Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

Jump drive formatting?

This is a discussion on Jump drive formatting? within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. my parents got me a 4 GB optima attache jump drive for christmas, but when i plug it in, it


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2008, 11:33 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
magnethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 4,392
OS: Win7 x64, Vista Ultimate x86, Server 2K3 Enterprise x86, Ubuntu Lucid Lynx x64, OSX Snow Leopard x86

My System

Send a message via AIM to magnethead

my parents got me a 4 GB optima attache jump drive for christmas, but when i plug it in, it says format drive, then says that formatting failed. What do i need to do?

__________________
magnethead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 11:10 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
magnethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 4,392
OS: Win7 x64, Vista Ultimate x86, Server 2K3 Enterprise x86, Ubuntu Lucid Lynx x64, OSX Snow Leopard x86

My System

Send a message via AIM to magnethead

Anyone? IT's a 4 GB PNY optima pro attache jump drive showing at 3.84 GB in device manager. I've tried in 2 computers through both manager and my computer, still won't format. PNY's low level format thingie won't run, says it only works with some IC's and yes i added the name to the ini list.

__________________
magnethead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 12:28 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 17,423
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus

I have the same one and it worked right out of the package. No formatting should be necessary. If it still refuses to allow file writing then you may want to exchange it.
__________________

-----------------------------
There are no dumb questions, unless a customer is asking them.

Help in the fight against cancer and other serious illnesses.
ebackhus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 03:13 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 114
OS: OSX 10.6, Vista SP2, XP SP3, Ubuntu UNR


Send a message via AIM to MattD313

Right click on "My Computer" and click "Manage"

On the left side click "Disk Management"

Find your jumpdrive, should be the only one that says 4gb.
Right click it, and format, click on quick format.

If it fails again (which it probably will) exchange it.
__________________
MattD313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 05:28 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: look behind you!!!
Posts: 65
OS: Windows 7 pro x64

My System

Send a message via MSN to Impact Green

they usually format as in fat, try formatting it in ntfs
__________________
Impact Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 09:21 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
magnethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 4,392
OS: Win7 x64, Vista Ultimate x86, Server 2K3 Enterprise x86, Ubuntu Lucid Lynx x64, OSX Snow Leopard x86

My System

Send a message via AIM to magnethead

well shoot- it was 35 bucks and i already trashed the packaging (it was a christmas gift). i've tried full an quick format on 2 different computers to no avail.
__________________
magnethead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 09:52 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 114
OS: OSX 10.6, Vista SP2, XP SP3, Ubuntu UNR


Send a message via AIM to MattD313

Go buy a new one, keep the new one, put the bad one back in the new ones package and return it. (Make sure beforehand they accept open item returns)

Just say it wasn't what you thought it was, or say it was defective and you just want your money back...



Edit: Just make sure its the exact same specs. Same color, brand, size, etc etc

Also- DO NOT BUY IT FROM CIRCUIT CITY

Their return policy and customer service is ****. (Their stocks show it)
__________________
MattD313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 11:24 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
2pistolpacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lenexa, Ks
Posts: 1,038
OS: Win XP Pro

My System


I recently had to do the same with a 1gb PNY drive, luckily Best Buy let me bring it in to exchange it, they kept the packaging and I got the new drive. PNY didn't want to do anything, because I wasn't the original buyer. No more PNY for me. Mike

__________________
Speak kindly to me, beloved master. Revel in my unconditional love, and give me every minute that you can spare, for my time with you is short.
--Your faithful dog
2pistolpacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts