Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

Looking where to get memory!!

This is a discussion on Looking where to get memory!! within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I need to add memory to my Dell 4600. I currently have 256, but apparently SP2 (from what I am


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-07-2005, 06:41 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
carrie640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 314
OS: XP on Desktop/Vista/7 (64 bit) on notebooks!


Send a message via AIM to carrie640 Send a message via Yahoo to carrie640

I need to add memory to my Dell 4600. I currently have 256, but apparently SP2 (from what I am told...you tell me what you think) is a memory hog and is totally interferring with a game we run on the PC (crashes at startup).

I can get it right from Dell, but didn't know if there is a better/more economical place to get it online from. Naturally there are a TON of links when you type "MEMORY" into a search engine, but who knows who is reputable!

Any recommendations?

__________________
carrie640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 06:54 AM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, The Center of the Universe
Posts: 7,633
OS: WinXP, Win2K3

My System

Your best bet would be Crucial memory. They make it easy with their configurator and their are reasonalbly priced.

http://www.crucial.com/

__________________
crazijoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 01:23 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
WendyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 7
OS: xp



I have a DELL also, but in checking prices of memory, DELL was high. I purchased mine at www.computermemorystore.com. They had great prices and fast shipping.
__________________
WendyJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 01:21 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
mostlytechnical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 19
OS: RH 7.3, 9.0, Fedora, Win 98, XP multi-boot system


http://www.pricewatch.com has the best prices I've seen yet.

I would like to add that if your PC is under warranty or the like, the warranty is voided should you puncture the sticker on the case (like, by opening it).
__________________
mostlytechnical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 06:39 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
carrie640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 314
OS: XP on Desktop/Vista/7 (64 bit) on notebooks!


Send a message via AIM to carrie640 Send a message via Yahoo to carrie640
Grin

Thanks for the links...I will check them out.

The computer is out of warranty now so I am opening the sucker up!! :) Probably could use a good can of air in there, anyway! DUSTY from the outside!! LOL!!

__________________
carrie640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts