Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

Samsung SyncMaster 2033SN

This is a discussion on Samsung SyncMaster 2033SN within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi! I just bought a new flatscreen monitor, the Samsung SyncMaster 2033SN. It says that i should set it to


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-25-2009, 07:14 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
brushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 62
OS: WinXP


Arrow

Hi!
I just bought a new flatscreen monitor, the Samsung SyncMaster 2033SN. It says that i should set it to it's native 1600x900 60hz. but i can't :S
My gpu is Geforce 8600 GT.
I've googled some, and didn't find/understand any solution.


Here's a complete log by System Info Viewer:
http://rapidshare.de/files/48204484/...TRALWORKS.html






__________________
brushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 02:24 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
brushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 62
OS: WinXP


Exclamation

also, windows does not want to install the included drivers (or drivers i dl:ed from samsung.com). but it does seem to recognise it:

__________________
brushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 10:35 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,367
OS: XP Pro-7



Do you have the latest drivers installed for the graphics card?
The disc for the Samsung doesn't include any drivers. It contains software to enhance the viewing.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 01:17 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
brushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 62
OS: WinXP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
Do you have the latest drivers installed for the graphics card?
The disc for the Samsung doesn't include any drivers. It contains software to enhance the viewing.
i had the latest drivers yesterday (first from nvidia, then from drivergenius pro), but then installed older drivers that was said to work (by another forum)
i dunno.. it sure did look like a driver to me..:

Code:
;==================================================
; SM2033SN.inf 07/25/2008 ver. 3.0HC
;
; Copyright 2008 Samsung Electronics Corporation
;
; This is a Setup information file for Samsung Monitor. 
;==================================================

[Version]
signature="$CHICAGO$"
Class=Monitor
ClassGuid={4D36E96E-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}
Provider=%Samsung%
CatalogFile=SM2033SN.cat
DriverVer=07/25/2008,3.0

;--------------------------------------------------
[ControlFlags]
ExcludeFromSelect.nt=Monitor\SAM0499

[ClassInstall32]
AddReg=ClassAddReg32

[ClassAddReg32]
HKR,,,,%MonitorClassName%
HKR,,Icon,,"-1"
HKR,,NoInstallClass,,1

[DestinationDirs]
DefaultDestDir = 11
SM2033SN.CopyFiles = 23

[SourceDisksNames]
1=%DISK%,,,

[SourceDisksFiles]
SM2033SN.icm=1

[Manufacturer]
%Samsung%=Samsung,NTx86,NTAMD64

; Manufacturer sections
;-----------------------------------------------------
[Samsung]
%SM2033SN%=SM2033SN.Install, Monitor\SAM0499

; Manufacturer sections
;-----------------------------------------------------
[Samsung.NTx86]
%SM2033SN%=SM2033SN.Install, Monitor\SAM0499

; Manufacturer sections
;-----------------------------------------------------
[Samsung.NTAMD64]
%SM2033SN%=SM2033SN.Install, Monitor\SAM0499

; Install Sections
;-----------------------------------------------------

[SM2033SN.Install]
DelReg=DEL_CURRENT_REG
AddReg=SM2033SN.AddReg, 1600, DPMS
CopyFiles=SM2033SN.CopyFiles

; Addreg & DelReg sections
;-----------------------------------------------------

[DEL_CURRENT_REG]
HKR,MODES
HKR,,MaxResolution
HKR,,DPMS
HKR,,ICMProfile


[1600]
HKR,,MaxResolution,,"1600,900"


[DPMS]
HKR,,DPMS,,1

; AddReg sections
;-----------------------------------------------------


[SM2033SN.AddReg]
HKR,"MODES\1600,900",Mode1,,"30-81,56-75,+,+"
HKR,,ICMProfile,0,"SM2033SN.icm"

;------------------------------------------------------

[SM2033SN.CopyFiles]
SM2033SN.icm

;------------------------------------------------------

[Strings]
DISK="Samsung Monitor Installation Disk"
MonitorClassName="Monitor"
Samsung="Samsung"
SM2033SN="SyncMaster 2033SN"
__________________
brushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 03:53 PM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,367
OS: XP Pro-7



Get drivers ONLY from the chipset maker. The Samsung monitors I have dealt with have a Install Guide CD, which is pretty redundant, and some have software for adjusting and enhancing the display.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 08:17 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
brushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 62
OS: WinXP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
Get drivers ONLY from the chipset maker. The Samsung monitors I have dealt with have a Install Guide CD, which is pretty redundant, and some have software for adjusting and enhancing the display.
here are the monitor drivers included on a cd:
'
Code:
File 2033SN.rar (52 KB) http://rapidshare.de/files/48224372/2033SN.rar.html
hm, ok installing latest chipset drivers now (the gpu is separate not integrated & has the latest drivers installed)..
__________________
brushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 08:36 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
brushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 62
OS: WinXP



installing latest nforce chipset drivers (15.37_nforce_win7_32bit_whql) didn't do much.. still the same: can't set native res, max res is 1280x1024 :(
__________________
brushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 10:46 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
brushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 62
OS: WinXP



bmup!
__________________
brushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 07:20 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
brushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 62
OS: WinXP



Quote:
Originally Posted by brushan View Post
__________________
brushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 02:15 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
brushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 62
OS: WinXP



bmup?
__________________
brushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 11:51 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
brushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 62
OS: WinXP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
Get drivers ONLY from the chipset maker. The Samsung monitors I have dealt with have a Install Guide CD, which is pretty redundant, and some have software for adjusting and enhancing the display.
the problem is that the chipset maker is nvidia, the mainboard is apparently a custom Acer MB.. The drivers provided by Acer are pretty old now..
__________________
brushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 06:54 AM   #12
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,234
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


The drivers you installed are for the monitor. They allow Windows to properly identify the monitor being used (as in your 2nd post where the monitor is properly identified by name), without the monitor drivers, it would likely be recognized as a "Plug and Play" monitor.

To correct the resolution issue, you will need to update the video drivers (for the video card or chipset). Resolution options are controlled by the video card drivers. As you have a 8600, get the latest video drivers from nVidia.
__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 02:15 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
brushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 62
OS: WinXP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogg View Post
The drivers you installed are for the monitor. They allow Windows to properly identify the monitor being used (as in your 2nd post where the monitor is properly identified by name), without the monitor drivers, it would likely be recognized as a "Plug and Play" monitor.

To correct the resolution issue, you will need to update the video drivers (for the video card or chipset). Resolution options are controlled by the video card drivers. As you have a 8600, get the latest video drivers from nVidia.
Hi, Dogg!
I have the latest available nvidia nforce drivers installed. I'm not on the 8600 since it's dead now. So the only thing i have left is onboard Gforce 7100. But that shouldn't matter since they both natively support 1600x900 :) However it still does not work.. :S

__________________
brushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts