Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

USB works in Linux, not in Windows

This is a discussion on USB works in Linux, not in Windows within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-05-2011, 10:54 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: B.C.
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Hi!,
I really hope someone out there can help me.
first of all I’d like to apologies for the millionth thread about this, however none of the other ones seem to work like this...

The story goes like this, my friend *yes actually my friend, not me, was using his Dell inspiron 6400 windows XP and he disconnected his usb microphone, after that NO USB device was recognized. We tried all the suggestions from this forum and many others including:

1. Disabling and enabling all usb devices from device manager.
2. Removing the battery, and quickly unplugging the computer.
3. Removing the CMOS battery, and draining power
4. Using the dell built in system restore partition
5. Editing the registry

none of these worked, so we decided to move on and install windows 7 (clean), windows 7 booted up/installed perfectly, no problems....

but the USB didn't work, so we tried the applicable above methods again, to no avail!!
Finally i installed Ubuntu 10.10 as a dual boot and the USB's worked fine (in Ubuntu), i also tried a live Knoppix disk that was also able to read and write to the USB.... leaving me confused!

I am not a computer tech, but i understand the basics, if you would like me to add any information i would be happy to do so.

__________________
kingbrizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 05:20 PM   #2
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,439
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Did you perform a fresh install or use an "upgrade" version of Win7 to install over XP? Based on your description, I'd say you upgraded. So you basically just moved the problem from XP into Win7. Try uninstalling all of the USB controllers in Device Manager and reboot. Windows will reinstall the drivers during bootup.

Also check Device Manager for any devices with yellow ! those devices require drivers.

__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 06:04 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: B.C.
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Hey, thanks for the reply.
as i stated in my post, it was a clean install. Formatted HDD, in fact there is no upgrade path from xp to 7.. or at least directly.

I’ve also deleted and reinstalled the drivers as you suggested, and there are no yellow !'s in the device driver.

one thing i've noticed, it seems as if it actually times out?, if that makes sense. when i have knoppix running, or even Ubuntu on the laptop it actually takes a while for the drive to be recognized, but then it works fine... i wonder if there is some way to change that?


one thing i've noticed, it seems as if it actually times out?, if that makes sense. when i have knoppix running, or even ubuntu on the laptop it actually takes a while for the drive to be recognised, but then it works fine... i wonder if there is some way to change that?
__________________
kingbrizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 08:31 PM   #4
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,439
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Yes, there is: Microsoft Store Online - Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade Family Pack - Buy from Microsoft Store

And I have the same version. You can't install "fresh" as it won't proceed unless it can verify XP is installed.

In any case, I was just verifying "clean".

What type of USB device are you connecting? Have you tried more than one device? Have you tried other USB ports? If you are using front panel ports, try rear panel ports (or vice versa).
__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 11:48 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: B.C.
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Sorry about the upgrade, i was under the impression you could not directly upgrade xp to 7, without use of a migration cable, or using vista as a stepping stone.. doesnt matter for now! lol, but, windows 7 was installed fresh from CD formatting the current OS.

Alright, Ive attempted to connect 4 flash drives, from 32gb to 256mb, and 1 external non powered 250gb as well as a powered 2tb external and an iPhone. same error on each.

all of these were tested on all usb ports on the laptop.
the laptop also has an IEEE 1394/Firewire port, however i dont have anything that can connect to it, do you think it would be worth the time of finding something to connect to it?
__________________
kingbrizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 06:51 PM   #6
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,439
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


I didn't realize it was a laptop, not that it matters much.

Firewire is irrelevant. In any case, what is the error?
__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 09:35 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: B.C.
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium





This is the error message that plagues me! lol.
i also tried the microsoft "fix it" tool, it did nothing, additionally I ran the Dell system diagnosis utility, but it also found nothing wrong.
__________________
kingbrizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 09:51 PM   #8
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,439
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


The fact that it is recognizing hardware is attached, enforces the fact that the USB ports are working. The fact that Windows doesn't know what the hardware is, would seem to indicate an OS issue. Windows should get the hardware id from the hardware, and then check a "database" to see what the hardware is, and then install drivers.

Aside from a fresh OS install, I'm not sure how to go about fixing it. If System Restore is working, you can go back to a date before the trouble began. Aside from that, Repair or fresh install.

Maybe someone in the Windows board will know a fix.
__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 09:55 PM   #9
a bit alien
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Babylon 5, Epsilon Eridani
Posts: 17,366
OS: win7pro/win10/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

my first thought since it is an older computer is it is not compatible with win7. dell dont even have win7 drivers for the system.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 10:05 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: B.C.
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



as i stated in my original post, the operating system is a fresh install, from a formatted hard disk, there is no restore point.
not compatible with windows 7 might make more sense tho it is beyond the win 7 min specs, however this is the error we got with XP as well on the same computer. however, i will not stop! haha, i will install XP again, i think i even have a copy of 2000 laying around here somewhere!

thanks for your help so far, let me know if there is any information you need, or if you have any other ideas! thanks
__________________
kingbrizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 10:20 PM   #11
a bit alien
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Babylon 5, Epsilon Eridani
Posts: 17,366
OS: win7pro/win10/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingbrizzle View Post
as i stated in my original post, the operating system is a fresh install, from a formatted hard disk, there is no restore point.
not compatible with windows 7 might make more sense tho it is beyond the win 7 min specs, however this is the error we got with XP as well on the same computer. however, i will not stop! haha, i will install XP again, i think i even have a copy of 2000 laying around here somewhere!

thanks for your help so far, let me know if there is any information you need, or if you have any other ideas! thanks
when you reinstalled xp the first time did you go to dell and get their drivers or did you only use the generic ones from xp? You need to use those from dell. sometimes there are minor differences in oem hardware where you must use the chipset drivers and others from the computer manufacturer.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 10:59 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: B.C.
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



The XP reinstall was from the Dell factory settings partition. CTRL + F11 ect, i would think this would install all the Dell specific drivers. however i did NOT use any specific dell drivers for the win 7 install.
__________________
kingbrizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 11:08 PM   #13
a bit alien
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Babylon 5, Epsilon Eridani
Posts: 17,366
OS: win7pro/win10/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingbrizzle View Post
The XP reinstall was from the Dell factory settings partition. CTRL + F11 ect, i would think this would install all the Dell specific drivers. however i did NOT use any specific dell drivers for the win 7 install.
true, unless there were updates based on the service packs - if you updated the service packs

anyway it was a longshot...
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 12:11 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: B.C.
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Sobeit, any help is awesome!, seriously i am STUMPED! i noticed you have ubuntu 10.10, do you have any idea why those drivers would work? are they just more robust?... is there a way to use those drivers (doubtful)

__________________
kingbrizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pop-ups all the time, sound shutting off, general slowness, etc.
Hello all. Having a few issues with my computer - sound works half the time (a pop-up reading "no active mixer devices installed" shows up when I try to adjust the volume control,) pop-ups for Registry Defender and "Work from Home" ads appear every five or so minutes, Whitesmoke translator...
rulonjeffs Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 21 05-27-2011 09:32 AM
New browser tabs opening and directing to attack sites.
Hi there, I'm not sure how I did this, but I've infected my computer with trojans / malware. I ran updated and ran both AVG and then Malwarebytes and they each found and succesfully cleaned some trojan infections. But they didn't fix everything. When I google something and click on a link, I...
malleusmalefic Inactive Malware Help Topics 10 03-19-2011 05:38 AM
[SOLVED] Yet Another Antivira Av Virus :(
so I've gotten this virus Antivira Av that will pop up and say that I'm under attack... obviously fake. right now I'm in safe mode as i can't open anything other than the internet without Antivira closing it out. I couldn't find a save button for the Gmer log, so if necessary i can run it again...
chuckles3 Resolved HJT Threads 22 03-05-2011 11:39 PM
virus ends all programs, help please
Hello there, the other day whilst not really paying attention I allowed a fishy program to bypass my firewall, and it basically just shuts down any prgrm I open, and opens some fake virus software stuff. Anyways help please, I don't want to buy a new computer yet :grin:
redphase Inactive Malware Help Topics 8 02-25-2011 12:14 PM
BSOD using Verifier.exe... - New Build [moved from Vista/ Windows 7]
Attempted to track down a suspected faulty driver using verifier.exe resulted in multiple BSOD, although only one mini-dump file was successfully written, of the Nvidia system driver nvlddmkm.sys. I was able to deduce this as I had checked each file one by one until BSOD's occurred. However,...
CycloneJoe67 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 02-10-2011 01:01 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:35 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts