Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Other Hardware Support

Acer x223w lcd problem

This is a discussion on Acer x223w lcd problem within the Other Hardware Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I got the monitor for christmas, and I used an hdmi to dvi cable to play my ps3 on the


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-12-2010, 10:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
OS: xp


Question

I got the monitor for christmas, and I used an hdmi to dvi cable to play my ps3 on the screen. I had no problems for about 1 or 2 months, and then it started flickering static (like when you turn the tv to a channel that doesn't exist, except this static had red in it) for long periods of time. The ps3 works on other monitors using the same connection, and to normal tvs, and my computer works on the monitor using vga. Can anyone help?
jaredismelol is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-12-2010, 10:51 PM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,001
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



have you tried another hdmi cable
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 10:55 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
OS: xp



No but the same hdmi cable works with other monitors
jaredismelol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 11:16 PM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,001
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



sounds like something has happend to the hdmi slot on the monitor
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 11:23 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
OS: xp



Should I get another monitor, or do you think there's anything i can do to fix it?
jaredismelol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 11:32 PM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,001
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



connect via the vga
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 11:40 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
OS: xp



I don't have a vga to hdmi cable
jaredismelol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 11:49 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
magnethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 4,465
OS: Win7 x64, Server 2K3 Enterprise x86, Ubuntu, OSX Yosemite x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to magnethead

do you have a DVI to HDMI adapter on your gfx card to test the HDMI input of the display?
magnethead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 12:22 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
OS: xp



Nope only vga. my computer is too terrible to have anything good like hdmi/dvi
jaredismelol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 01:36 AM   #10
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,001
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



you can get an adapter but they cost virtual close on as much as a new monitor
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 06:18 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
OS: windows vista



Hey man i was just wondering somthing. I have 2 pc screens next to eachother. One has my pc connected to it and the other has my ps3 like yours. My friend is coming over with another ps3 and i want to put it in the other screen. My ps3 is connected to an acer x233h via a hdmi to dvi-d cable and i want to do the same with the other screen which is a x223w(same as yours) . The problem is when i plug the working ps3 into the x223w with the working hdmi why does "input not supported" come up? how did you get yours to work?
thanks
stevo
Stevo282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com