Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

[SOLVED] Help With Recording using Audacity and Irig Mic?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Help With Recording using Audacity and Irig Mic? within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I've just bought an Irig microphone, but as I've been reading the instructions, the only thing it explains is


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-11-2011, 11:15 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
OS: windows vista/windows 7 starter (I have two)



Hi, I've just bought an Irig microphone, but as I've been reading the instructions, the only thing it explains is about using it on Apple products, of which I only have an Ipod Touch. I am in the process of recording songs and I have all the instrument parts ready on Audacity, and I only need to add the vocals. I have no idea how to go about using this mic on a microsoft based computer, I will be ordering a microphone preamp in a few days, so I need to know is it necessary, and if I need any additional equipment and if so, could you tell me. Much appreciated.

__________________
AthenaMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 07:26 PM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,452
OS: Win7-64

My System


Hi, welcome to TSF

I haven't used Audacity for a couple of years, but I don't think it's changed too much since then. Plug the microphone into the Mic port at the back of the computer, then set the recording source in Audacity to Mic. Do a quick test run by pressing the Record button and monitoring the sound levels before recording the track.

If the connector is for Apple products only and not compatible with standard mic sockets (PC or preamp), you'll need an adapter or a new mic.

__________________
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 04:25 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
OS: windows vista/windows 7 starter (I have two)



Thanks, I've got the mic in the computer. How do you you change the recording settings to mic? I've tried to click on the dropdown where the internet says thats where you change the settings to mic, but nothing drops down and its a paler colour, as if to suggest I cant do it. What do I do?
__________________
AthenaMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 04:41 AM   #4
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,452
OS: Win7-64

My System


The paler colour is where the option is 'greyed out' or disabled. Go to Start > Control Panel > Sound and make sure the mic is selected as the default device for sound recording. If the mic is not listed as an option, did it come with a driver CD or any software, and have you installed it?

Also, go to the Audio I/O section in Audacity's Preferences and make sure the mic is selected as the recording device.
__________________
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 04:48 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
OS: windows vista/windows 7 starter (I have two)



Where's Audacity's Preferences?
__________________
AthenaMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 04:51 AM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,452
OS: Win7-64

My System


I haven't got it installed at the moment and haven't used it for a while, but it should be under Edit>Preferences at the top left of the window.

See here for more details - Setting Audacity Preferences
__________________
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 05:02 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
OS: windows vista/windows 7 starter (I have two)



Right I've done that, I put it to Recording
Device: Microphone/Line In (IDT High
Channels: 1 (Mono)

Not sure how to select default device in the Control Panel though?

Thank you for all your help x
__________________
AthenaMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 05:23 AM   #8
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,452
OS: Win7-64

My System


Now you've selected Device:Mic in Preferences, is the dropdown that you mentioned in post#3 still greyed out?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AthenaMusic
Not sure how to select default device in the Control Panel though?
If you're using Windows 7, go to Start > Control Panel > Sound, click the Recording tab at the top, click the Microphone icon with the green tick, and click the Properties button. This will open another window with 4 tabs at the top.

General tab. It should say 'Device Usage: Use this device (enable)' at the bottom.

Listen tab. Set the volume and boost levels using the sliders.

Advanced tab. I'm not sure how these settings relate to Audacity, but you might need to experiment with the 2 Exclusive Mode options.
__________________
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 05:25 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
OS: windows vista/windows 7 starter (I have two)



I'm using Vista
__________________
AthenaMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 05:30 AM   #10
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,452
OS: Win7-64

My System


It should be similar. I've never used Vista though.
__________________
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 05:35 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
OS: windows vista/windows 7 starter (I have two)



I'll have a go at it then, thanks x
__________________
AthenaMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 05:44 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
OS: windows vista/windows 7 starter (I have two)



Okay, it records but its really really quiet?
__________________
AthenaMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 05:49 AM   #13
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,452
OS: Win7-64

My System


Click the Listen tab in Control Panel > Sound (see post#8) and increase the volume and boost sliders.

You can also increase the recording volume in Audacity using the slider at the top of the window.

Keep an eye on the R and L volume meters while using the mic. It should be peaking just as it enters the red area. If it goes too high (around -6 to 0), the recorded sound will be distorted.

See here for more suggestions - Audacity recording is too quiet

Reference guide for Audacity - Audacity Reference
__________________
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 06:08 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
OS: windows vista/windows 7 starter (I have two)



Okay great thank you I've got it working now thank you so much x
__________________
AthenaMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2011, 06:10 AM   #15
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,452
OS: Win7-64

My System


You're welcome. I'll mark this thread as solved, but you can post back if you need any more help with it.
__________________
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:10 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7



Hello. I have the iRig microphone and also had this problem. I tried following the steps above but it did not work. How may I use the iRig microphone on a windows 7 computer?

__________________
jnicoara11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts