Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Automotive Center > Car Audio and Alarms

Really weird Viper 5901 remote start issue. Help!

This is a discussion on Really weird Viper 5901 remote start issue. Help! within the Car Audio and Alarms forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I just got my 5901 installed today, and I love it. But there's some weirdness I just can't figure


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-16-2009, 11:31 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
OS: Mac OS X



So I just got my 5901 installed today, and I love it. But there's some weirdness I just can't figure out! This is in a 2008 Subaru Impreza STI.

Everything works fine except the remote start, which ALMOST works. I find that it starts the car with no issue when the car is in neutral. However, it's using it to remove the key from the ignition and leave the car running which is causing a bit of grief.

Here's what I mean:

I come to a stop at my parking space, put the car in neutral (handbrake up of course!). I hit the remote start button on the remote. I then remove the key, open the door, get out, close the door. All doors are closed at this point with the engine running. Then, if I turn off the engine with the remote (BEFORE locking the doors,) and THEN lock the doors, the car beeps an extra time and my remote tells me a door is still open. This happens every single time. However, if I lock the doors BEFORE turning the engine off with the remote, I don't get the beep, but the doors try to lock themselves again after the engine turns off. That seems really weird to me. I keep thinking the doors are unlocking themselves, but I checked and it's the locks trying to re-engage after they were already locked.

Anyone have any idea what's going on here?

Thanks for any help you can offer!

__________________
WilliamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 07:12 AM   #2
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
jaggerwild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mississippi by way of NY
Posts: 1,645
OS: Windows 7 U 64bit

My System


Hey William,
I get what your saying but not sure why you have an issue? In other words why would you use the pit stop feature to get out of the car only to shut it down after words?
The remote start will auto lock the doors after shutting down(timing out), only fix I can see is take it back to the place that did the work tell them your problem, and let them have the car for a few days. This makes fixing it easier on them, so they can take there time with it.
The remote start will never leave the auto in an "door unlocked mode" unless you do so with the buttons. Even if the doors are unlocked while running by remote, the car can not be taken(but I understand you want the doors locked) to keep personal items safe. The starter will auto shut down when it times out(most default around ten minutes) some longer.
So, if your using the remote in pit stop mode (you stop by the store) you exit the car, hit door lock (my interpretation) this all works fine? But, if you then shut the car off by remote, and hit door lock after wards you get a door open false report back by remote. Again the remote start will auto lock the doors after shut down, even if they are locked to begin with.

__________________
Please, if you need help, start a new thread!
A Link for Viper alarm owners http://www.directed.com/Support/Prod...es/Owners.aspx
A link to Car/Truck information(WIRES)
http://www.the12volt.com/
A link to adapters(late Model Cars)
http://ifar.ca/en/
jaggerwild is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 11:01 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
OS: Mac OS X



Thanks for the reply. I've now set up the turbo timer functionality, so I enable that in the car, pull the key (engine still runs), get out, lock doors, and after 1 minute the car turns off, but it still attempts to lock the doors for the second time. Trying to figure out if that's normal or not.... It doesn't attempt to lock the doors if I leave them unlocked when I enable the turbo timer (i.e. if I pull the key out and just wait for 1 minute). Why does it try to lock the doors again after I lock them, but not if I don't lock them?!
__________________
WilliamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 03:46 PM   #4
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
jaggerwild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mississippi by way of NY
Posts: 1,645
OS: Windows 7 U 64bit

My System


That maybe an option that can be changed in the options menu, there is a link to the owners manual in my signature for you if you'd like one online.
__________________
Please, if you need help, start a new thread!
A Link for Viper alarm owners http://www.directed.com/Support/Prod...es/Owners.aspx
A link to Car/Truck information(WIRES)
http://www.the12volt.com/
A link to adapters(late Model Cars)
http://ifar.ca/en/
jaggerwild is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 06:24 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
OS: Mac OS X



I'm not seeing anything, but thanks for the link...
__________________
WilliamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 06:29 AM   #6
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
jaggerwild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mississippi by way of NY
Posts: 1,645
OS: Windows 7 U 64bit

My System


http://www.directed.com/Support/Prod...es/Owners.aspx

Just click on 5901 english
__________________
Please, if you need help, start a new thread!
A Link for Viper alarm owners http://www.directed.com/Support/Prod...es/Owners.aspx
A link to Car/Truck information(WIRES)
http://www.the12volt.com/
A link to adapters(late Model Cars)
http://ifar.ca/en/
jaggerwild is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 10:46 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
OS: Mac OS X



LOL.... No I mean I didn't say anything in the manual. :)
__________________
WilliamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 08:15 AM   #8
Automotive Team
 
lcurle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 1,114
OS: Xp Pro SP3



umm......do you have a key in the ignition? you should. That way when you get to your destination you turn the car off with the key from the ignition, not the remote start.
__________________
Lee - 12 Volt Guru

"Any advice given on this forum is intended for helping and assisting the end user with their issue at hand. Personal safety is important when working on any vehicle."
lcurle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 10:26 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
OS: Mac OS X



Quote:
Originally Posted by lcurle View Post
umm......do you have a key in the ignition? you should. That way when you get to your destination you turn the car off with the key from the ignition, not the remote start.
I don't follow you. I'm using the turbo timer function, and I get out, lock the doors, and then when the car shuts off - it tries to re-lock the doors again. Trying to find out if that's normal, that's all. :)
__________________
WilliamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 08:45 PM   #10
Automotive Team
 
lcurle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 1,114
OS: Xp Pro SP3



ohh yes that is becuase YOU locked the doors then the remote start thinks it HAS to lock the doors. Thats all.
__________________
Lee - 12 Volt Guru

"Any advice given on this forum is intended for helping and assisting the end user with their issue at hand. Personal safety is important when working on any vehicle."
lcurle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 10:26 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
OS: Mac OS X



I don't really follow your logic. Why does the remote think it has to do that after I did it already?!
__________________
WilliamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 11:44 AM   #12
Automotive Team
 
lcurle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 1,114
OS: Xp Pro SP3



If the alarm is programmed to lock your doors after 5 minutes, then it will regardless of if you have locked them already
__________________
Lee - 12 Volt Guru

"Any advice given on this forum is intended for helping and assisting the end user with their issue at hand. Personal safety is important when working on any vehicle."
lcurle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 01:20 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
OS: Mac OS X



Ok, then why doesn't the alarm lock the car if I DON'T lock it myself. If I use the turbo timer function, it doesn't lock the car after the car shuts off. If I use the turbo timer AND lock the car while the car is running, the car tries to lock itself again when the engine shuts off.

So again, I still don't follow your logic.

Thanks for the replies, though. :)
__________________
WilliamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 03:25 PM   #14
Automotive Team
 
lcurle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 1,114
OS: Xp Pro SP3



Im not sure then, is it really a huge problem that the car locks itself twice?
__________________
Lee - 12 Volt Guru

"Any advice given on this forum is intended for helping and assisting the end user with their issue at hand. Personal safety is important when working on any vehicle."
lcurle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 05:45 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
OS: Mac OS X



Quote:
Originally Posted by lcurle View Post
Im not sure then, is it really a huge problem that the car locks itself twice?
I just wanted to eliminate unnecessary wear and tear on my locks, and I also wanted to know if it's normal. Nobody seems to know... :(
__________________
WilliamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 11:08 PM   #16
Automotive Team
 
lcurle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newton, Kansas
Posts: 1,114
OS: Xp Pro SP3



I have seen alot of DEI remote start and alarms do this, something in the factory integration, I figured it was standard from DEI.
__________________
Lee - 12 Volt Guru

"Any advice given on this forum is intended for helping and assisting the end user with their issue at hand. Personal safety is important when working on any vehicle."
lcurle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 11:53 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
OS: Mac OS X



Fair enough. Thanks again for the constant replies. I'll let it be. :)
__________________
WilliamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 05:20 PM   #18
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
jaggerwild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mississippi by way of NY
Posts: 1,645
OS: Windows 7 U 64bit

My System


IF you want , you could try turning off the auto lock feature(in the options menu) as this seems to be the source of the problem. Then see if it continues to happen.
But as Lee said it could be a conflict with the factory locks that is causing the issue to begin with.
__________________
Please, if you need help, start a new thread!
A Link for Viper alarm owners http://www.directed.com/Support/Prod...es/Owners.aspx
A link to Car/Truck information(WIRES)
http://www.the12volt.com/
A link to adapters(late Model Cars)
http://ifar.ca/en/
jaggerwild is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 07:13 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
OS: Mac OS X



Quote:
Originally Posted by jaggerwild View Post
IF you want , you could try turning off the auto lock feature(in the options menu) as this seems to be the source of the problem. Then see if it continues to happen.
But as Lee said it could be a conflict with the factory locks that is causing the issue to begin with.
I don't have the manual for the 5901 anymore. Apparently the installer is supposed to keep it, so he did...
__________________
WilliamG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 06:45 AM   #20
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
jaggerwild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mississippi by way of NY
Posts: 1,645
OS: Windows 7 U 64bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
I don't have the manual for the 5901 anymore. Apparently the installer is supposed to keep it, so he did...
Installer keeps the install manual, not the owners manual.

http://www.directed.com/Support/ProductGuides/Owners.aspx


__________________
Please, if you need help, start a new thread!
A Link for Viper alarm owners http://www.directed.com/Support/Prod...es/Owners.aspx
A link to Car/Truck information(WIRES)
http://www.the12volt.com/
A link to adapters(late Model Cars)
http://ifar.ca/en/
jaggerwild is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts