTILS

TSF's Photographer's Corner


Submit New Articles Here

How to Use Ubuntu to Recover Windows files
Done_Fishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 05:15 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
InLikeFlynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 8
OS: xp



I'm not really sure that was too helpful. The reason for the post in the first place was to maybe get some ideas on what I can do at home BEFORE I take it to a repair shop. So...any ideas?
__________________
InLikeFlynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 05:27 AM   #4
Administrator
TSF Manager
 
SABL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Galena, Ohio
Posts: 11,865
OS: WinXP Pro SP3, Vista Home Premium SP2



Model number??

I have owned a few Technics and the kids have blown 2 of them by cranking up the volume. Not much you can do at home without the testing equipment unless your model has a fuse for protection mounted inside the receiver case which has blown..... that's the only home fix I know of.
__________________
It's a good thing I never had any sanity......I would have lost it by now.
SABL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 06:10 AM   #5
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Done_Fishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brit living in Greece
Posts: 10,578
OS: WinME, WinXP Pro SP3, Win7(x64), Linux distros incl. Ubuntu 9.10 & Netbook Remix & CD2USB, Slax6.1

My System


Disconnect the speakers and see if that cures the problem. The speakers and cables will need to be checked.

an overload condition implies that there might be too much current or even DC Voltage heading for the speakers, shuts down before the speaker(s) blow(s)!

There is very little you can do without electronic experience, a service manual and the knowledge to understand what you are looking at.

If it uses hybrid final amplifiers you could desolder them to see if they are causing the problem but it could just as well be the pre-amp forcing the output stage to overload.
__________________
.


.
I'm not old!!
I'm age impaired

..
D_F


I DON'T PLAY GAMES

How to mark your thread as solved



HDD DIAG UTILS

TSF's Photographer's Corner


Submit New Articles Here

How to Use Ubuntu to Recover Windows files
Done_Fishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 09:08 AM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Done_Fishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brit living in Greece
Posts: 10,578
OS: WinME, WinXP Pro SP3, Win7(x64), Linux distros incl. Ubuntu 9.10 & Netbook Remix & CD2USB, Slax6.1

My System


I forgot to mention that if the final stage is transistor based there is a special method of adjusting the bias of the matched pairs of transistors. Depending upon whether they are MosFET or Bipolar the adjustment is to ensure a smooth changeover as the output voltage passes through zero volts. failure to make this adjustment IN THE CORRECT MANNER could cause the early demise of the output transistors.
__________________
.


.
I'm not old!!
I'm age impaired

..
D_F


I DON'T PLAY GAMES

How to mark your thread as solved



HDD DIAG UTILS

TSF's Photographer's Corner


Submit New Articles Here

How to Use Ubuntu to Recover Windows files
Done_Fishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 04:28 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
InLikeFlynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 8
OS: xp



Thanks for all your advice. I will look into trying some of these "technics".
__________________
InLikeFlynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 05:12 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
InLikeFlynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 8
OS: xp



Model of receiver is Technics SU-G86. I took off the casing and there was no problem with the fuse. The rest is all circuitry, etc. Not sure where to go from here...will try to get an estimate on fixing it elsewhere.
__________________
InLikeFlynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 03:54 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
OS: XP SP3



I'm having the same issue with that model, did you fix it or did you just buy another?
__________________
Kvlt Killection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 07:45 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
OS: vista



How did it work out for you guys?
I am having the same problems with Technics receiver since 2011.
Few days ago I purchased another, used unit, and ended up with the same problem.
The thing with Technics receivers is - the cooling design is terrible, no copper, no heat pipes, poor air flow, see it for yourself:
Technics Overload Error


__________________
user9998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts