Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

Problem with Canon 3000/3000F scanner

This is a discussion on Problem with Canon 3000/3000F scanner within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I'm having some problems with my Canon 3000F scanner. After reinstalling WinXP I tried to install my scanner and


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2005, 08:02 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 27
OS: WinXP



Hi, I'm having some problems with my Canon 3000F scanner. After reinstalling WinXP I tried to install my scanner and drivers. Afetr i done everything that i need to do i tried to do a test scan using a program that I used all the time to scan, I got these error's:

Error in scanner.
Turn off scanner and follow instruction in manual.
Scanner driver will be closed.(Code:201)


Then I press OK and another appears:

There is a TWAIN error. Maybe the device is not connected.

And after that it just goes back to the program. BTW the scanner is connected and has got power, even in the Device maneger it is recognised.
Can anyone halp me?

__________________
Delusory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 08:48 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Sarkast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 2,720
OS: WinXP


Try deinstalling the drivers and reinstall them with antivirus program turned off (if you had one running at the time). I'd also make sure you have the latest drivers available.

__________________
P4 2.4@2.9 / XP-90 / Albatron PX865PE Pro V2.0 /
Kingston Hyper-X 512MB Dual Channel CL2-2-2-5 /
Geforce4 MX440x8 64MB / WD80GB 7200RPM 8MB /
Thermaltake 420W PSU --> SEE IT ALL GLOW <--



MBM5 - SpeedFan - PSU Calculator - MemTest86 - ThrottleWatch
Sarkast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 12:43 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 27
OS: WinXP


well I have turned off my Norton 2004 and reinstalled but the samething happens. Can it be that WinXP with SP2 dosn't support this drivers or something like that?
__________________
Delusory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 05:26 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Sarkast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 2,720
OS: WinXP


Are you sure the drivers you have are Windows XP drivers ?
Have you checked the Canon homepage to make sure the drivers you have are the latest available ?
__________________
P4 2.4@2.9 / XP-90 / Albatron PX865PE Pro V2.0 /
Kingston Hyper-X 512MB Dual Channel CL2-2-2-5 /
Geforce4 MX440x8 64MB / WD80GB 7200RPM 8MB /
Thermaltake 420W PSU --> SEE IT ALL GLOW <--



MBM5 - SpeedFan - PSU Calculator - MemTest86 - ThrottleWatch
Sarkast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 05:35 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 27
OS: WinXP


The drivers are ok but I found something strange! In my Control Panel in the section of Scanners and Cameras there isn't my scanner shown, is that ok? And when I tried to add an imeging device there was only digital cameras to choose.
__________________
Delusory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 10:24 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Sarkast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 2,720
OS: WinXP


It should show in there aslong as the scanner is connected and turned on.
__________________
P4 2.4@2.9 / XP-90 / Albatron PX865PE Pro V2.0 /
Kingston Hyper-X 512MB Dual Channel CL2-2-2-5 /
Geforce4 MX440x8 64MB / WD80GB 7200RPM 8MB /
Thermaltake 420W PSU --> SEE IT ALL GLOW <--



MBM5 - SpeedFan - PSU Calculator - MemTest86 - ThrottleWatch
Sarkast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 03:07 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 27
OS: WinXP


Confused

well i haven't fix my problem with the scanner, but haven't tried the last post. I'm having some problems with the computer:
1. My Microsoft Internet Explorer address bar isn't working (when i enter the address and press go or enter nothing happens and when I want to check in what addresses I were it starts to load and doesn't respond)
2. when I go to My computer it loads for a long time (about 30-60sec) and then shows the content (C:, D:, E: hard drives, F: cd-rom...) but all other folders open in ~1 sec (as normaly).
__________________
Delusory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 07:55 AM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Sarkast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 2,720
OS: WinXP


I am not sure if malware would interfere with your scanner - but the symptoms you just described sound a lot like you have a problem with malicious code running on your PC. Maybe you should go to the security forum - read all the stickies and general infos. Follow through the suggestions - run all the programs mentioned and then post a HJT log according to the instructions of a security specialist.

__________________
P4 2.4@2.9 / XP-90 / Albatron PX865PE Pro V2.0 /
Kingston Hyper-X 512MB Dual Channel CL2-2-2-5 /
Geforce4 MX440x8 64MB / WD80GB 7200RPM 8MB /
Thermaltake 420W PSU --> SEE IT ALL GLOW <--



MBM5 - SpeedFan - PSU Calculator - MemTest86 - ThrottleWatch
Sarkast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts