Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

BlackMagic Intencity Shuttle USB 3.0 Problem

This is a discussion on BlackMagic Intencity Shuttle USB 3.0 Problem within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Im not 100% sure if this is the right section but ill try. I have a Dell XPSM2010, and have


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-21-2010, 12:05 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7



Im not 100% sure if this is the right section but ill try.

I have a Dell XPSM2010, and have bought an USB 3.0 express Card hearing they work with this product. Well after installing the Drivers for The intensity Shuttle, and updating the Firmware and Drivers to the newest ones.

So what happens when i plug the intensity shuttle into my usb 3 port i get an error says "Usb Controller bandwidth exceeded" And when i view the device under Device Manager it has an ! and says "This device cannot start. (Code 10)".

I will post some pictures in a min.

__________________
EmptyGamingHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 12:14 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7






__________________
EmptyGamingHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 12:28 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 7



I think i have fixed the bandwidth problem, it has a 5v power supply port so for i plugged it in so that fixed it. But still have code 10.
__________________
EmptyGamingHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 02:28 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
OS: win 7 32-bit



I have the exact same problem, got me a Expresscard USB 3.0 with 5.4V powersupply on to my laptop Samsung R522.

Cant get it to work, what to do?
__________________
ahlenblom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 08:58 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
OS: Win7 64



I'm having the same USB 3 Problem but with an Ultrastudio Pro and an HP Envy 17 with built in USB 3.0. It uses the same driver as the shuttle and I am having the same problem. I don't think they have their driver resources figured out yet. Still waiting for some kind of solution from tech support but I'm not expecting anything quickly. I'll let you know if I figure out something.
__________________
avitatoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 08:14 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 Prof 32 bit



I am having the same problem with a Dell Precision M6500 with built-in USB 3.0, but my colleague was successful in installing and using the BM Ultrastudio Pro on an HP Envy 15. Thus, I find it very interesting that someone is having this issue on an HP Envy 17.
__________________
TimBaldwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 07:21 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
OS: Win7 64



Hi Tim,
Yes I found it odd as well. When I read that the Envy 15 was approved (the 17 had just come out) I thought I would be safe buying something in that family with a larger screen. Unfortunately after being on the phone with tech support (3 days straight) and trying many other things myself they basically said that they don't know why it doesn't work with the 17 but they are aware of the problem and it is consistent with their findings. They are still working on it with several vendors including HP but they suggested I return the unit while I could still get my money back because they did not have a timeline for me on when they would be able to support the 17. Apparently there was enough difference between the hardware of the 15 and the 17 to cause issues. So I wound up returning the Ultrastudio pro. Not ready for prime time yet.
AV
__________________
avitatoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 01:37 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Win 7


Question

Hello!
I just got brand new shiny HP Envy 17 and Shuttle USB 30 card and have same Code and Bandswidth exceed message - did someone found solution for it at all?
__________________
Aktion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 04:17 PM   #9
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 15,907
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Aktion View Post
Hello!
I just got brand new shiny HP Envy 17 and Shuttle USB 30 card and have same Code and Bandswidth exceed message - did someone found solution for it at all?
For future reference, start a new topic, not post into an existing issue.

Code 10 are typically driver related. Missing, corrupt, or incorrect driver is installed.

Description of Code 10-related errors that Device Manager generates in Windows-based computers
__________________

Google is your Friend!
Dogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 08:29 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
OS: win7 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by TimBaldwin View Post
I am having the same problem with a Dell Precision M6500 with built-in USB 3.0, but my colleague was successful in installing and using the BM Ultrastudio Pro on an HP Envy 15. Thus, I find it very interesting that someone is having this issue on an HP Envy 17.
I have it wrking on an m6600 and a sager np-8130. Would love to find a way to add a second one on the Express card slot with a usb 3.0 adapter, but stuck at the code 10 error. Any suggestions or anyone seen that work?
__________________
asperi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 07:08 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 Prof 32 bit



Yes, the Dell M4600 and Dell E6420 (with USB 3 module) also work and I've tested them with the Intensity Shuttle, UltraStudio SDI, and UltraStudio Pro. I still have not been able to get the Precision M6500 working but I believe the problem was in the first generation of Renesas/NEC USB 3 chipsets. Laptops with the second generation seem to work fine.

I have also tried an ExpressCard (StarTech.com 2-Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter ECUSB3S254F) but it did not work. I chose this adapter because it didn't show up on Amazon until May 2011 so I was hoping it had the latest version of the chipset. This was ExpressCard was tested on the M6500.

__________________
TimBaldwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts