Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

[SOLVED] Monitor and Computer not communicating

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Monitor and Computer not communicating within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all, ive been putting together an old computer i had sometime ago. Everything was working fine as far, i


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-09-2011, 09:40 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Vista



Hi all, ive been putting together an old computer i had sometime ago. Everything was working fine as far, i installed xp on the computer and all. Now all of a sudden The monitor doesn't respond to the fact that the computer has been turned on. It knows its plugged into the computer because it reacts differently when it is unplugged. I turn on the computer and it sounds like it's running perfectly, just no response from the monitor.

I can provide any additional information needed for someone out there to help me, i just don't know what you would need now. Please help me, im completely confused.

Thanks in advance!

__________________
pbrodber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:30 AM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,325
OS: XP Pro-7



PC Specs?
PreBuilt--Brand name & Model Number
Custom Build--Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU.

Try another monitor or try your monitor on another PC to pin point the problem.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 08:05 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Vista



Well the mother board is a PC-Chips M925U or LU. I honestly havent made much changes to the hardware.

The monitor works fine with my laptop but just not with the pc
__________________
pbrodber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 09:44 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what are you running
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
model
wattage
check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 07:15 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Vista



thanks for the help. i havent had much time to pay attention to it. buti did just use another motherboard and it works fine. so im assuming the motherboard went bad.

thanks anyway

__________________
pbrodber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts