Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

Help! My Monitor and PC won't connect!

This is a discussion on Help! My Monitor and PC won't connect! within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. When I switch my computer on the monitor just reads "no signal" All of the cables are firmly connected. I


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2006, 12:10 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP Home Edition



When I switch my computer on the monitor just reads "no signal"

All of the cables are firmly connected. I don't understand...

Is it likely to be the case of getting a new monitor or might it be a problem with the PC itself?

Thanks for any advice...

__________________
oceanscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 12:24 PM   #2
Enthusiastic TSFer~Joseph
 
Joefireline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portishead (Bristol) England
Posts: 5,318
OS: Windows 7 64bit(Desktop) / XP Home SP2(laptop)

My System

Send a message via MSN to Joefireline
check that the cable is in properly, and check for any dust.
Try using a different monitor if you have one...

__________________
Joefireline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 02:34 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP Home Edition


Thanks. I've checked for dust and the cables are all very firmly connected.

I don't have a spare computer monitor so maybe I will try and get one to make sure that it is the monitor that's the problem and not the actual PC.

(Can anyone reassure me about it not being the PC?!)
__________________
oceanscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 02:36 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Terrister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,132
OS: Windows 7 & 8, Mac OS-x


Try unplugging the computer. Remove the video card. Now put it back in. Power up and see if it comes on. AGP cards are bad about working out of the slots.
__________________
Terrister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 02:39 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP Home Edition


Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrister
Try unplugging the computer. Remove the video card. Now put it back in. Power up and see if it comes on. AGP cards are bad about working out of the slots.
Thanks for posting. I am such a novice...what and where will I find the video card?? Considering I don't even know what the video card is, do you think it's best I take it in somewhere??

Thanks again for helping :)
__________________
oceanscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 03:12 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,917
OS: XP


Quote:
Considering I don't even know what the video card is, do you think it's best I take it in somewhere??
sounds that way
good luck
__________________
whodat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 04:00 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,455
OS: 98SE/XP PRO/FC4

My System

The video card is the card connecting to the monitor cable. Or, if you have onboard video, then the monitor cable will be directly plugged into the motherboard. But I agree with Whosdat that if your not sure about these things, you should bring it to a shop to get repaired.
__________________
Ralck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 06:08 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Terrister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,132
OS: Windows 7 & 8, Mac OS-x


I agree. But ask the person at the shop to show you the video card. If I am correct, it should take less than 10 minutes to fix.
__________________
Terrister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2006, 11:19 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP Home Edition


Okay. The guy from the computer shop said it was the motherboard.

Here are the options -

£169 + VAT for it to be fixed

£189 + VAT for it to be fixed and for the hard drive/saved files to kept

Now I really don't know what to do. For that kind of money I may as well buy a new PC - don't you think?

Forgot to mention - the PC is about 4 years old. Any point in paying that kind of cash to fix it?
__________________
oceanscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2006, 11:37 AM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Terrister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,132
OS: Windows 7 & 8, Mac OS-x


Not sure how much that is in US money, but sounds like a lot of money to put into a 4 yo pc. You can slave your old hard drive into the new machine to get yuou files back.
__________________
Terrister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2006, 01:30 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16
OS: Windows XP Home Edition


Something I don't understand.

The company say that the problem is the motherboard. Why can't they simply replace the motherboard? Why do they need to mess around with the hard drive?
__________________
oceanscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2006, 06:44 PM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Terrister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,132
OS: Windows 7 & 8, Mac OS-x


That sounded odd to me also. They may be talking about loading the new drivers into Windows for that motherboard. If they do not do this, Winddows may not boot.
__________________
Terrister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 05:15 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
OS: windows 7 basic


Grin

thank you so much this totally worked i didnt have to remove the video card n im glad cus i have no idea how to do that and i dont have time to get a pro so thank you so much

__________________
sam_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts