Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Home Support > Home Theater

How do connect my new TV to old receiver?

This is a discussion on How do connect my new TV to old receiver? within the Home Theater forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My TV has a digital coaxial and I want to connect it to my old receiver that has RCA input


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2012, 01:47 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 156
OS: Ubuntu 14.04



My TV has a digital coaxial and I want to connect it to my old receiver that has RCA input connections. It's a pioneer S201. the reason is my TV has terrible bass speakers. Just experimenting to make it a little better without spending much and learning in the process. I believe the stereo needs analog signal.Is the a cheap digital audio to analog audio converter.

__________________
Iallwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 08:03 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 156
OS: Ubuntu 14.04



any ideas yet. bump

__________________
Iallwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 05:16 AM   #3
TSF Team Emeritus, Design Team
 
v-six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cortland, NY
Posts: 2,254
OS: Snow Leopard, Win 7 64 bit



Iallwork, does your receiver have dedicated analog 5.1 inputs? Are you hoping to get discrete surround sound to the receiver, or just stereo?
__________________
mysql> --i-am-a-dummy
v-six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 06:51 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 156
OS: Ubuntu 14.04



just stereo. My receiver doesn't have 5.1. Just left and right.
__________________
Iallwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 10:07 AM   #5
TSF Team Emeritus, Design Team
 
v-six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cortland, NY
Posts: 2,254
OS: Snow Leopard, Win 7 64 bit



Are you sure there's no RCA stereo outputs on your TV? What's the brand and model number?

If you absolutely need to get from optical to analog, something like this would do: Amazon.com: Digital Audio To Analog Audio Converter: Electronics

Or you could put the money towards a new receiver ;)
__________________
mysql> --i-am-a-dummy
v-six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 10:27 AM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus, Design Team
 
v-six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cortland, NY
Posts: 2,254
OS: Snow Leopard, Win 7 64 bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by v-six View Post
If you absolutely need to get from optical to analog, something like this would do: Amazon.com: Digital Audio To Analog Audio Converter: Electronics
Yuck. After reading more about a lot of these converters, many of the cheap ones can't downmix 5.1 to stereo. If you used something like that with your TV for HD stations, you'd still get no audio unless you can force your tv to output stereo over the digital signal. I still have hope that your TV has an analog audio out!
__________________
mysql> --i-am-a-dummy
v-six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 01:52 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 156
OS: Ubuntu 14.04



The jack looks like RCA but it says coaxial audio and s-video, lots of RCA jacks but just input for those. My TV is a 46" element. It's not a name brand but we like it except for the bass has to be turned way down. So I'm looking for cheap solution for now till I can get some cash save up, plus I like to tinker. Thanks for the help by the way.
__________________
Iallwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 02:11 PM   #8
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 17,229
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

just looked at your manual and it looks like you do have rca ports - if its red, white and yellow give them a try.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 02:36 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 156
OS: Ubuntu 14.04



The row of 5 sets of RCA jacks are for component 1 & 2 . The row of 3 sets are AV 1 & 2 in. Wouldn't all of these be input? I need to move my stereo into the living room to do this and find my RCA cables to try it. Might by tomorrow before I try it.
__________________
Iallwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 05:06 PM   #10
TSF Team Emeritus, Design Team
 
v-six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cortland, NY
Posts: 2,254
OS: Snow Leopard, Win 7 64 bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by sobeit View Post
just looked at your manual and it looks like you do have rca ports - if its red, white and yellow give them a try.
It's hard to be sure if you've got the right manual unless they post a model number. There's more than one 46" Element TV. Also, for an audio output, it probably won't be paired with a yellow composite output, so we're looking for just red/white probably.
__________________
mysql> --i-am-a-dummy
v-six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 05:15 PM   #11
TSF Team Emeritus, Design Team
 
v-six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cortland, NY
Posts: 2,254
OS: Snow Leopard, Win 7 64 bit



I checked out a manual for a 46" Element TV that matched what you're describing. It didn't have an analog audio output (the coax output is digital). It does have a headphone output, however. The impedance on that may not be exactly what your receiver is expecting, but it's the only option without adding a digital-to-analog converter and it's close enough. You'd need a Y-adapter cable (1/8" stereo mini on one end (mini headphone plug), and stereo male RCA on the other. They're under $10 if you don't have one. You may have to tweak the volume on your TV and receiver to get the levels where you want them.
__________________
mysql> --i-am-a-dummy
v-six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 07:30 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 156
OS: Ubuntu 14.04



ELDFW464 I think this is the model #. I don't see any headphone jack. There is a place to plug in 3.5mm. But it is for the PC audio input, so I don't think that will work. Looking through the manual I think, now that I'm talking to you guys and trying to figure this out, that the only audio output is the coaxial. I've been looking up some surround sound systems and I was noticed that they have dvd players and am fm receivers and what not. Is there any that are just stripped down to just the digital decoder, (or what ever it is) and I would think it would have to have an amplifier of some sort. Or i suppose the digital to analog converter would be cheapest since I have some speakers and my stereo receiver. You can tell I don't know much about this yet.
__________________
Iallwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 10:30 PM   #13
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 17,229
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit
Quote:
Originally Posted by v-six

It's hard to be sure if you've got the right manual unless they post a model number. There's more than one 46" Element TV. Also, for an audio output, it probably won't be paired with a yellow composite output, so we're looking for just red/white probably.
Forgot about receiver part it
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 05:20 AM   #14
TSF Team Emeritus, Design Team
 
v-six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cortland, NY
Posts: 2,254
OS: Snow Leopard, Win 7 64 bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Iallwork View Post
ELDFW464
Ok that's what we needed. The person that designed your TV is a rat fink. You were correct in guessing there's no analog output. Actually, they were cheap; they saved a few bucks by leaving out a digital-to-analog audio converter.

You'll either need a converter box that goes from coaxial or optical to RCA, or you'll need a new receiver. If you're tight on money, look around for a converter with decent reviews and that won't break the bank.

If you can spend a few bucks, a budget home theater receiver can run as low as $150 (even for name-brand like yamaha or pioneer). I know you only need stereo (and not surround sound), but most budget stereo receivers don't include a digital input. If you want to do some shopping in that category, sign up for the email deals from newegg.com. You're likely to catch a budget receiver in there every few weeks. Amazon's prices fluctuate a lot, you may get lucky there as well. The prices at crutchfield.com may be a little higher, but they're a good company to do business with.

Hope this helps.
__________________
mysql> --i-am-a-dummy
v-six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 05:29 AM   #15
TSF Team Emeritus, Design Team
 
v-six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cortland, NY
Posts: 2,254
OS: Snow Leopard, Win 7 64 bit



Also, to be clear, if you want to get a coax-to-RCA box and keep using your receiver, you'll need a converter, not just an adapter.

The coaxial output on your TV is digital. You'd need a product that actually converts the digital signal to analog, not just an adapter that changes coax to RCA.
__________________
mysql> --i-am-a-dummy
v-six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 07:10 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 156
OS: Ubuntu 14.04



Looking at my manual the coaxial looks like the kind you screw in but it is actually has the RCA end. I realize that I will still need a converter though. I will do some pricing. Sometimes it's hard to tell if I am ordering the right stuff till I get it in in the mail and see it. So,I don't see any optical jacks, but shouldn't need them long as I get coaxial with the RCA ends( at least the end that goes in the TV). I will probably just look for a budget home theater receiver like you say. Or I might end up spending money on something that will sound just as bad. Thanks again for all the help. I will try the newegg thing. I will try to let you know what I end up doing.
__________________
Iallwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 07:15 AM   #17
TSF Team Emeritus, Design Team
 
v-six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cortland, NY
Posts: 2,254
OS: Snow Leopard, Win 7 64 bit



You're welcome, and good luck.

Yes, a digital coax will often have an RCA connector. If you end up looking at something and you're hesitant about if it's the right way to go, feel free to post that too.
__________________
mysql> --i-am-a-dummy
v-six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:39 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 156
OS: Ubuntu 14.04



Would something like this work
Sony STR DE697 7.1 Channel Digital Home Theater Surround Sound Receiver | eBay
__________________
Iallwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:42 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 156
OS: Ubuntu 14.04



I have to leave, so I may not make it back in time to get this one.
__________________
Iallwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 08:31 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 156
OS: Ubuntu 14.04



so what ever home theater receiver I purchase will have to have a coaxial audio input? The guy that designed this TV really was a rat fink!

__________________
Iallwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hi to all...
My name is Norm, I am retired, and very happy to have found this website. :whistling:
ormder Introductions 12 03-13-2012 05:16 AM
No local video on my monitor w/Wlive Messenger
I'm not able to get any local video on my monitor with WLive Messenger on my XP Pro PC with all updates. had no problems with Skype showing my local pix on my monitor. http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=105999&stc=1&d=1330897520 Can't orient my vid Cam without...
klxdrt Windows XP Support 7 03-09-2012 04:06 AM
How do I disable Opportunistic Locking manually in Windows 7?
Hello All, I finally got my database ACT 6.0 working on windows 7, and that computer has a database that a windows xp machine over the network accesses. Act 6.0 suggests I disable Opportunistic Locking, as I read at: Important Issues Concerning Sharing an ACT! Database Over a Network I...
gregwind Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 03-05-2012 04:47 AM
XP upgrade to 7
Hi Iam a new poster and I am a competent surfer but technically a novice. I have a Desktop E system E302 which I have recently added 1 GB extra memory via crucial. This works fine with the original XP which came with the computer. I have BT infinity. The problem I have is that I have tried...
SRF Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 4 03-04-2012 05:22 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts