Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Home Support > Electronics

Hacking my old Sony Speaker Help

This is a discussion on Hacking my old Sony Speaker Help within the Electronics forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have laptop here and I want to give my room a better sound distribution you know what I mean


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2009, 07:54 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
1337_807's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 26
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to 1337_807 Send a message via Yahoo to 1337_807

I have laptop here and I want to give my room a better sound distribution you know what I mean by that. Yeah I have 2 Sony speakers here you know the little speakers for surround. Well they aren't using the radio so I guess it's time to put those speakers in good use. So I bought 2 RCA jacks then solder the wires and sort of stuff then I purchased a 2 RCA to Stereo baby plug to connect to my laptops stereo jack. I thought it was a complete hackcessful but I can hear the sound when I place the speaker in my ears so hackilure. The speakers are both 8 impedance so I'm guessing that is 8ohms I'm not good at electronics even a perfect solder damn having a rough time. Took me 10mins just to solder the wires to the RCA's leg. So I'm guessing I need an amplifier to boost the juice out of my laptop going to the speakers. Well any advice at this point? thanks!!!

__________________
1337_807 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 09:01 PM   #2
Moderator Offline
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 11,677
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



Yes, they will not work. You need amplified ones. Does the old radio have a place like "Aux In" ? if so hook up the PC to the radio.

BG

__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 10:13 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
1337_807's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 26
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to 1337_807 Send a message via Yahoo to 1337_807

I see so I need an amplifier, I cant hack the radio coz it's too big. So I guess I need to buy an amplifier, Any suggestions? How much will it cost and the power that I need.
__________________
1337_807 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 02:36 AM   #4
Moderator hardware team
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 6,206
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Unless you can hack up an existing device, your best bet is probably one of any number of small electronic kits such as this 2 + 2 watt amp.

http://store.qkits.com/moreinfo.cfm/FK603

Depending on the power handling capability of the loudspeakers you have, you could go for a higher output.
__________________
gcavan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 03:01 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
1337_807's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 26
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to 1337_807 Send a message via Yahoo to 1337_807

7 dollars well I'm gonna visit my nearest electronic shop... and buy one of those. I hope they got assembled ones because soldering them would be messy. heheheheehehehehehe...

The reason why I'm doing this is because my laptops primary speakers are too weak. Hmmmmm the question, buy new pair of speakers hmmmmm perfect idea but I want to hack these speakers. hehehehehehe... question will that thing require like an external power what I mean is the source like DC and sort of stuff?
__________________
1337_807 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 07:20 AM   #6
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,862
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


I use one of these.
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/re.../dp/B0013CDZDI
Its very small and sits on a shelf.
It runs 2 speaker boxes with 10 inch woofers.
My neighbors love me.
__________________
pat mcgroin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 10:50 AM   #7
Moderator hardware team
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 6,206
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Quote:
7question will that thing require like an external power what I mean is the source like DC and sort of stuff?
Any 9 - 12 volt wall wart adapter rated at one amp or more would work.
__________________
gcavan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 01:05 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
1337_807's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 26
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to 1337_807 Send a message via Yahoo to 1337_807

I see 9 to 12v I haven't been to a local store here to check one of those. Jezuz! 48bucks.....
__________________
1337_807 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 11:42 PM   #9
Moderator hardware team
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 6,206
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Actually, for what it is, $48 isn't bad. They have a basic 15W x 2 for about $30.
__________________
gcavan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 03:52 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
1337_807's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 26
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to 1337_807 Send a message via Yahoo to 1337_807

Hmmmmmmm I purchased one of those $30 and it works fine now. Cool I have surrounds in my room now! Weeeeeeeeeeeeeee Thanks guys.... your the best!

__________________
1337_807 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts