Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

Help! The outlets in my apartment are not gounded.

This is a discussion on Help! The outlets in my apartment are not gounded. within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just moved into an apartment that does not have grounded outlets. I was wondering if I plugged my two


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-18-2012, 03:07 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 433
OS: Win 7, 8 and Linux Ubuntu



I just moved into an apartment that does not have grounded outlets. I was wondering if I plugged my two desktop pc's into a UPS if it would make up for the lack of grounding? I am not worried about loosing my UPS to a spike, if it will protect my computers.

__________________
pengyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 07:44 AM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,296
OS: XP Pro-7



You can't substitute a ground but the UPS will help protect your PC's.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No sound suddenly on my dell inspiron 1545
to start with the only time I got any sound is when skype was operating earlier...so...i thought something was wrong with it so i deleted skype..well.. now there is no sound at all. I check device manager and it says that the sound device is working...so I deleted the drivers and went to the dell...
eviedechant Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 8 02-18-2012 04:51 PM
Not enough storage is available to process this command?
any one can solve this error pls reply to me and give ur suggestions.
ganesh2552 Programming 1 02-18-2012 01:18 PM
BSOD in Dell XPS15
My new Dell XPS15 with Windows 7 crashes whenever I download torrents via wifi. I am attaching the dmp file. Can you please check the problem and give a fix for it?
apratim3490 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 02-18-2012 07:24 AM
No sockets for front usb on the motherboard :(
Oooops! I want to install a pci ex usb 3.0 card in my computer to use an external drive. I would like to connect it to the case's front panel usb ports. Will that work?
pengyou Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 02-18-2012 07:16 AM
Adobe Photoshop 7.0 Macro Help
Hi, I have this repetitive task to do many time in Photoshop, and here I am looking for your help in getting a macro in same. To make simple in understanding, First I explain steps which I take for this task, ------------------------------- Open 1st jpg file from a location in adobe...
newbeeee Graphic Design, Digital Imaging, and Multimedia 3 02-18-2012 04:41 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts