Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

[SOLVED] Problems with playing COD4 Single Player

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Problems with playing COD4 Single Player within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok, I have a TSST CDDVDW TS-H653N DVD+/-RW: LightScribe SuperWritemaster SpeedPlus+ and I installed COD4 on my computer. It reads


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-01-2010, 08:34 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
JKDMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jacksonville, Florida USA
Posts: 117
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium


Send a message via Skype™ to JKDMind

Ok, I have a TSST CDDVDW TS-H653N DVD+/-RW: LightScribe SuperWritemaster SpeedPlus+ and I installed COD4 on my computer. It reads the cd fine and installs fine. I can play multiplayer fine as well, since it doesn't require the cd. It can read dvd's fine and watch movie's fine, But when I try to play COD4 Single Player, which requires the cd. It tells me Cannot Locate the DVD-ROM. Please insert the correct DVD-ROM, select OK and restart application. The COD4 CD is brand new, so there are no scratches. Can anyone help me fix this?

Very confusing that it can read the COD4 CD and install it fine, but when it comes to reading the CD for single player. It fails?

__________________
JKDMind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 12:48 PM   #2
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,230
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Assuming it is an actual commercial CD, check to see if there are any updates or patches available. Other than that it sounds like a copied disc. Copied discs won't verify as authentic and result in the problem you are describing.

__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 01:15 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
JKDMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jacksonville, Florida USA
Posts: 117
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium


Send a message via Skype™ to JKDMind

Yeah that's the exact same thing I was thinking in regard to copied discs. If it is a copied disc it looks very original to the Tee, especially the cd cover, it looks like the original Call of Duty 4 cd. I've checked for patches, but the only one I can find is the 1.7 Multiplayer patch, which I have already installed on my system. I will try to look to see if there are any other patches in regard to single player. Thanks for the help so far.
__________________
JKDMind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 05:54 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
JKDMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jacksonville, Florida USA
Posts: 117
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium


Send a message via Skype™ to JKDMind

But that's if infinity ward gave me a copied cd lol. I have the box. booklet. cd key, and original cd. I do have Nero 7 Essentials however. Is there a while I can disable nero without uninstalling it, so I can play my game?
__________________
JKDMind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 01:25 PM   #5
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,230
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


I wouldn't expect Nero to make any difference. Check Task Manager and see if Nero has a process running, if so, simply highlight and press "End Process".
__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 02:29 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
JKDMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jacksonville, Florida USA
Posts: 117
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium


Send a message via Skype™ to JKDMind

It didn't work even after uninstalling Nero, or even ending the process before I uninstalled it. No matter what I do, it can't read single player off the disc. My DVD-Rom can do anything I want, except with concerning COD4 Single Player. I check everything. I can't update my drivers etc, but I have the latest and it is no longer supported with later firmware/drivers. So I can watch movies, burn, the whole 9 yards. But when it comes to this game. For some reason. It won't work. It's very strange. I have the box, manual. everything is legit. So I don't understand why it won't work. Maybe I just got a faulty disc that works with everything except for single player load. Either way, by now I have loss all interest in playing single player. I guess my only option is to buy an other game, or get a more recent DVD burner drive. *sigh*
__________________
JKDMind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 01:05 PM   #7
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,230
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Contact the manufacturer, they may exchange your disc for a new one.
__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 02:32 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
JKDMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jacksonville, Florida USA
Posts: 117
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium


Send a message via Skype™ to JKDMind

Sorry to bump this super duper old thread, but I guess the firmware sucked on my old dvd burner, and now it works fine on my new LG CD/DVD Burner(CD1 : Model = GH24LS50, Version = YP02.

__________________
JKDMind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts