Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

When I scroll with the mouse wheel, the web page keeps jumping back and forth.

This is a discussion on When I scroll with the mouse wheel, the web page keeps jumping back and forth. within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a very basic mouse and it's developed an annoying problem. Whenever I am scrolling down a webpage with


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-28-2009, 03:53 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: LONDON
Posts: 85
OS: Windows 7 Pro Service pack 1



I have a very basic mouse and it's developed an annoying problem. Whenever I am scrolling down a webpage with the mouse wheel, the page jumps backwards, to the previous page, or sometimes forwards.

I was filling in a form online earlier and I lost all the data I had entered becuse of this. Very annoying!

Help much appreciated.

Cheers,

Neillh

__________________
neillh is offline  
Old 04-28-2009, 02:50 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



Is your mouse optical or ball-trap?

__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 04-28-2009, 02:52 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: LONDON
Posts: 85
OS: Windows 7 Pro Service pack 1



It's an optical mouse. The problem has only developed recently.
__________________
neillh is offline  
Old 04-28-2009, 03:14 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



Do you have happen to have a laptop with a mouse pad, because I remember a while back I had the same problem and later found out my wrist was touching the mouse pad the same time I was using mouse, interfering and causing trouble for me!

You could try, TouchFreeze[1], of course that's for typing, but it might work. Got nothing to lose, now do we?

[1] http://download-free.programas-grati...h-Freeze-1.0.2
__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 04-28-2009, 04:15 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: LONDON
Posts: 85
OS: Windows 7 Pro Service pack 1



Hi,

Thanks for the reply, actually I have a desktop. Should I still try TouchFreeze?
__________________
neillh is offline  
Old 04-28-2009, 04:22 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



No, TouchFreeze is for typing related matters, I just read their FAQs.

What happens when you leave the mouse perfectly still?
__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 04-28-2009, 04:36 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: LONDON
Posts: 85
OS: Windows 7 Pro Service pack 1



Not sure, it seems to be just when i scroll.
__________________
neillh is offline  
Old 04-28-2009, 06:30 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



Dang, too bad I didn't have a video.

Have you blown into the bottom of the mouse or cleaned it lately, because sometimes that could affect it.
__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 01:36 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: LONDON
Posts: 85
OS: Windows 7 Pro Service pack 1



Yes I gave it and the keyboard a through clean the other day.
__________________
neillh is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 01:59 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



Yeah, "keyboard" - what about the mouse? Or was that a typo?
__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 05:38 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: LONDON
Posts: 85
OS: Windows 7 Pro Service pack 1



Oh sorry, yes I cleaned the mouse the other day, just wiped it with a duster.
__________________
neillh is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 05:42 AM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



I know that some versions of FF and even Google Chrome have a bug where when you have "smooth scrolling" check or anything else where it's located at (so any of the other general options) will causes errors or what you're experiencing.

Do you by chance have any mouse shortcuts setup?
__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 06:07 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: LONDON
Posts: 85
OS: Windows 7 Pro Service pack 1



How do I check about the mouse shortcuts?
__________________
neillh is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 06:14 AM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



This is how you check for smooth scrolling



As for mouse gentures, that was only for Opera, and other Browsers. I'm not sure if FF has those.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled.JPG
Views:	6591
Size:	41.2 KB
ID:	48486  
__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 06:16 AM   #15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



I'd just go ahead and un-check all of the following:

* Use Auto scrolling
* Use Smooth scrolling
__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 06:26 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: LONDON
Posts: 85
OS: Windows 7 Pro Service pack 1


Ah, of course, I have unchecked them both and see how that goes. Thanks!

I have to go out but I will see if the problem persists later. If not i'll mark the thread as solved!
__________________
neillh is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 06:33 AM   #17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



Okay, Thank you.

Have a good one.
__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 10:51 AM   #18
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



if it is still a problem reinstall your mouse drivers
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 02:29 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: LONDON
Posts: 85
OS: Windows 7 Pro Service pack 1



Hmmm still happening. This is such a cheapo ,usb mouse I have, no brand name. I don't remeber having to install any drivers. Just plugged it in. Could that be the problem?
__________________
neillh is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 02:35 AM   #20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



Yes, drivers are needed. If you give me the full name of the mouse and your computer I'll try and pick you a driver up from Google.

__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts