Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

VGA to HDMI converter not working

This is a discussion on VGA to HDMI converter not working within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm trying to connect my laptop to my television via a VGA to HDMI converter, but for whatever reason, I'm


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-20-2012, 07:11 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



I'm trying to connect my laptop to my television via a VGA to HDMI converter, but for whatever reason, I'm not getting any picture.

All the parts are hooked up correctly.

The screen resolution is set to one that the manual said is accepted.

I switched the input on the TV to HDMI, and I tried all the other options as well.

I hit the external video key and tried both "duplicate display" and "extended display" and neither did anything.

Does anyone know what the problem could be?

__________________
EdmondDantes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 10:00 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 25,813
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Hi and Welcome to TSF!

What converter are you currently using? What is the HDMI pluging into and what are you pluing the VGA into?

__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 03:58 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Hi and Welcome to TSF!

What converter are you currently using? What is the HDMI pluging into and what are you pluing the VGA into?
Thank you.

Here is the converter: For only $27.34 each when QTY 50+ purchased - VGA to HDMI® Converter | VGA to HDMI Converters

And the HDMI is plugged into the converter and the HDMI slot on my TV. On my TV, there are three slots. One on the side and two in the back. It's plugged into the side one, but I've also tried the other two as well, and when I checked to see if it was working, I tried changing the TV to all three HDMI inputs as well as all the other ones like Video, Component, etc..

The VGA cable is plugged into the converter and the laptop. I should mention that while the converter has two screws for the VGA cable, the laptop does not. It has an outlet that it is able to be plugged into, but nothing for the screws.
__________________
EdmondDantes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 04:39 PM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



Have you tried using a VGA to HDMI adapter to insure everything else is working properly? I've never tried a converter but I have doubts that the quality will be any better than using an adapter.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 04:45 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



An VGA to HDMI adapter? You're talking about a separate product, right? If so, no, I haven't.
__________________
EdmondDantes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 04:49 PM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



Correct and most any PC shop or possible a box store should carry it:
Attached Images
 
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 06:12 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



I'd rather not spend another 30 something dollars on another product.
__________________
EdmondDantes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 07:26 PM   #8
Microsoft MVP
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 25,813
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


They are not really $30.

In fact here is one for $4. Gold HDTV HDMI to VGA HD15 Adapter Cable 6ft 1.8M- eForCity-Computers & Electronics-Power & Cables-Cables
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 12:00 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



Turns out the converter wasn't compatible with my television. I returned it and got a refund, and now I'm thinking of getting another one, but I need some help making sure I get the right one this time. I hope no one minds me resurrecting this thread.

Anyway, someone mentioned a VGA to HDMI adapter. If I decide to get one of these, is there any way that I can be sure that it will be compatible with my TV? By the way, mny TV Sylvania LC320SLX, and my laptop is a Compaq Presario CQ57.

I kept the HDMI cable in case I want to get another converter. The guy from Monoprice's tech support recommended this USB to HDMI converter: For only $38.92 each when QTY 50+ purchased - USB 2.0 to HDMI® Display Adapter w/ Audio (1920 x 1080) | USB to Video Converters

Do you think this would be a better bet? I'd rather not spend so much money if I don't have to.
__________________
EdmondDantes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 10:12 AM   #10
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



I would just use an adapter. I have serious doubts a converter is going to improve picture quality.
A VGA to HDMI adapter will work if your TV has a HDMI input.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 11:39 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



So it will work on any TV with HDMI output? Are you sure?
__________________
EdmondDantes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 12:00 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



Sorry, but I just want to be clear because the last person who suggested the converter said that would be work, too, and I don't really know anything about what would cause it to work and not to work, so I just want to be sure.
__________________
EdmondDantes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 02:09 PM   #13
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,599
OS: XP Pro-7



If the output device (PC/laptop) has a VGA output and your TV has a HDMI input the VGA to HDMI cable should give you video on the TV.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 03:28 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



One thing, though: the VGA output on my laptop doesn't have the two little slots that you screw in, only the thing in the middle. This won't cause any problems, right?
__________________
EdmondDantes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 05:18 PM   #15
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,444
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


VGA is analog. DVI/HDMI are digital.

A simple VGA to HDMI cable will not work for most video chipsets as they don't/can't output a digital signal over the VGA port.

And no, the screws are only there to hold the connector in place. They have nothing to do with the signal.
__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 06:33 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogg View Post
VGA is analog. DVI/HDMI are digital.

A simple VGA to HDMI cable will not work for most video chipsets as they don't/can't output a digital signal over the VGA port.
So I will need the converter?

What would you recommend? I'd like to get something a little cheaper than the converter I linked to, but I don't know what I should be looking for to insure that it works this time. I listed the model of my TV and laptop a couple posts above.
__________________
EdmondDantes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 05:51 PM   #17
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,444
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


I would say yes. As for a recommendation, I've not used any. Any brand name model should be fine. Or check with monoprice (I assume that is the link you posted above?), their hardware is generally low in price and good quality. You could also verify with them if it will work in your configuration before you buy it.
__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 05:16 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



A couple final questions...

1. If I want to use USB rather than VGA, do I need a USB to HDMI converter, or will a USB to HDMI adapter also be acceptable?

2. I posted the link to the converter the guy from Monoprice recommended. Is there any reason that that one would work but another somewhat cheaper version wouldn't? That's probably a stupid question, but as I said, I don't know exactly what the source of the incompatibility was, so I'm kind of in the dark as far as what I need to be looking for specifically.
__________________
EdmondDantes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 08:38 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7



Anyone?
__________________
EdmondDantes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 05:45 PM   #20
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,444
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


1. You will need a USB "video card", not an adapter cable.

2. Any converter of the same type will work. Just buy from a reputable retailer.

__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI to VGA conversion
Bit of background for you... I'm setting up a home cinema system and have a receiver which manages my video and audio, I also have a projector (an acer x110 if you're interested) that has VGA, S-Video and Coaxial inputs. Audio wise i'm fine, my problem comes with getting the video signal to...
Cest Moi Home Theater 5 11-01-2011 05:41 AM
tv to computer/ hdmi to vga
im trying to connect my hp pavilion a310n to my sharp aquos with a hdmi to vga cable. what do i need to get it to work. intel is my video card type
hutch88 Video Card Support 1 03-15-2011 11:51 PM
HDMI not working on XBOX 360
Hey guys, I'm using a 250G Final Fantasy Elite console that was bought just before the new system came out. The AV cable works fine however I have been trying to get the HDMI to work. I connect the cable to the xbox and tv, switch the console on by pressing the controller button, however...
TomOutram Console Gaming Support 1 03-09-2011 01:27 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts