Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

Monitor enters "Power Save mode" on startup

This is a discussion on Monitor enters "Power Save mode" on startup within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have two computers and two monitors. Both were working fine yesterday. One of them plugs into the blue VGA


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2010, 08:25 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 34
OS: XP



I have two computers and two monitors. Both were working fine yesterday. One of them plugs into the blue VGA slot. The other uses the white DVI slot.

Yesterday I decided to switch the monitors. Put the bigger one on my better computer. Plugged it into the computer that uses the DVI slot. Plugged the smaller monitor into the computer that uses the VGA slot.

Now when I boot up the computer that has the VGA slot. It gets to the Windows XP loading screen just fine, but as soon as it gets to the user log in interface my monitor goes into "Power save mode."

I tried switching the monitors back to how they were. Same issue.

I tried starting in Safe Mode and it works. Everything is fine. I even changed display settings in safe mode. But as soon as I restart normally... same issue.

I tried starting with "Enable VGA" and it works as well. It's choppy, but it works.

So... it's a problem with my computer, because it does it on both monitors, yet my computer isn't fried obviously because it can display in safe mode. What's going on?

__________________
Scream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 09:15 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



in the device manager check if there is any yellow alongside the video listing

__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 09:21 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 34
OS: XP



There is not. I think the issue is something along the lines of the monitor looking for a DVI hookup and not recognizing that there is a VGA hookup. Both of these monitors were last hooked up to DVI.
__________________
Scream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 02:26 PM   #4
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,258
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Shouldn't matter. The PC will look for each type.

You can typically set in the BIOS which type to look at first to decrease the boot time. But as I said, it shouldn't matter.

Try a different cable. If the monitor has multiple inputs, try a different input. If the video card has multiple outputs, try a different output.

You could also test the monitor on another PC, that will determine if it's a monitor or PC issue.
__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 05:00 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 34
OS: XP



Both monitors work on the other computer. Neither monitor works on this one. They both work in safe mode though... so I'm assuming it has something to do with windows.
__________________
Scream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 05:07 PM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what are you running
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
model
wattage

check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 06:02 AM   #7
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,258
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


If they are working in Safe Mode, then it's a video driver issue. Boot into Safe Mode and uninstall any video drivers listed in Add and Remove programs, then reboot.

__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts