Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

stupid monitor problem

This is a discussion on stupid monitor problem within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I recently formatted my hard drive and went from using xp to installing windows 2000... my problem is that

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-03-2007, 02:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
OS: win 2000

Hi, I recently formatted my hard drive and went from using xp to installing windows 2000... my problem is that my screen is shifted horizontally to the left, so the first half of the start menu button etc is cut off. Where most people would press buttons on their monitor to alter the X and Y position of the screen.. I dont have those buttons. just contrast and brightness (and ive messed around with those to no end). I realised that the screen is more centered (but not perfect) in the resolutions below and above 800x600... but when i use 800x600 it's terrible but i wanna use that res. I know that sounds picky but the way i see it is, its a stupid problem, there must be an answer, so theres no reason why one should settle for it being so bad is there?

Anyway, hope someone can help

Temper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 02:57 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,578
OS: xp Pro


It would help to know the monitor model number ?

There is normally some way of adjusting them, some hide the buttons behind a panel, others tuck them under the front so you can't see them, some use a single button to go into the menu and another to exit, and toggling with them gets to different features etc, I suspect some may be adjusted via software, but couldn't swear to it, but it wouldn't surprise me, but if people know your model number they may be able to offer more specific advice, hope this helps a bit.

8210GUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 06:06 AM   #3
Moderator Hardware Team
koala's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 25,879
OS: Win7-64, Ubuntu

My System

Also, what graphics card and driver version are you using?

Disable Social Media Buttons: adblockplus.org/en/features#socialmedia
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 06:37 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,001
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm

don't you have a menu button on the monitor,it may be underneath on the front
you should be able to centre it from the settings in the properties setup of the video card
dai is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Post a Question

» Site Navigation
 > FAQ

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:07 PM.

Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts