Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Video Card Support

which gpu is better?

This is a discussion on which gpu is better? within the Video Card Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My new gpu has these specs as listed on newegg: Newegg.com - PowerColor Go! Green AX5450 1GBK3-SH Radeon HD 5450


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-04-2011, 06:04 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 171
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64 bit



My new gpu has these specs as listed on newegg:

Newegg.com - PowerColor Go! Green AX5450 1GBK3-SH Radeon HD 5450 (Cedar) 1GB 64-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Low Profile Ready Video Card

however upon inspection of gpu-z the specs are listed as this:




Can anyone please shed some light on this situation. Thank you greatly.

__________________
hickc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 03:36 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,525
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



I can't see any anomalies in your screenshot compared to the spec given on the website ?? It all seems okay to me.

Can you be more specific about what values appear to be different than those advertised?

__________________
pip22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 05:20 AM   #3
Senior Tech hardware team
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 2,451
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

My System


The abnormalities I can see are that you memory clock is lower than that listed on Newegg. Where they state 667mhz x 2 yours registers as only 600mhz so therefore your memory bandwidth is also lower. But I see that you're only using a PCI-E 1.0 bus which might not make the difference, nevertheless is a bit outdated. According to this website ATi Radeon HD 5450 Video Card - Reviews, Specifications, and Pictures - GPUReview.com the reference design 5450 has a memory clock of 800mhz whereas the Powercolor has only 667mhz, I'm presuming it's because it's passively cooled, ie no fan.
__________________
A+ Certified
Johnny1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 10:57 AM   #4
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,463
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


It'll only show as 600 rather then 667x2 because there are two gpu ports on the card. Few people realize that when you use a dual link videocard with one monitor you are using only half the ram power.
emosun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 01:46 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 171
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64 bit



thanks for the help. Is there any way to upgrade my bios so it will be updated to pci-e 2 or 2.1?
__________________
hickc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 08:45 PM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,463
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


No , pci-e 2.0 and 2.1 are hardware specifications not software.
emosun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:50 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 171
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64 bit



Hi, I am debating about whether to get one of these gpu's and can't make up my mind. Some feedback would be greatly appreciated. THank you. Here they are:

1. Newegg.com - EVGA 01G-P3-1380-KR GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) SSC+ 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

2. Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100315L Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity

I am leaning towards the geforce because I like their technology that comes with it, and it is more expensive, making me think it is of better quality, but the radeon has alot more stream processing units, so I cant make up my mind. I would really appreciate some input thank you.
__________________
hickc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 12:29 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 171
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64 bit



sorry to throw everybody off here, but I posted the wrong links. Here are the correct links:

1. Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100314-2SR Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity

2. Newegg.com - EVGA SuperClocked 01G-P3-1461-KR GeForce GTX 560 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

So once again, any opinions would be greatly appreciated thank you.
__________________
hickc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 11:41 AM   #9
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,463
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


It depends on what machine it's going in also what power supply you will be using. those factors help dictate what card you get.
emosun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 11:43 AM   #10
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,431
OS: Windows 7

My System


what he said ^
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 09:15 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 171
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64 bit



The system is a core i5 2400 with a corsair 600 watt psu. also 6gb corsair ddr3 1333 ram. So with that in mind, which gpu would be best fitted?
__________________
hickc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 09:31 PM   #12
Moderator Hardware Team
 
emosun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 12,463
OS: windows 7 /xp

My System


If it's specifically using a 600w corsair then it's using one of their cheaper series units. In which case I would recommend neither.
emosun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 09:45 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 171
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64 bit



just wondering, how would the corsair builder 600 watt psu be insufficient for these cards? Corsair is a reputable brand, and the power requirements are 450 and 500 watts respectively.
__________________
hickc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 10:43 PM   #14
Senior Tech hardware team
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 2,451
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

My System


The TX, HX and AX model line are recommended by TSF. The "builder series" and Gaming series ie GS models are not recommended. They use different internals.
__________________
A+ Certified
Johnny1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 11:04 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 171
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64 bit



I'm sorry i dont quite understand, are you saying that the gaming series of psu's are not recommended for high end gpu's?
__________________
hickc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 11:49 PM   #16
Senior Tech hardware team
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 2,451
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

My System


The "Gaming series" are not made by Seasonic as the other Corsair Models TX, HX, & AX. Therefore they are not the same quality. Don't get me wrong, it will work but the quality is not the same as the others and therefore not recommended.
__________________
A+ Certified
Johnny1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 12:26 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 171
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64 bit



ok thanks for that.
__________________
hickc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 02:47 AM   #18
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,431
OS: Windows 7

My System


your not just buying the psu to power those cards you need the psu to power the cards and the whole syste. You should never use a psu that is just enough wattage to run your system. I would recommend you use a corsair 750tx for your system if you use either of those cards.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 04:43 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 171
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64 bit



Ok, but what about the actual cards? Which one would be better?
__________________
hickc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 05:55 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 171
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64 bit



also, is the 750w only recommended for sli and multiple monitors, because I am only using a single monitor, if that is relevant.

__________________
hickc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] GPU or PSU Problem?
Hello all, My System Specs: Mobo: ASUS P7P55D-E Pro CPU: Intel Core i5-750 GPU: ATI Radeon HD 5870 RAM: G.Skill Ripjaw 2x2GB DDR3 1600 (7-8-7-24) 1.6V HDD: Samsung 500GB 7200 PSU: OCZ "Stealth Stream" 700W OS: Windows 7
emsquared Video Card Support 14 07-03-2011 12:46 PM
Overclocking your 6200 LE\6200 LE TURBOCACHE(tm) GPU. | Self Review.
What is overclocking? If you are new to overclocking, read this: http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f273/if-you-are-new-to-overclocking-read-here-for-starters-232382.html ----------------------------------------------------------------------- IMPORTANT: FOLLOW THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK!...
haZh Nimo Overclocking 0 03-21-2011 09:10 AM
GPU On-screen artifacts on Windows boot
Hi there, I apologise in advance for the lengthy post. I think it would be best to start by explaining what has happened before throwing my ideas in. PC Specs OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1 Mobo: Rampage II Gene CPU: Core i7 920 2.6Ghz Memory: Corsair Dominator XMP...
starlight54 Video Card Support 4 03-16-2011 01:47 PM
Issue with new GPU preventing post
Ok, so I recently upgraded my GPU from a 8800GTS to a HD 5850. When I try to boot it, 4/5 times it tries to boot (fans spinning, dvd drive/HD working, etc) but it doesn't post. Occasionally, I'll get past the post and the system will boot up and windows will load fine. Once it gets past the...
Kasai Video Card Support 8 03-11-2011 03:08 PM
[SOLVED] GPU Temp raised after installing a fan
Hey, I am using Gigabyte 8500GT 512MB GPU. Until today, I was running my system without a case fan and GPU fan, while the GPU load temps were ~85c. When I installed a 7x7cm case fan (pushing the air out of the case) and 9x9cm GPU fan (blowing air on the GPU heatsink), the IDLE temps are...
Imperator Video Card Support 12 01-12-2011 09:31 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts