Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Automotive Center > Car Audio and Alarms

Viper Alarm, How do I turn it off?

This is a discussion on Viper Alarm, How do I turn it off? within the Car Audio and Alarms forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My car is fitted with a cat 1 viper alarm. Everything works well as it should except the alarm go's


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-26-2009, 03:57 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
OS: windows vista



My car is fitted with a cat 1 viper alarm. Everything works well as it should except the alarm go's off after a period of time, normally during the night. I cant find the instruction manual and the dealer it came from two and a half years ago seem to have disappeared.

Car electrics are not my strong point so i just need to switch the alarm off, my car (VW Passat 2lt 16 valve GT) has keyless entry so I need the alarm to operate the central locking

__________________
mocco7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 08:03 AM   #2
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
jaggerwild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mississippi by way of NY
Posts: 1,659
OS: Windows 7 U 64bit

My System


We need the model number off it?
Also find the owners manual in my signature for viper, I never heard of a "CAT1" good luck!

__________________
Please, if you need help, start a new thread!
A Link for Viper alarm owners
http://www.viper.com/
A link to Car/Truck information(WIRES)
http://www.the12volt.com/
jaggerwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 09:25 AM   #3
Automotive Team
 
lcurle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 1,114
OS: Xp Pro SP3



clip the siren....
__________________
Lee - 12 Volt Guru

"Any advice given on this forum is intended for helping and assisting the end user with their issue at hand. Personal safety is important when working on any vehicle."
lcurle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 11:28 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
OS: windows vista



Thanks for the reply I will have a look for the model number.

Have noticed of late my central locking pump is getting noisier and running on after Ive unlocked the car for a few seconds. Found a leak in the system this afternoon and temporary sealed it and the pump is no longer noisy and working like it should. Is it possible if the central locking was leaking the pump was trying to cut causing the alarm to go off?

When you say clip the siren dose that mean joining the two wires together?
__________________
mocco7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 08:19 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 5,187
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



Nope - Lee means that just find the siren and cut the wires going to it. Then when the alarm goes off, you won't know anyways, so you don't have to worry about it.
__________________
I subscribe to all threads I post in. But, if in case I don't or I forget, and I don't post back within 24 hours, please PM me. I will get back to your thread ASAP.
Coolfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 09:47 PM   #6
Automotive Team
 
lcurle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 1,114
OS: Xp Pro SP3



yes a leak could cause the alarm to go off.
__________________
Lee - 12 Volt Guru

"Any advice given on this forum is intended for helping and assisting the end user with their issue at hand. Personal safety is important when working on any vehicle."
lcurle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 01:29 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
OS: windows vista



The good news is that since repairing the leak yesterday the alarm has not gone off. Think the alarm I have is a 640 and the way to turn the alarm off is with the valet button and turning the ignition on and off.

Many thanks for any help this is a very useful site
__________________
mocco7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 05:00 PM   #8
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
jaggerwild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mississippi by way of NY
Posts: 1,659
OS: Windows 7 U 64bit

My System


Yeah,
The valet button is usually the button on the antenna(top of windsheild). Not all vipers, but most late models.

__________________
Please, if you need help, start a new thread!
A Link for Viper alarm owners
http://www.viper.com/
A link to Car/Truck information(WIRES)
http://www.the12volt.com/
jaggerwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts