Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Game Installation Support

Manually uninstall Sims 3...

This is a discussion on Manually uninstall Sims 3... within the Game Installation Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Recently my Sims 3 has started having an error when I try to start it up. Since it did this


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-15-2010, 05:50 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 20
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Recently my Sims 3 has started having an error when I try to start it up. Since it did this for no apparent reason (it was working fine when I last played it and I haven't downloaded anything since then that might affect it) I figured it must be just a random glitch and tried to reinstall it, but after uninstalling it, it was still on my computer. I am trying to manually delete all the Sims 3 files, but when I tried to install it over again I find out it thinks the Sims 3 is still installed and I have to uninstall before I reinstall. Any directions on manually uninstalling?
Thanks

__________________
Monstre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 01:00 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Berlin
Posts: 464
OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to hasseli

You should scan your system with different scanners and stuff, look for them here:
http://www.techsupportforum.com/f27/

this might help too: first, uninstall Sims 3 (Control Panel -> Uninstall a Program), then remove the Sims 3 files from folder you have installed Sims 3 and then look for "Programs and Features" if it's still there.

__________________
hasseli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 11:29 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 20
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



When I try to uninstall from (control panel ---> unistall program), I get an error:
"An error [-5005: 0x80070002] has occured while running setup
Please make sure you have finished any previous setup and closed other applications.
If the error still occurs, please contact your vendor: Electronic Arts [http://www.TheSims3.com]"

Down at the bottom the options are: "Report", "Detail>>>", and "OK"
__________________
Monstre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 02:41 PM   #4
TSF-Enthusiast
 
Elvenleader3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 2,491
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1

My System


Download Revo Uninstaller from my signature below and uninstaller from there.
__________________
RevoUninstaller System Spec Everest DirectX 9.0c

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here
Elvenleader3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 09:20 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 20
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



I dunno if I'm not doing this right, but when I force uninstall of all programs related to sims 3 (except the electronic arts folder and my computer folder) it still won't take it off the "control panel--> uninstall program" list or the uninstall list in revo uninstaller; and when I try to install sims I get the error message saying that version X of the sims 3 is installed and I must uninstall that before I install version Y. Any ideas?
Thanks
__________________
Monstre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 12:32 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 20
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Any more idea on how to wipe Sims from my comp, before I reinstall Windows? I may have caused it to have that uninstalling error when I reset my comp to an earlier date, so I'm not sure much else can be done.
Thanks for any assistance
__________________
Monstre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 10:08 AM   #7
TSF - Enthusiast
 
bwolfje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 343
OS: vista ultimate x64 latests sp



Hi,

You can delete the whole sims 3 folder, then use Ccleaner http://www.piriform.com/ .

With ccleaner you`ll have to clean up the registry.

It will then remove all broken links to sims3.

After that you should be able to install it again.
__________________
will my computer run <insert game>?

*** problem solved? mark the thread as solved under thread tools, thank you***
bwolfje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 02:37 PM   #8
Moderator
-Articles Team
-Games Team
 
Redeye3323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norfolk, East Anglia, England, United Kingdom, Europe, Earth, Milky Way, Universe
Posts: 11,881
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 :D

My System


Bwolfje got it spot on, you have a problem because of broken registries (when you delete the files, the registry is left intact unless you know how to remove them yourself - not recommended).

Try the fix bwolfje suggested and reply back, if this doesn't work then I will be able to help you manually remove them as I have Sims 3 on this computer I am typing on now :D

Cheers,
Redeye
__________________

Games & Articles Team

Redeye3323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 09:28 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
OS: XP



Hi. I had the same problem as the original poster,and I tried getting rid of everything with the CCleaner, but it still says that the game is there, and I can't re-install because it says its already installed, except it's not. Please help! I really want to be able to play this game that I spent a good deal of money on. Thanks!
__________________
eyeloveyou9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 04:06 PM   #10
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,132
OS: Win7



Did you uninstall the game first?
Use Revouninstaller to remove the remaining bits and pieces?

Wrench97 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts