Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Automotive Center > Small Engines

Craftsman lawn tractor won't turn over

This is a discussion on Craftsman lawn tractor won't turn over within the Small Engines forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all. I'm new to all this and came across this forum because i encountered a problem with my Craftman

Old 05-01-2012, 02:33 PM   #1
Registered Member

Hello all. I'm new to all this and came across this forum because i encountered a problem with my Craftman lawn tractor 18.0Hp Model: 917.27639 I had been mowing for an hour or so and then I disengaged the blade, increased my speed to 4 and was driving to the front of the house. The tractor was running fine until I increased the throttle and then the tractor just died. So I turned the key off, moved the stick back to neutral and tried to restart the engine. The engine would not fully start. The engine is cranking but won't fully turn over. I tried moving throttle both in fast, neutral and slow to try to get it to turn all the way but nothing :( I'm totally clueless when it comes to lawn tractors so I'm asking for any kind of advice. It would be so greatly appreciated. Like I said I haven't had any issues until I tried to increase throttle speed while traveling in 4th speed when it just stopped. I thought the engine was flooded so I waited 10min and then tried starting it up again and still it won't fully turn. I assume that the problem had to do with the throttle since that's the last thing I touched before it went out on me? Thanks for any advice in advance.

Old 08-14-2012, 09:04 AM   #2
Registered Member

Try loosen your fuel cap .sometime the vent get plug.letting no air in

Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with simple Java game