Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

Zero Display w/ new video card

This is a discussion on Zero Display w/ new video card within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a new ASUS HD6570: ASUS - Graphics Cards- ASUS EAH6570/DI/1GD3(LP) I get zero display from it. Not even


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2012, 03:23 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
OS: xp sp3



I have a new ASUS HD6570:

ASUS - Graphics Cards- ASUS EAH6570/DI/1GD3(LP)

I get zero display from it. Not even the loading screen. The monitor just remains on standby.

My System:

OS: WinXP SP3
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+
2.205 Ghz
Monitor: Hanns G HW191A

I've had this card replaced once already and still have the same problem, so it must be a hardware incompatibility. I would much appreciate some help with this before I defenestrate the card.

__________________
jonflutie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 06:18 PM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Post the make/model of the PC. If custom built post the specs.

Motherboard - Power Supply brand/wattage

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 12:09 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
OS: xp sp3



custom build

motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. GA-MA69VM-S2

power supply: Orion 585W
__________________
jonflutie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 02:27 PM   #4
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Do you have another PC you can test the card in?

Do you have another quality PSU you can test with?

The Orion PSU is low quality and could very well be the problem.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 03:25 PM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



First suspect would be the poor quality Orion PSU.
Try using the Onboard Graphics.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 04:23 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
OS: xp sp3



Do you mean try plugging the monitor into the motherboard with the card installed? I tried that and got the same problem. And no I don't have another available pc to test on at the moment.
__________________
jonflutie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 05:44 PM   #7
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


At this point the only way to tell is by swapping parts.

There shouldn't be any compatibility problems with the card and the motherboard

so I would suspect that the problem is power related.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 12:19 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
OS: xp sp3



Ok, I'll have to find a better power supply to swap out and see if that helps. Thanks for the advice.
__________________
jonflutie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 08:52 AM   #9
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by jonflutie View Post
Do you mean try plugging the monitor into the motherboard with the card installed? I tried that and got the same problem. .
The Mobo will default to the dedicated GPU as long as it is physically installed. Remove the GPU and then try the Onboard Graphics.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 01:47 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
OS: xp sp3



The motherboard graphics work without a problem.
__________________
jonflutie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 03:58 PM   #11
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by jonflutie View Post
The motherboard graphics work without a problem.
That brings us back to a power issue and/or a failed/damaged GPU.
You can try the GPU in another PC to insure it's good. If it's good, just replace the PSU with a good quality 550W minimum PSU.
Best bang for buck: Newegg.com - XFX Core Edition PRO550W (P1-550S-XXB9) 550W ATX12V 2.2 & ESP12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:05 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
OS: xp sp3



I took the pc to best buy and the geek squad guy there reset something in the BIOS, which apparently was the problem. I just powered up with the new card in now and it's working without issues using the Orion PSU. Thanks for your help though. It's much harder to diagnose when you don't have the hardware right there in front of you.
__________________
jonflutie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:48 PM   #13
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



I would still suggest you replace that low quality underpowered PSU to prevent damage to your new GPU and other components.

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The New New TSF Surgery - Home of Dr. Glas.
Continued from http://www.techsupportforum.com/f289/the-new-tsf-surgery-home-of-dr-glas-393888.html
Jason Forum Games and Jokes 4928 10-17-2014 05:25 AM
Transfer domain name to new host (and registrar)
I am buying a business with a domain name that fairs quite well with the search engines, given appropriate search criteria. I would like to build new pages and host them with a different hosting company than is used now. My question is - what would be the consequences of this move with regards...
beau_tibbs Web Serving and Management 1 03-21-2012 12:09 AM
Getting a second graphics card for SLI, need advice on Motherboard/Case
So I currently have GTX 560 graphics card and am buying a second for SLI. I've been looking around for a motherboard with SLI support and AMD Processor support in addition to the space to use the two (double wide) video cards and have come across this. I also want to replace the case with one with...
Malec Video Card Support 9 03-20-2012 04:34 AM
New iPad has already been jailbroken
Hackers claimed to have figured out a way to bypass Apple's technical restrictions and install unauthorized applications on the company's latest iPad upon its release last Friday. Apple forbids installing applications it has not approved, but hackers have found ways to "jailbreak" devices, or...
Glaswegian Computer Security News 0 03-19-2012 02:15 PM
Blue screen, slow response even after new Hard Drive
I have recently experienced two blue screen crashes and stalling when operating. I had a new hard drive installed but had the old material cloned as I could not get Microsoft and Dell to agree on how to put the Windows XP on the new hard drive, a long story! Anyway, I ran DSS, Deckard's Security...
j35jazz Inactive Malware Help Topics 0 03-19-2012 08:53 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts