Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Automotive Center > Small Engines

Homelite Weed Wacker stalling out

This is a discussion on Homelite Weed Wacker stalling out within the Small Engines forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I also have yet another problem, I have a Homelite trimmer, it will only run for a few seconds after


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-16-2011, 05:14 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
OS: xp



I also have yet another problem, I have a Homelite trimmer, it will only run for a few seconds after it starts.
To get it to start, after pulling the starter cord, I have to hold it in the extended position and leave it there for the engine to start. Where most people poull and let the rope retract right away, I have to not let it retract for it to start. Then once it starts once Ipull on the throttle it stalls.

I just changed the spark plug &the carb looks clean.

Any ideas as to what this could be?

Thanks for helping a dummy like me.

__________________
Kramer2995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 05:24 PM   #2
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
wolfen1086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rainey, Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 10,247
OS: Ubuntu 14.04



First is the spark plug the exact replacement and gapped properly? Second was it doing the misfire shake like Chevy Cars do nowdays?

__________________

Hampton Roads Virginia, I've been around the rock three times and this place was NOT on my top ten list of places to live
wolfen1086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 04:52 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
OS: xp



The spark plug is the same. I can double check the gap. As sfor the "shake' no runs fine for a sec then stalls out, like the gas has been used up.
__________________
Kramer2995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:47 PM   #4
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
wolfen1086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rainey, Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 10,247
OS: Ubuntu 14.04



Ok if the gap is the same start checking for a clog in the fuel line, I AM assuming you mixed the fuel and oil correctly. If the fuel line is ok it may be the diafram in the carb or something worn out in the electrical system. The same problem you describe is why I use Sthil
__________________

Hampton Roads Virginia, I've been around the rock three times and this place was NOT on my top ten list of places to live
wolfen1086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:52 PM   #5
Moderator Offline
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 11,811
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



If the fuel line is OK, carb needs to come apart and cleaned or rebuilt.

BG

__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts