Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

Self Test on Dell Monitor won't go away

This is a discussion on Self Test on Dell Monitor won't go away within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My son moved his monitor last night to watch streaming video and the Self Test popped up. He didn't know


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-19-2011, 02:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



My son moved his monitor last night to watch streaming video and the Self Test popped up. He didn't know what to do and turned the computer off and went to bed. This morning the self test is all that shows up. I have unplugged and replugged all cables. I even opened the thing up and looked around, but no cards are out or unseated. The self test floats around and says 1. Analog Input Self Test Feature and then shows the different colors red, blue, green and white. The computer seems to be botting up fine and makes all the appropriate noises when starting, we just can't see any picture except for the floating self test. Any ideas?

__________________
Lydia25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 03:20 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,098
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Check to be sure that the proper input (vga, dvi, etc.) is selected. There should be a button that cycles through the available inputs.

__________________

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
JMPC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 03:22 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



Any idea where that button might be? I can't find anything and the buttons on the front of the monitor seem useless.
__________________
Lydia25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 03:28 PM   #4
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,098
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



What's the brand and model of the monitor? If you still have the manual the info would be in there. If you don't have it, you can usually find the manuals online on the manufacturers site.
__________________

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
JMPC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 03:35 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



All I know is it is a Dell. My company sold it to me last year.
__________________
Lydia25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 03:46 PM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,883
OS: windows 7

My System


their should be a sticker on the back with the model number.
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 12:27 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7



I have a Dell U2412. On this model there are four buttons on the lower right corner of the monitor. The right button is the power button. The button in the middle has a something that looks like a screen with an arrow going across it. I was able to use this button to toggle between the "Self Test Feature Check" and the windows screen.

__________________
Cluefull is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bsod please help asap
hi guys please could some one help with this desktop pc # acer aspir m1640 2gb ram dual core e1200 i keep getting bsod after like 10 mins of use ive added all my .dmp files ive delved into myself and found that reinstalling the chipset drivers would sole this so i downloaded nvidia nforce...
crasher59 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 18 10-05-2011 04:35 AM
Server 2003/Active Directory Missing Sites Container in AD
All right, guys. I have a weird one for you. I have two domain controllers at a client of mine and I am upgrading them to exchange 2010. I attempt to install Exchange 2010 and am met with the following error when checking prerequisites. Setup encountered a problem while validating the state...
disisit Windows Servers 4 08-09-2011 05:52 PM
Blue screen of death
Hello, I hope you can help me :) My troubles began yesterday when my Acer PC froze unexpectedly. I restarted it and it worked well for a few hours but then I got my first ever blue screen of death which told me "video scheduler has encountered an unexpected fatal error". After a few Google...
nicholas1986 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 07-31-2011 07:26 PM
win7, vista refuse to boot
All was fine. So i shut the system down so i could replace the cpu heatsink. Go to start back up, and windows (7) is BSODing on me. Like a bad technician, i have restart enabled *sigh* so I go to boot menu, and select my vista drive. And it just sits at a black screen. So i'm logged in on...
magnethead Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 20 01-11-2011 01:58 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts