Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Home Support > Home Theater

streaming Netflix to analog TV

This is a discussion on streaming Netflix to analog TV within the Home Theater forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Guys, Hope I post in the right forum. Here is the scenario: I have an analog TV (non HDTV,


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2012, 06:45 PM   #1
hnQ
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 52
OS: XP



Hi Guys,
Hope I post in the right forum. Here is the scenario:
I have an analog TV (non HDTV, 32" Sony Triniton)
and an Uverse Internet and Netflix account.
I watch Netflix okay with my PC monitor.
Until I have enough money to buy a decent HDTV, I am tempting:
1) To buy a blueray player (which can stream Netflix) and
(I don't have to buy one when I get the HDTV in the future.)
2) Connect the blueray to my home network at one end,
3) and Connect the blueray to the analog TV in
another end using "HDMI to Component cable".

Please tell me if the Blueray will stream Netflix to my TV?
(I learned that it will stream to a HDTV)

(I also have a WDLive media player seems working with
Netflix via Play-on. I said "seems" because there are hiccups with
either Adobe Flash or SilverLight to make it to work, and I don't have
the brain to deal with it, but I say it here anyway, maybe
someone can help)

Much thanx

__________________
hnQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 05:26 AM   #2
Vetustior Humo
 
yustr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Soon to be Waterfront
Posts: 10,662
OS: Win 7 - PCLinuxOS



I can't say for sure because I have my B-R player hooked via HDMI but I don't see why it wouldn't (copyright protection being the obvious exxception).

I chose to go with a B-R player with streaming capability versus a TV with same as its more reasonable to get a new player than a new TV as things change.

__________________
"Climate Change is a moral issue because the rich world has disproportionately contributed to it and the poor world is disproportionately suffering," Church of England
yustr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 08:03 AM   #3
hnQ
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 52
OS: XP



I don't have electrical knowledge of digital/analog,
but simply hook a HDMI>>component cable did not
seem right to me unless there is something like
a converter exists inside the B-R for such condition,
which I have no idea.
__________________
hnQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 08:44 AM   #4
Vetustior Humo
 
yustr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Soon to be Waterfront
Posts: 10,662
OS: Win 7 - PCLinuxOS



Something like THIS might be what you're looking for.
__________________
"Climate Change is a moral issue because the rich world has disproportionately contributed to it and the poor world is disproportionately suffering," Church of England
yustr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 01:16 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 20
OS: win 7 x64



get a long S-video cable and hook it up your laptop to your TV? you wont get sound from your tv but you can set up external speakers however you like from your computer.

I watch netflix on my pico projector and use a VGA Cable connected to my iPad. The VGA cable does not xfr sound either but i just use an external USB speaker to get the sound i need.

Did a review of it previously when i got it on preorder but now its available at
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B005NDVWAG//ref=nosim/connorswebguidec
Review of the AAXA p4 pico projector versus 3mpro (comparison to come soon!)
__________________
poopooman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 04:27 PM   #6
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,202
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


If you use a Blu-Ray player, you will likely need to use a model with composite (yellow RCA) video output to connect the player to the TV. Most older TV's have composite video input.

While the an active HDMI>Component converter may work in some situations, I think it will cause problems with a Blu-Ray player. Specifically with the DRM protection scheme on the HDMI port. In any case, you would still get the same resolution (640x480).

__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Streaming from netflix audio and vidio out of synk.
When I am streaming vidieos form netflix my audio get ahead of my video. Is there a post about this or can someone help me with this issue? Thanks in advance.
jmcmullen2 Windows XP Support 7 11-27-2011 12:26 AM
video streaming issues
I have for the last four days been experiencing some extremely slow video streaming problems with all website involving flash (netflix, youtube, hulu, etc.). The video will play for about 2 minutes and then stop, then play again for 2 minutes, then stop. Buffering is extremely slow, even...
ece421 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 0 07-02-2011 06:33 PM
Missing video drivers
Right my friend was playing Sims 3 this morning and it said there was an update, so he updated and then everything just went weird, seems like the graphics card driver was uninstalled and he could play sims 3 before but after the update it said he couldn't. I tried to find the graphics card name...
Nekoh Driver Support 10 03-26-2011 04:44 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts