Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

windows flashes blue screen then restarts after boot with loading bar

This is a discussion on windows flashes blue screen then restarts after boot with loading bar within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. okay so my moms computer is having some issues (vista). i go through the boot and when it gets to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-19-2011, 06:33 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
OS: windows vista ultimate



okay so my moms computer is having some issues (vista). i go through the boot and when it gets to the windows loading screen you know with the little bar going across. it goes across 4 times and a half times. the bar then stops and the computer flashes the blue screen REALLY FAST then shuts off right away. i put her hard drive in my computer and it worked fine. im wondering if this could be some kind of hardware issue.. the computer is evga mobo and some gts graphics card with 4 gigs ram. i cant remember the exact model numbers been a few years. but i cant seem to think of what the problem is other than some kind of hardware issue. anyone have any suggestions i can try? i have tried safe mode and it just restarts right away. i dont think its a software issue because the hard drive works on my computer loaded fine and everything. i eventually used a camera had to film the screen and it was saying something about make sure software is installed properly and if any new hard ware do a update. didnt see any error codes. like the screen litterally flasshes in half a second very hard to see. im a little puzzled here. any suggestions or guesses would be great thanks in advance.

__________________
otterpops is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 09:38 PM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Try the steps below
-Restart the PC and repeatedly press F8 during boot
-Once you get to the Advance Option menu select Disable automatic restart on system failure

Hopefully this will allow you to see the entire BSOD error message and post back here

Try running the Vista Startup Repair

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 07-20-2011, 01:38 AM   #3
Moderator hardware team
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,799
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Are you saying you can mount this drive in another computer and boot from it successfully?

Is this hard drive and Windows installation original to the problem computer?
__________________
gcavan is online now  
Old 07-20-2011, 02:30 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
OS: windows vista ultimate



thanks makinu1der2 i will try that out tomorrow moring hopefully i can get some kind of error message.

and for gcavan yes i can mount the said hard drive into another computer and boot properly. and it is also the same hard drive for the problem computer worked fine just the other day.

its very puzzling i will inform you guys how it works out tomorrow
__________________
otterpops is offline  
Old 07-20-2011, 01:02 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
OS: windows vista ultimate


okay i get a stop 0x000000ED (0xFFFFFA8004609060, 0xFFFFFFFFC0000010, 0x0000000000000000, Cx0000000000000000)

it also says above the error codes above. disable bios memory options such as caching or shadowing. not sure what that is

gonna to some google searches on the codes myself now

i found another forum with someone who had a similar problem he took out his floppy and it worked.. but i dont even have a floppy installed on the problem computer. could this be a possible problem with it? ill see if i can disable it in the cmos or something.. brb

hmm no luck..

trying the windows repair with the cd gonna take a while.

okay so it says unmountable boot volume or whatever but the repair didnt do anything..
__________________
otterpops is offline  
Old 07-20-2011, 07:39 PM   #6
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


-Boot to the Vista DVD
-Choose repair your computer and select Command Prompt
-Once at the command prompt type chkdsk /r

I would also suggest running the manufacturer diagnostics on the hard drive

Hard Drive Utilities
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 07-22-2011, 09:32 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
OS: windows vista ultimate



it says it cannot disk check the volume because it is write protected! how do i proceed?
__________________
otterpops is offline  
Old 07-22-2011, 05:23 PM   #8
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 15,907
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Sounds like you ran the disc from within Windows. Did you boot from disc (ie: restart the computer and boot from disc, do not boot into Windows first)?
__________________

Google is your Friend!
Dogg is offline  
Old 07-28-2012, 05:24 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Win7



Quote:
Originally Posted by makinu1der2 View Post
Try the steps below
-Restart the PC and repeatedly press F8 during boot
-Once you get to the Advance Option menu select Disable automatic restart on system failure

Hopefully this will allow you to see the entire BSOD error message and post back here

Try running the Vista Startup Repair
I have the same problem, . . if i do the "chkdsk/r" will i lose my files?
__________________
chanperson is offline  
Old 07-28-2012, 06:30 AM   #10
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


@chanperson
It might be best if you start a new thread with your problem.
Please include as much information as possible with the system specs and any steps already taken.

chkdsk /r should not cause you to loose any files.

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trojan/Spyware infected! [Antimalware Doctor] Please help!
Hello, I got a dell inspiron laptop that is infected with spyware, and hopefully someone can help me fix this. The problem is I got a fake spyware software installed on my machine, and it's called Antimalware Doctor. It will pop up a window and prompt me to remove spyware that it detected. ...
goukoy Resolved HJT Threads 8 07-07-2011 08:14 AM
virus has taken over
Ok, last week I got a virus that disabled my internet and most programs. I was able to get to mbam in safe mode and change the extension to get it to run. That gave me control of the machine again, but there are lingering issues. The machine runs slower. I have the google re-direct virus. The...
Mundy84 Resolved HJT Threads 25 07-01-2011 07:12 PM
Google Redirect
Hi everyone! Last week my computer had bluescreened and it had the Critical Disk Error virus which I was able to remove using rkill & Malware, but now it seems that I am having the Google Redirect problem. Not sure if these two are related, but wanted to include that in there in case it was. ...
irenekau Resolved HJT Threads 1 06-14-2011 01:06 PM
new issues with an old XP machine. Is it a virus McAfee can't find and clean?
For the past 2 months something is not right with our home computer, and I don’t know what. I run McAfee, but the scan does not seem to run, takes days to finish and sometimes only says 1200 files scanned with no virus detected. When I run task manager says CPU usage is 100%. IE hangs up or...
tony_g Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 20 05-26-2011 08:01 AM
After closing previous thread my problems continue
Hi there. After lots of great help from CatByte all the memory I had lost was returned and it looked like my problems were solved. However I've noticed that the memory I got back has been going down at the same rate as before (see link to thread below). It also takes a long time to shut down with...
Oberjeen Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-19-2011 03:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts