Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Building

Budget Gaming PC.

This is a discussion on Budget Gaming PC. within the Building forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Also, last time it turned on, it actually started when i switched to "-" on the psu. Green light on


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-01-2011, 01:44 AM   #21
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
OS: Vista, Service Pack 2



Also, last time it turned on, it actually started when i switched to "-" on the psu.

Green light on motherboard is on.

__________________
amorales559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 06:13 AM   #22
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,330
OS: XP Pro-7



Did you use one standoff (no more-no less) for every mounting hole in the Mobo?
Please list all the parts you used. Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 01:05 PM   #23
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
OS: Vista, Service Pack 2



Actually, one of the stand offs that are suppost to stay attached to the case so the screws can screw into something wont actually stay in the case, if other screws are removed, it will come out with the motherboard? Is this the problem?

I just don't want to send the case back if its the power supply, every item will probably take close to two weeks for me to get a replacement.

Just took it apart, and put everything together again with out the screw and standoff in the spot that wont stay attached to case and got no power up.

MOBO - ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 LE B3 Intel P67 Motherboard - ATX, Socket H2 (LGA 1155), Intel P67 Express, 2200MHz DDR3 (O.C.), Gigabit LAN, 8-Channel Audio, SATA 6.0 Gb/s, SuperSpeed USB 3.0, AMD CrossFireX Support at TigerDirect.com

CPU-
Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80623I52500K
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115072

RAM -
Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model 996782
Newegg.com - Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model 996782

GPU -
GIGABYTE GV-N560OC-1GI GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GV-N560OC-1GI GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

PSU -
CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply

__________________
amorales559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 01:47 PM   #24
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
OS: Vista, Service Pack 2



Ok.

I benched tested and nothing.
Well looking at the power supply, i noticed it has white foam in it. Like literally, it looks liked someone dropped toothpased in it. I don't understand, and i cant find anything on it online either. I'm calling corsair technical to figure out "what the hell"..
__________________
amorales559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 02:04 PM   #25
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
OS: Vista, Service Pack 2



Ok called, guy sounded surprised about the white gew, but further research says it could be normal/glue.

Used a paper clip to test to see if a fan would turn on with the psu, and it worked.

That means its the board?
Calling Asus technical, and been on hold for awhile...
__________________
amorales559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 02:28 PM   #26
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
OS: Vista, Service Pack 2



Called Asus Technical.
"John" said he thinks mobo is dead. or "dead dead" as he said.. O.o

currently on the phone for a return from tiger direct listening to "love story" by Talor Swift for hold music.................
__________________
amorales559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 02:47 PM   #27
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
OS: Vista, Service Pack 2



Lots of replies...

Their sending a new one Monday for me, free 2day shipping. That's good.

One last thing, about the stand off in the case, what should i do? Replace the case or something? The board is very secure without the one standoff being attached, but if it can cause a problem or be the root of my other board failing, i need to know lol.

Thanks for the help again,
I'll post when i receive the new mobo.
__________________
amorales559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 03:41 PM   #28
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,330
OS: XP Pro-7



My sympathies on the Mobo problem and having to listen to Taylor Swift.
Are the threads for the Mobo standoff in the case stripped in that one hole?
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 06:35 PM   #29
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
OS: Vista, Service Pack 2



not striped exaclty.. u can screw in the stand off but wont tighten as much as its supposed to and will just keep spinning if you try.. so when it comes to screwing in the screws with the mobo the screw after a certain point will just keep spinning as well.. though it does hold it in place even if it does leave room between the standoff and the screw top
__________________
amorales559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 07:10 PM   #30
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,330
OS: XP Pro-7



I would use the standoff and put a screw in it. It will offer support for the Mobo.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$1800 (tax included) budget gaming rig set-up, need some heads up
Hello everyone! I'm about to purchase a new gaming rig for some of the upcoming PC games. I have a budget of $1800, and I want to maximize the performance of the rig I can get for the price. Here's my build right now, I still need some heads up for some of the components however. I have a...
Frank2368 Building 20 02-23-2011 03:44 PM
Ultra Low Budget Gaming Laptop
So, I am purchasing a laptop and I have a budget of $400 (I could go a bit higher than that though), and I was wondering: what should I be looking at if I want the best gaming experience. I know that a notebook of this caliber won't be able to tackle most modern games, but I'm sure I could play...
monjebleu Laptop Support 2 02-14-2011 04:38 PM
Budget gaming PC
Hello there, been looking at building a Budget gaming PC for a month now and about to make the splash, I have so far been going with an overclocked i3 bundle to do this but not to sure about it due to the retailer not wanting to give out any information whatsoever on how it is overclocked (I was...
Einholt Building 10 01-19-2011 10:12 PM
Is this a good budget gaming computer build?
Well I am looking to buy a budget gaming computer. At first i thought about building it on my own but i came across this thinking it might be cheaper to buy this and easier. also i am kind of scared of screwing things up when i build a computer because i haven't built one in years. this is from...
gavinwkc Building 6 01-07-2011 01:38 AM
Mid-Low Budget Gaming PC Help
Hey, I've been planning to get a new computer for a while, and finally decided to get around to it. So basically I'm trying to make a decent gaming computer with around a $400 budget, give or take like 50. Right now I only really play World of Warcraft, but that's mainly just because my current...
Flipppppyyy Building 6 01-01-2011 03:14 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts