Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

My dog ate my USB cable...

This is a discussion on My dog ate my USB cable... within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. For real.... I have no idea where this cable came from (it was not attached to anything, just bundled up


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-18-2005, 09:04 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
OS: XP Pro



For real....

I have no idea where this cable came from (it was not attached to anything, just bundled up with a twist-tie). It has a "regular" USB connector at one end, a small square 4-pin connector at the other end. Its identifying information (written on the cable itself):

AWM E89980-A STYLE 2835 30V VW-1 28/24AWG

CSA LL64151-A AWM A/B 150V FT1 USB CABLE

Any ideas?

TIA....

__________________
JMFlint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 10:15 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Jayso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 66
OS: Dual-Boot: Microsoft Windows XP x64 Edition & Red Hat Linux Fedora Core 4

My System

Send a message via MSN to Jayso
LOL, that is hilarious

I'm not sure exactly... but it looks (from my imagination) a square USB 2 connnector

These are usually used for printers or scanners - the "regular" goes into the computer

Check the attached image to make sure i got the right idea... (ignore the square thingy on the right)
Attached Images
 

__________________
Jayso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 10:39 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
OS: XP Pro



It's definitely not that type of USB cable. The connector is much, much smaller. Here's a photo.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo_121805_001.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	51.9 KB
ID:	5268  
__________________
JMFlint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 10:43 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Jayso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 66
OS: Dual-Boot: Microsoft Windows XP x64 Edition & Red Hat Linux Fedora Core 4

My System

Send a message via MSN to Jayso
ahh, ok, that looks like a digital camera plug then
__________________
Jayso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 11:24 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
OS: XP Pro



Are those cables standard? Or do I need to figure out which manufacturer of which camera it might have come from (yes, there are several possibilities in this house)?

Damn, I wish this dog could talk....

Thanks --
__________________
JMFlint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 11:29 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Jayso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 66
OS: Dual-Boot: Microsoft Windows XP x64 Edition & Red Hat Linux Fedora Core 4

My System

Send a message via MSN to Jayso
just find a camera that uses the little flat thingy... If the camera has that plug then it'll work (unless your dog has killed it...)
__________________
Jayso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 11:39 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
OS: XP Pro



The dog chewed through the cable completely. I have two halves...

I guess maybe I'll just wait until I go to hook up something to my computer and discover that a cable is missing (then I'll know what it belongs to!)

ergh...
__________________
JMFlint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 12:31 AM   #8
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Volt-Schwibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Behind you, watching you as you type.
Posts: 7,383
OS: Click "My System" to view details

My System

this?

this is a 505.640 USB lead, A to A, 2.0m.


this is a USB A Male to USB Mini B Male


and this is a USB 1.1 Version DIGITAL CAMERA Interface Cables (Mini USB 4 Pin)


and a 1m USB CABLE for HP PHOTOSMART 318/612 CAMERAS (looks same as first one)
__________________
<signature>

TSF is funded by our Admin's pocket, care to help?
Power Tip: Subscribe to your thread (Thread Tools) to receive an instant email notification when you get a reply.
New Members: Creating a single new thread in the correct section is the best way to assure your thread will receive a reply.
</signature>
Volt-Schwibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 12:53 AM   #9
Registered User
 
Jayso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 66
OS: Dual-Boot: Microsoft Windows XP x64 Edition & Red Hat Linux Fedora Core 4

My System

Send a message via MSN to Jayso
hmm the third one looks different...
__________________
Jayso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 02:09 AM   #10
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Volt-Schwibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Behind you, watching you as you type.
Posts: 7,383
OS: Click "My System" to view details

My System

if i had to guess based on the picture submitted by jm flint, i'd say it's this one...

__________________
<signature>

TSF is funded by our Admin's pocket, care to help?
Power Tip: Subscribe to your thread (Thread Tools) to receive an instant email notification when you get a reply.
New Members: Creating a single new thread in the correct section is the best way to assure your thread will receive a reply.
</signature>
Volt-Schwibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 02:12 AM   #11
Registered User
 
Jayso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 66
OS: Dual-Boot: Microsoft Windows XP x64 Edition & Red Hat Linux Fedora Core 4

My System

Send a message via MSN to Jayso
yeah, that's what i assumed as well
__________________
Jayso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 07:47 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
OS: XP Pro



That last picture you posted looks to be the same cable as mine -- mine is light gray, but the connectors are the same.

So... what is it normally used for?

J
__________________
JMFlint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 10:40 PM   #13
Registered User
 
Jayso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 66
OS: Dual-Boot: Microsoft Windows XP x64 Edition & Red Hat Linux Fedora Core 4

My System

Send a message via MSN to Jayso
Digital still cameras... If you have a Canon Ixus than that will definately be it....

However the same cable would still work for any other camera that has that connector on it (ex: you could plug 5 cameras into the computer with the same cable)
__________________
Jayso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 10:58 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
OS: XP Pro



That eases my mind a lot b/c I don't connect either of my digital still cameras (a Kodak and an Elph) to the computer (I just pop the memory card(s) out and put it into a reader).

Looks like I won't miss *this* cable....

Thanks --
__________________
JMFlint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2005, 07:56 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,455
OS: 98SE/XP PRO/FC4

My System

This cable is used with more devices than just cameras. My Rio Carbon (mp3 player) uses this same plug.
This is a standard type of cable and can be bought in stores such as Best Buy or Circut City.
If you have any other devices in your house that use the same cable, you can swap those cables too. I can swap my digital camera cable with my carbon's cable because it's the same plug.
Hope this helps.
__________________
Ralck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2005, 08:44 PM   #16
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Volt-Schwibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Behind you, watching you as you type.
Posts: 7,383
OS: Click "My System" to view details

My System

i hadn't thought of mp3 players....

i can only assume there's even more things that use these tiny cables.
__________________
<signature>

TSF is funded by our Admin's pocket, care to help?
Power Tip: Subscribe to your thread (Thread Tools) to receive an instant email notification when you get a reply.
New Members: Creating a single new thread in the correct section is the best way to assure your thread will receive a reply.
</signature>
Volt-Schwibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005, 01:52 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
OS: XP Pro


Thank you! I think I will take it with me to a Best Buy and get it replaced (at least I'll have it whenever I find the thing it goes to!).

Thanks again --

__________________
JMFlint is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts