Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Building

Building a Desktop for £600 - £700 what parts should I use?

This is a discussion on Building a Desktop for £600 - £700 what parts should I use? within the Building forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Okay I am a bit new to this. I am just looking to build a desktop that can run games


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-09-2012, 06:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Vista SP1



Okay I am a bit new to this. I am just looking to build a desktop that can run games like Aion, World of Warcraft, Skyrim and Fallout 4 when it comes out (I know you can't tell me what I would need for this game but I am guessing pretty much the same as skyrim)

This is what I had in mind.

CPU - AMD FX-6100 Six core @ 3.3Ghz
MoBo - ??? any ideas?
Graphics card - ATI Radeon 6770-6870
PSU - xxxW Corsair
RAM - Corsair Vengeance 2x4Gb

No need for Monitor, Keyboard or Mouse.

also will need Windows 7 64bit home edition...

Need suggestions on other things like

Cases
Fans
Heatsinks
Cooling

everything like that. This is going to be from scratch so I need everything.

Oh and would really like you guys to specify which areas I focus more money into and also some suggestions and links would be sweet!!!!!

__________________
JoeRowland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 07:01 PM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,359
OS: XP Pro-7



That comes to $1000 to $1100 US.
Look over our suggested build for ideas and use any site you prefer to use to compose the build. All of our builds use top quality known compatible components: Want to Build a New Intel or AMD System / Revised 2012 and updated regularly

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 07:09 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Vista SP1



I don't have access to new egg =''''''''''( any suggestions on other sites that have similar prices?
__________________
JoeRowland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 08:30 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Vista SP1


Confused

Graphics Card - XFX ATI Radeon HD 6870 2048MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card £154.99

PSU - Corsair Memory TX750 V2 750W ATX Enthusiast Series £79.99

CPU - AMD FX-4100 AM3+ 3.6GHz 12MB 95W £89.99

Case - Antec 900 Nine Hundred Ultimate Gamer Case (Black) £82.99

MoBo - Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 DDR3 ATX £109.99

CPU Cooler - Corsair Air Series A50 Performance CPU Cooler £21.99

Hard Drive - Western Digital 500GB Caviar Blue 7200RPM 16MB SATA 6Gb/s £69.99

RAM - Corsair 8GB (2x4GB) Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600MHz DIMM 240-pin CL9 LP £35.99

Optical Drive - ??? What should I buy?

I used the stickied post about Builds to find the sites.

I just wanted to know if I needed to buy any Cables or wires with this stuff, would it all fit into that case and is it compatible?

The price ends up being at £650.92 Without a few things like Cables, Optical Drive or Operating system.

Thanks Tyree btw! how do I delete my old Post?
__________________
JoeRowland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 08:31 PM   #5
Moderator hardware team
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 6,206
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


In the UK try:

Ebuyer.com
dabs.com
Scan.co.uk
__________________
gcavan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 08:45 PM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,359
OS: XP Pro-7



I use LG & Asus optical drives.
That Mobo comes with two SATA cables.
Go with Windows 7 for the OS. The OEM version will be the most economical and is fully functional.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 08:54 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Vista SP1



Ahhhh you merged them =) TY so if I get the optical drives and the OS. What other cables would I need? Would this pc run a game like BF3 maybe not on ultra or anything but say High/Mid?
__________________
JoeRowland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 08:55 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Vista SP1



I used Dabs.com had good stock and delivery prices thanks!
__________________
JoeRowland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 09:26 PM   #9
Hardware Tech
 
toothman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,079
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

My System


You should expect great framerates on high+ in BF3 and Skyrim with that combination. The system should be able to run any game on at least high until gaming graphics go up another bump when the new Xbox comes out. Top games are designed firstmost to be playable on xbox/ps3, which limits a lot of designers from what they could do if they were only concerned for PC performance. Skyrim, for example, merged legs and chest armor into one piece not because they felt it improved gameplay, but because fewer pieces of armor on each actor used up fewer resources. So your build should play any game great for at least a couple years (my guess).

Makes me wonder how much better Skyrim would have been if it was designed for more than two cores...
__________________
toothman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 09:51 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Vista SP1



Is the Corsair 750W PSU good enough? I just don't wanna spend all my time saving up and buying parts for it to just fry after an hour lol.
__________________
JoeRowland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 10:02 PM   #11
Hardware Tech
 
toothman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,079
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

My System


Oh yea. A good 650w would do. But 750w will leave you futureproof headroom, so your list is fine.
__________________
toothman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 02:41 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Vista SP1



Okay so been looking around and not only does Dabs.com seem to have the best prices it has most things in stock and I have reviewed my build and went a little over budget but I don't mind here is what I have in my Basket could you let me know if all that is compatible and if I need any extra Cables or Wires or other little things like screws etc... because this is my first PC I have ever built I don't wanna muck it up. How do I make these linked like the first one? I'll post a link to my basket and hope that it shows what is there.

Graphics Card - XFX ATI Radeon HD 6870 2048MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card

RAM - Corsair 8GB (2x4GB) Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600MHz DIMM 240-pin CL9 LP

Case - XIGMATEK Asgard Chassis

MoBo - Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 DDR3 ATX

CPU - AMD FX-6200 AM3+ 3.8GHz 14MB 125W

CPU Cooler - Corsair Air Series A50 Performance CPU Cooler

Fan - Akasa 12cm Crystal Blue frame & rotor w/ 4 Blue LED Fan x3

Optical Drive - Sony 24x DVD-RW SATA Black Bare Internal Drive

OS - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium OEM 64-bit 1pk

Cables - CablesToGo 1m 180° To 90° 7 pin Serial ATA (SATA) Cable

Anti Static Wristband

PSU - OCZ Technology ZS Series 750W 80+ Bronze Power Supply

All this came to £727.20Not including Delivery.

Will this all fit together?

Is there anything I am missing?

Thanks!

Laptops, Computers, PC Components, MP3 players, Software, Digital Cameras and more - dabs.com
__________________
JoeRowland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 03:29 AM   #13
Hardware Tech
 
toothman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,079
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

My System


Switching PSU brand to OCZ is not a good idea. The Corsair model you listed above was much better quality.

If your concern is only gaming and basic multitasking, a quad-core AMD CPU will give you identical performance. Either of the following is a better choice for your budget:
AMD FX-4100 AM3+ 3.6GHz 12MB 95W (FD4100WMGUSBX) - dabs.com
AMD Phenom II X4 960T 3.0GHz 8MB 95W Black Edition (HD96ZTWFGRBOX) - dabs.com

The 960T is better for gaming, so at only $3 more it's probably your best option.

Your motherboard is nice but I think you can get away with buying a cheaper one that will still do everything you need.
Asus M5A97 AM3+ AMD 970 DDR3 ATX (M5A97) - dabs.com
This board should be fine.

Everything else looks fine to me. I like how you've already picked out a rear fan. I would prefer a case that already has front and back preinstalled, but the selection of budget cases is pretty limited on that website. Your list with my recommended changes looks solid to me, but I would still wait for more feedback from the other posters.
__________________
toothman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 03:38 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Vista SP1



Hm the processor I will change but the MoBo I want for upgrading reasons in the future, I will also switch back to the corsair PSU Was kinda pushing it heard OCZ were decent but wasn't 100% thanks again!
__________________
JoeRowland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 05:56 AM   #15
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,359
OS: XP Pro-7



Definitely stay with the Corsair PSU.
What do you plan to upgrade that yo need the higher priced Gigabyte Mobo?
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 09:05 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Vista SP1



I am actually not sure but I will be buying this computer part by part starting monday it will take me around 1-2 months to have everything I want and I just didn't wanna buy a MoBo that was in a few years going to be too outdated I have even considered going with the Sabretooth but you guys know best and I trust your judgement better than mine so which CPU and Motherboard should I get remember I will be getting the 2gig XFX Radeon 6870 HD graphics card and I don't want my cpu and mobo to get in the way if I decide to Upgrade that.
__________________
JoeRowland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 09:11 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Vista SP1



One more thing. If you guys had the same amount I have £750 Maximum for a build what would you buy? Just so I can see other peoples more experienced minds at work on this. I am very grateful for all the help by the way =)
__________________
JoeRowland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 09:13 AM   #18
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,359
OS: XP Pro-7



The more economical Mobo will in no way interfere with any upgrades.
Suggestion- there is commonly a 30 day return policy for any components that does not work so I would wait until you get all the funding to purchase all the components at one time. Past that period you would be required to go to the products manufacturer with any problems.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 11:47 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Vista SP1



Is the 560ti Graphics card is better than the radeon hd 6870? I am going to post my final build soon and thanks for your help would have bought the wrong system the difference in price is only like £25 between the AMD and Intel systems I have been juggling between.
__________________
JoeRowland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 12:32 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 13
OS: Vista SP1



New Build Intel System

Case: XIGMATEK Asgard Chassis

Fans: Arctic Cooling Arctic F12 120mm Case Fan x3 of these.

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K 3.30GHz LGA1155 6MB

Motherboard: Asus P8Z68-V/GEN3 S1155 Intel Z68 DDR3 ATX

Graphics Card: Asus GeForce GTX 560Ti 830MHz 1GB PCI-Express HDMI

RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz CL9 XMP

PSU: Corsair Memory 700W Gaming Series GS700 High Performance PSU

CPU Cooler: Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 Pro CPU Cooler

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit

Optical Drive: Sony 24x DVD-RW SATA Black Bare Internal Drive

HDD: Unsure right now 500Gb Minimum

Total Price £820ish with HDD willing to change parts if it would make a big difference in performance.

Just wondering if there are any changes to parts I could make for a small increase or decrease in price to optimize this machine e.g drop the mother board to a lower grade and upgrade my Graphics card also will the motherboard selected support dual 560ti in the future if I need to upgrade?

AMD Build

Case: XIGMATEK Asgard Chassis

Fans: Arctic Cooling Arctic F12 120mm Case Fan x3 of these.

CPU: AMD FX-6200 AM3+ 3.8GHz 14MB 125W

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 DDR3 ATX

Graphics Card: XFX ATI Radeon HD 6870 2048MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card

RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz CL9 XMP

PSU: Corsair Memory 700W Gaming Series GS700 High Performance PSU

CPU Cooler: Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 Pro CPU Cooler

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit

Optical Drive: Sony 24x DVD-RW SATA Black Bare Internal Drive

HDD: Unsure right now a 500Gb minimum

Total Price £720ish

Oh and can this machine Hold Dual 6870s?

I know that price says that the Intel core is better but is it £100 better? This is where I get confused. I hope Someone helps soon thanks for this. I know I have been picky but I just wanna get this right since £800 to me is a LOT of money and will take me around 2 months to save.

__________________
JoeRowland is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building My First Desktop (600$)
Hey guys, this is going to be my first ever attempt at building a computer so any advice or feedback is greatly appreciated. My budget is 600$ CA. Ideally I would like to be able to run Starcraft II along with other multimedia software such as the Adobe Suite with ease. I quickly browsed...
brown Building 69 07-15-2011 12:31 AM
Building New System, Parts Compatible?
After reviewing the recommended system builds in the sticky thread, I decided I would prefer to make my own build. I surfed newegg and found all the parts I liked after reading reviews and such. I wanted to know if you think this would be a good system to play all the new PC games on and if the...
billy111 Building 2 06-02-2011 10:44 AM
Help at building my own desktop
I looked up laptop specs for the money, and the best 'gaming' laptop I could find was the Qosmio x505 line (the one I wanted was $1,600, which was $800 more than I can afford). So I decided to build my own computer (or, pay the local computer guy to do it, depending on his rates). So, I'm...
Invision1994 Building 11 02-01-2011 01:29 PM
[SOLVED] First-timer! Building a Desktop Gaming PC~
Hi! I found this site and thought that, "Hey, this looks like an awesome, affordable build for me!", and then proceeded to find all the parts listed. I did change a few parts here and there, so this is what I came up with: Motherboard: ASUS M4A87TD/USB3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 AMD...
Nyri Ashka Building 3 01-29-2011 05:14 AM
Building First Desktop
I am looking at building my first desktop and am using the thread - "Want to Build a New Intel or AMD System / Revised 2010 and updated regularly" as a guide. I am going to use this desktop as a media center to be hooked to my big screen LCD to play movies and music. I will also want to do...
FrankFooter Building 53 01-09-2011 10:02 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts