Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Home Support > Electronics

Circuit breaker tripped, now tv won't turn on

This is a discussion on Circuit breaker tripped, now tv won't turn on within the Electronics forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I tripped a circuit breaker and reset it. Everything works fine except my tv will not turn on. It is


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2009, 02:47 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
OS: xp



I tripped a circuit breaker and reset it. Everything works fine except my tv will not turn on. It is an older 25' RCA. It was working fine before but now when i press the power button nothing happens.

*just checked a dvd player that was on the same circuit and it won't turn on either.

__________________
Jrm181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 06:19 PM   #2
Oh! What shall I be?
 
Snoopdogie187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,719
OS: Windows 7 Pro

My System


Hi, plug a light or something that you know works into where the tv is plugged into and see if that works.

This will tell all of us if it is the tv or not.

Snoopdogie187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 08:02 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
OS: xp



tried it, the outlets work fine.
__________________
Jrm181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 08:23 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
OS: xp



I just don't understand what could have happened. the tv was plugged into a surge protector along with a clock, a lamp, a dvd player, and a video game system and the tv is the only thing that isnt working anymore. My other dvd player that isn't working anymore was plugged into a different outlet on the same circuit along with another tv which is fine. I just don't get why it was so selective with what got zapped and what didn't. I'm assuming there is pretty much nothing i can do to fix them.
__________________
Jrm181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 06:00 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 3,306
OS: xp



Is there a reset button on the back of the TV? Did you try unplugging the TV for a few minutes and then plugging it back in? You might take the back off and see if there is a blown fuse.
__________________
bruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 11:20 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
OS: xp



i already tried unplugging and plugging back in, my next step is taking the back off and checking the fuse.
__________________
Jrm181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 12:26 PM   #7
Oh! What shall I be?
 
Snoopdogie187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,719
OS: Windows 7 Pro

My System


let us know how the fuse is when you get in. It may be as simple as that went when the power came back on, or right before it went off (depends why it went off).
Snoopdogie187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 04:01 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
OS: xp



fuse was fine
__________________
Jrm181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 07:15 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
OS: xp



Hi,
did you try checking the power supply of your TV, If you have a digital
/ analog tester, You can trace where the power is cut off, if there is
no output on the power supply itself it is possible that the diodes or
voltage regulators were opened, but you must have strong background to do
this otherwise you need to consult an authorized technician.
__________________
kittykitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 08:18 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
OS: xp



Thanks for the replys everyone, I ended up buying a new tv instead of trying to fix my old one.

__________________
Jrm181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts