Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

How to switch Monitor from 15-pin to USB?

This is a discussion on How to switch Monitor from 15-pin to USB? within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. LOML gave me a 22" flat-screen monitor last year (SP2107W from Staples) I just swapped it for my old CRT


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2011, 02:17 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Win7



LOML gave me a 22" flat-screen monitor last year (SP2107W from Staples)

I just swapped it for my old CRT using the 15-pin wire and everything was fine.

Now I'd like to use the USB connection so I can use the USB slots on the monitor but I can't get it to connect.

Couldn't find anything in Device Manager, Hardware, or on screen menus. I have rebooted but no luck.

I'm running Win7 with a Foxconn mb. USB connection worked with other hardware.

Any ideas?????

__________________
Wild Turkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 02:39 PM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
Jim@HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,677
OS: Win7 Home Premium

My System


Can we assume you also connected the USB cable from the monitor to the computer?

If you already tried a different USB cable, and a different USB port on the computer, note that Staples was granting a 3 year warranty on that monitor.

__________________
Jim@HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 02:44 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Win7



Yep, tried USB from printer after first cable didn't work.

Wonder if they've still got a manual at Staples -- couldn't find mine or one on net.

Would side USB ports still work if no USB connection to computer? Maybe for only certain applications (mice, etc) but not others (SD card downloads)???


Thanks
__________________
Wild Turkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 03:01 PM   #4
MPR
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,246
OS: Win 8.1



Staples Product Support Center
__________________
MPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 03:02 PM   #5
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,362
OS: Win7



There has to be a USB cable run from the monitor to the PC, USB does not travel through the 15 pin VGA cable, Do you have 2 cables running between the monitor and PC or 1?
Wrench97 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 03:08 PM   #6
Hardware Tech Team
 
Jim@HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,677
OS: Win7 Home Premium

My System


By side USB ports do you mean the ports in the monitor? Because, usually, they won't work without a connection to a computer. There's no reason other then consumer desire for them not to make the USB ports available so you could use the mouse or keyboard with the monitor as stand alone, but I doubt there's much interest in that.

They are putting complete computer systems in slightly thicker monitors tho. Interesting, but I wouldn't buy one until they've got the bugs worked out.
__________________
Jim@HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 03:21 PM   #7
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,362
OS: Win7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim@HiTek View Post
They are putting complete computer systems in slightly thicker monitors tho. Interesting, but I wouldn't buy one until they've got the bugs worked out.
Laptop motherboard and CPU mounted to a desktop monitor :)
Wrench97 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 03:26 PM   #8
MPR
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,246
OS: Win 8.1



The USB ports on your monitor are just a USB hub.

From your manual:

"USB 2.0 Hub
The monitor features four USB 2.0 hub ports. Connect the supplied USB cable between
the computer and the monitor’s Upstream port. You can connect up to 4 USB devices to
the Downstream ports on the side of the monitor."

You should be able to just connect your monitor to any USB 2.0 port on your computer then any USB 2.0 device to your monitor and have it automatically detected.
__________________
MPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 03:49 PM   #9
Hardware Tech Team
 
Jim@HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,677
OS: Win7 Home Premium

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
Laptop motherboard and CPU mounted to a desktop monitor :)
Yeah, the first one I ran into 2-3 months ago was an HP, was only a couple months old and the interface between the computer and monitor was dead. Total black screen, and no way to remove any components without opening the monitor. It was around 4" thick, with audio, USB and DVD on the side. HDD was hidden inside and I didn't see any easy access.

I told the client to send it back.

This is the direction they'll all be going tho. Most businesses will jump at them as soon as they're off the boat, I'm sure. Great way to clean up the desk and get all those clunky wires out of the picture. The one I saw had built in media like speakers, microphone and camera.

If it had been out of warranty, I would have tackled it just to see the inside!
__________________
Jim@HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 05:35 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
OS: Win7



Thanks for the help folks.

The USB hub seems to be the answer -- it would be great if the ports were on the right side (as it faces me) instead of the left so my mouse cord didn't run across my desk.
__________________
Wild Turkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 05:40 PM   #11
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,362
OS: Win7



Run the cord around the back of the monitor to the other side.

Wrench97 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts