Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

No sound from microphone - very annoying

This is a discussion on No sound from microphone - very annoying within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have a standard 3.5mm stereo jack microphone but when I connect it to my pc no sound is


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-18-2009, 11:30 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate SP1



Hi, I have a standard 3.5mm stereo jack microphone but when I connect it to my pc no sound is omitted although realtek programme acknowledges that a mike is plugged in and working (plugged in to mic socket on back panel)
My sound set-up is:
Pc connected to Sony DAV-DZ260 Home Theatre System via S/PDIF Optical Cable.
Any Help / Advise would be greatly appreciated.
Many Thanks

__________________
Paddytreanor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 11:36 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,047
OS: Windows 7



go to Control Panel > Sounds and Audio Devices > click on the Audio tab > then, under Sound Recording make sure the microphone is selected > after that click on Voice tab > make sure the microphone is selected under voice recording

__________________
Tosh
tosh9i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 11:45 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate SP1



Thanks but only sound option in control panel and under recording tab microphone is selected and volume/status bar rises as you talk into mic but no sound comes out, normal sound on pc comes out fine, thought it might be something to do with sound output in digital and mic input in analogue?
any theroies?
__________________
Paddytreanor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 11:52 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,047
OS: Windows 7



go to Control Panel > Sounds and Audio Devices > click on Voice tab > click on Test Hardware
__________________
Tosh
tosh9i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 11:58 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,047
OS: Windows 7



have you disabled the digital output like you stated:

http://tomebling.home.comcast.net/~t...oundConfig.jpg
__________________
Tosh
tosh9i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 12:45 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate SP1



Thanks for your help, I cannot get the menu you suggested (your picture) I am running vista ultimate sp1
__________________
Paddytreanor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 09:51 PM   #7
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 1,444
OS: winXP Pro sp3

My System


Is this a laptop?

And are you not able to hear the mic through the speakers or just plain not get a recording?

I see lots of people having troubles with onboard audio and not getting playback through their speakers, mostly with laptops.

Just checking but have you gone into Realtek's software and made sure that Mic Volume is un-muted? While you are there you might check to see if you need a Mic Volume Boost. Found in Mixer-->Playback-->Mic Volume. Hit the '..' icon under Mic Volume and it should give you the option for Mic Boost.

Pauldo

Pauldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts