Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Overclocking

Want to know the safe overclock speed.

This is a discussion on Want to know the safe overclock speed. within the Overclocking forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case MSI 870A-G54 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2010, 07:41 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 67
OS: Vista



Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

MSI 870A-G54 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

OCZ Fatal1ty OCZ550FTY 550W ATX12V v2.2 / EPS12V SLI Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL

AMD Phenom II X2 555 Black Edition Callisto 3.2GHz Socket AM3 80W Dual-Core Desktop Processor - C3 Revision Model HDZ555WFGMBOX

ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 92mm Fluid Dynamic CPU Cooler


I will be buying these along with a gaming card, hard drive and cd/dvd drive.
I was wondering if anyone has this particular chip and what is the safe OC for using this stuff. I don't want to get like max performance just a safe over clock to speed up my system.
Thanks in advance.
Also, if any of this stuff isn;t good enough for an overclock just let me know.

__________________
Acetaminophen is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 10:18 AM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
MonsterMiata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portsmouth, Ohio
Posts: 1,663
OS: Win7

My System


There is no such thing as a safe OC. Any Oc will shorten the lifespan of the chip. The question you should ask yourself is how far are you willing to go. Small Oc's are barely noticeable and not normally worth the trouble. Are you having trouble with it being slow?

I wouldn't recommend a 550w psu for OCing and a gpu though. Im not a big fan of the OCZ psu but it is at least 80+. You will still want something along the lines of a 650w or 750w depending on the gpu you install.

__________________
MonsterMiata is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 10:21 AM   #3
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,035
OS: Windows 7

My System


just to add to MonsterMiata's good advice. AMDs don't overclock that well.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 12:02 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 67
OS: Vista



Okay, then I will just toss out the OC idea. I didn't know if it would be worth while.
Since it appears it isn't I will just drop the idea, I am sure 3.2 Ghz is pretty fast anyway.
Should I opt to spend the extra money on more cores or is two cores just fine?
__________________
Acetaminophen is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 12:51 PM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,004
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Acetaminophen View Post
Okay, then I will just toss out the OC idea. I didn't know if it would be worth while.
Since it appears it isn't I will just drop the idea, I am sure 3.2 Ghz is pretty fast anyway.
Should I opt to spend the extra money on more cores or is two cores just fine?
My rule of thumb, if you want faster buy a faster CPU.
The number of cores depends on your main use for the PC. Generally, two cores are the better option for gaming and 4 Cores for multitasking or serious graphics work.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 06:39 PM   #6
Hardware Tech Team
 
MonsterMiata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portsmouth, Ohio
Posts: 1,663
OS: Win7

My System


I agree with tyree. You have one of amd's quickest dual cores. Shouldn't be much it can't handle. There is no game that will use the kind of power it will provide anyway. OCing is really only idea if your taking a cheaply built system and bringing it up to spec with the higher end hardware. Take my system in my sig for example.

__________________
MonsterMiata is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts