Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

Dvd Issues please help.

This is a discussion on Dvd Issues please help. within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello i recently hooked up tower to a HD Technika TV using a hdmi cable , and all seemed fine


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2012, 01:15 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7



Hello i recently hooked up tower to a HD Technika TV using a hdmi cable, and all seemed fine i could play video's on youtube and all my games, however when i play a DVD it does not like this at all the screens goes static and makes the static noise then goes black, i have tried using several media players but i have had no luck i dont understand why it wont play any idea's guys thanks ;)

__________________
sammunro100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 04:12 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7



Pc - Custom Built
Ram - 4gb DDR3
HD- 500g sata
disk drive - Optiarc DVD RW AD - 5260S ATA
Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Dual core i3 3.2ghz
Graphics - ATI Radeon HD 5670

__________________
sammunro100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 07:54 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7



BUmpbbbbb
__________________
sammunro100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 12:42 PM   #4
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,439
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Any other monitor attached to the PC? If so, do DVD's play back properly on that monitor?

Connection type should not matter. And if the desktop is displaying properly, DVD playback should be working as well.
__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 06:03 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogg View Post
Any other monitor attached to the PC? If so, do DVD's play back properly on that monitor?

Connection type should not matter. And if the desktop is displaying properly, DVD playback should be working as well.
No it is just the TV connected to the tower via a HDMI cable there are no other monitors connected to the tower, however i should mention while i was using my desktop monitor(vga) the dvd's played perfectly fine through windows media player.

I will try and make a recording of what is happening when i play the video.
__________________
sammunro100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 08:06 AM   #6
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,439
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


What resolution are you using? Have you tried using a different resolution? Try a lower res (640x480 ...that's DVD resolution anyway), and see what happens.
__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 08:55 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7



Ill give it a go know ;)
__________________
sammunro100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 08:59 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7



Ok that didnt work the lowest resolution my screen supports is 1152x648,
I also appear to receive this message rather than static know - Windows Media Player cannot play this DVD because there is a problem with digital copy protection between your DVD drive, decoder, and video card. Try installing an updated driver for your video card.
EDIT* Again its reverted back to static but ill leave that error message up if it's of any relevance.
__________________
sammunro100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 09:46 AM   #9
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,439
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


This sounds more like a disc/player issue, and makes more sense. Have you tried more than one movie?
__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 11:51 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7



Yes i have tried more than one movie same thing happens and i dont think it is the disc player as like i said it works on a vga monitor.
__________________
sammunro100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 06:59 PM   #11
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,439
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


I didn't say "disc player". I said disc/player.

disc meaning the DVD
player meaning the media player

As it sounds as if the TV is working fine for viewing the desktop, but only not working for DVD movie playback...that would indicate the computer/cable/TV are setup and working properly.

You seem to have ruled out the disc and the media player.

There isn't any protection used for DVD playback that I've even encountered. However, based on the error you posted above, have you tried updating the video drivers? It could be a HDCP glitch between the video card and TV, but it shouldn't even be an issue for DVD playback...it should only affect Blu-Ray.
__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 04:58 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
OS: windows 7



Once i got the error message although know it doesnt appear, i did at the time check all the relevant drivers for my video card and monitor and all appeared to up to date, and the DVD's all work on my brothers DVD player so i dont think it's them thats faulty.
__________________
sammunro100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 03:05 PM   #13
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,439
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Upgrade or downgrade the video drivers.

Test a different device on the same HDMI TV input.

__________________

Google is your Friend!
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Port Forwarding Issues
I'm trying to forward port 25565 for my Minecraft server, however, no matter what I do, I can't! I've tried disabling all of the firewalls (windows and my router/modem), made sure NAT was open, I have manually forwarded port 25565 (and have tried using programs to forward it), I have a static IP...
TaylorC Protocols and Routing 20 04-19-2012 10:10 AM
windows server2008 issues
Hello Friends In our office we are using windows server 2008 std sp1. In my server one group policy is not working in new domain user. The group policy target is domain user (software developer) can do change system date and time during the develop and also for checking purpose. Now new...
muthuraman Windows Servers 3 04-19-2012 04:24 AM
Wireless issues
as of 3 days ago I have been experiencing issues with my wireless, at first it recognised and connected with my router but I was not able to browse the internet except for the router page and my ISP webpage. Now my laptop will connect to the network with full bars but ipv4 and ipv6 do not have...
JohnSmith95 Networking Support 19 04-08-2012 06:27 AM
Dvd Troubles Please Read ;)
Hello i recently hooked up tower to a HD Technika TV using a hdmi cable, and all seemed fine i could play video's on youtube and all my games, however when i play a DVD it does not like this at all the screens goes static and makes the static noise then goes black, i have tried using several media...
sammunro100 Video Card Support 5 04-08-2012 06:02 AM
Asus Sticky Key issues - Help!
I am having some difficulty with the sticky keys on my Asus UL80 laptop. A couple of days ago, my two year-old daughter touched a bunch of buttons and now the laptop writes random characters or does some commands when pushing some buttons (i.e., cn for c, w opens a new window, etc.). I thought the...
trentsoren Laptop Support 1 04-04-2012 12:51 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts